Search 73,785 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Kim F.

Miss Kim loves kids!

State College, PA (16801)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Kim F.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Kim F.

Kim F. passed a background check on 4/9/13. The check was ordered by Kim through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Kim, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I worked one on one with special need students as a TSS (Therapeutic Staff Support) with three different agencies for 10 years. I am now a PCA (Personal Care Aide) with the Centre County Intermediate Unit working one on one with a special needs preschooler. I especially enjoy working with preschool and elementary school age children. I love working with kids on language related subjects - reading, writing, etc. - but would be willing to teach any area for which I prove qualified.

I love horses, and have taught beginner level horseback riding in camp settings. I also know some French and some sign language.

I seek to be patient, gentle and understanding of the student's individual needs and feelings. My first lesson is always free for us to meet, get to know each other and see if your needs and my skills are a match!

Email Kim

Kim’s subjects

Math:
SAT Math
English:
Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Psychology
Language:
History:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Autism, Special Needs
Business:
Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Math, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Math, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Public Speaking, Sign Language

Bible Studies

I attended the Lutheran Bible Institute of Seattle for 2 years from 1985 to 1987. It is now known as Trinity Bible College. I have a B.A. from them in Biblical Studies. I regularly attend church at the State College Assembly of God, and am always doing my own private Bible studies. Currently, I am studying the book of Daniel with the help of a study book from an organization known as Back to the Bible.

I have a strong Christian faith, and I eagerly await the second coming of our Lord Jesus Christ! He is risen!

Elementary (K-6th)

I graduated from The Pennsylvania State University in 1980 with a degree in Individual and Family Studies. My area of emphasis was Early Childhood. I have worked in more day cares than I can count. In these, I primarily worked with 3 to 5 yr. olds. I have also worked in four camp settings with elementary aged children. All of these were Horsemanship Camps run by a Christian organization. I am now currently working as a wrap-around support person with children with special needs aged 4 to 10. I work in the child's school or home, and sometimes do special events with them in the community. I have had experience with children affected by autism, ADHD and Down's Syndrome. I have experience handling various behavior disorders.

ESL/ESOL

I love working with people from different cultures, and love learning from them! In the late 80s I taught English as a Second Language as my ministry project while I was in Bible School for two years. Upon returning home to Pennsylvania - I volunteered with a local Literacy Council for a couple years teaching ESL. The students I had happened to be oriental both times.

Religion

I graduated with a B.A. degree in Biblical Studies from The Lutheran Bible Institute of Seattle in 1987. I am a very committed Christian who would be glad to teach anyone interested in more information about Jesus and the Christian Religion. I have resources with info about many other religions, but my knowledge primarily is about Christianity.

Sign Language

My proficiency in Sign Language is at an Intermediate level. I know many signs and use them often in my work with special needs children. However, when in a conversation with a profoundly deaf person, I have to ask them to slow down in order to carry on the conversation. I would feel adequate in teaching beginners some basics about sign.

Special Needs

I have over 9 years experience working with special needs children. I have worked a lot in preschool and Elementary schools with children with autism, Down's syndrome and Attention Deficit & Hyperactivity Disorder. (ADHD) I also have experienced working with adults who are physically or mentally challenged. I have some knowledge of other mental health problems including addictions. I would be happy to consider working with children or adults with special needs. Contact me and we can see if your needs and my skills are a match!

Study Skills

I think that I could help you or your child learn better skills for studying. My knowledge here comes from my own experience primarily. As long as the subject matter being studied is something I know about, I think I could be of assistance. Contact me for a trial session. Once signed up with WyzAnt, I'll give you the first hour free to see if your needs and my knowledge are a match.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Kim

back to top

Education

Pennsylvania State University, University Park (Early Childhood)

Great tutoring service I highly recommend Kim. She had tutored my two kids in ESL lessons. She is very patient and kind with kids. Her lessons are fun and practical. Once she taught my kids English while playing basket ball, in other time she taught them English through horse riding and a visit to the farm. Really it was wonderful experience. I am lucky that I found Kim. She is kind and reliable and well prepared. Sure ...

— Munirah from State College, PA on 9/16/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

If I don't teach, you don't pay. But kindly let me know at least a few hours ahead of time. Thanks!

Travel policy

Kim will travel within 30 miles of State College, PA 16801.

Email Kim

Usually responds in about 12 hours

Send Kim a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Kim or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.