Search 73,927 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Brian S.

Empowering the Next Generation

Shippensburg, PA (17257)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Brian S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Brian S.

Brian S. passed a background check on 3/23/14. The check was ordered by Brian through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Brian, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Dear Potential Student,

I am super-excited about the opportunity to tutor and enable a generation of young people to succeed. I am someone who likes to laugh and have fun, but I am also driven by success. I promise I will bring that same determination and hard work ethic each time we sit down for a tutoring session. My skills are very high in English, writing, history, social studies, geography, sports training, and certain areas of math and science. Two of the many things I love in life are sports and food. I particularly enjoy eating food while watching sports; what a treat that is! My heart is for this generation of young people, and together I believe we will succeed and work our way to a brighter tomorrow.

I have been working with young people in a variety of areas since 2005. I have experience in youth ministry, as a camp counselor, and I do have experience tutoring students on a part time basis. My tutoring method is to be intentional about success and results. I will be flexible in how I present subjects, and I present them in such a way that allows the student to learn the material in the most effective ways. I am very big about using object lessons and methods that allow for easy, effective memorization. Personally, I wouldn't consider myself brilliant in any area, but that allows me to see and teach subjects like a normal person. I won't skip over steps, and I will give 100 percent each time I tutor your young person.

I have both a Bachelor's and Master's degree. My tutoring approach is a very hands-on approach. I believe students learn best when they learn and receive information through a variety of senses, and not just hearing. Currently, I tutor students one day a week at the Boys and Girls Club. This experience has allowed me to work with students who are at a variety of different learning levels. I would characterize myself as being very patient, and I am someone who doesn't get frustrated easily. I am excited and passionate about learning, flexible in my approach, will be prompt and focused during our lesson, and will give everything so your young person can succeed. I look forward to hearing from you.

Blessings,
Brian S.

Email Brian

Brian’s subjects

Math:
English:
ACT English, Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology
Computer:
Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
History:
American History, European History, Geography, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Art:
Drawing, Film
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, GED, GRE, SAT Reading
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball, Basketball, Cooking, Golf, Poker, Soccer
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Prealgebra

Pre-Algebra is the foundation of most all of math. These are skills that a young person needs in many areas of life. My goal is to take time in teaching these skills, so the skills are perfected and they will transfer into other areas of math.
I do find the best way to communicate and teach possible. My experience with young people has taught me that all children and teenagers are different. It is my goal to find out how your son or daughter learns the skills of pre-algebra most effectively. I then seek to use that context to maximize our time together. My heart and passion are for the success of this generation.

Reading

As a reading tutor my focus is both on comprehension and pronunciation. I will strive to meet your child needs, as we read a variety of material: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, magazine articles, and a variety of other materials. We will learn through patience and repetition.
I will use my patience and experience to bring about success reading both in and out of the classroom. I see reading as foundational to all areas of life, and I will make sure that your child succeeds in reading.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Brian

back to top

Education

Grove City College, PA

Pittsburgh Theological Seminary (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Brian will travel within 30 miles of Shippensburg, PA 17257.

Email Brian

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Brian a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Brian or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.