Search 72,265 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 200 tutoring hours

Michelle M.

Elementary Education Tutor

Quakertown, PA (18951)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Michelle M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Michelle M.

Michelle M. passed a background check on 6/20/12. The check was ordered by Michelle through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Michelle, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

A tutor in any and all elementary education subjects. I attended Lycoming College and have an elementary education certification and a B.A. in Liberal Arts majoring in History. I currently work at the Merck West Point Child Learning Center as an Infant teacher and have worked in the young toddler room as well. I have experience working with and tutoring/teaching all age groups from infants up to college students.

I believe in using a variety of approaches and methods of teaching in order to help the child learn. We will use the child's strengths and style of learning to come up with an approach that will help the child absorb the material and later help them take out important information and to study this information on their own. Children will be encouraged to use flashcards and thinking out problems aloud.

Email Michelle

Michelle’s subjects

English:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Language:
Elementary Education:
Special Needs:
Homeschool:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar

Elementary (K-6th)

I have my elementary education certification from Lycoming College. I took classes at college which taught me the best practices for each elementary subject as well as creative activities to get all students involved in learning. I have worked with all ages of elementary students from kindergarten to sixth grade. I have been involved in Big Brothers Big Sisters, Study Buddies, Tutoring programs at schools and summer day camps through out the last couple years.

Elementary Math

I will help students learn the basics that will help them solve mathematical problems. Students will work step-by-step with me to solve the problems and then demonstrate comprehension with practice problems. I want them to not just finish their homework, but have the skill set to solve any problem.

Elementary Science

Science develops curiosity and helps students explore the world around them. Hands-on-activities help involve students in the lessons and become interested in the topics at hand.

ESL/ESOL

I have worked with several students in the past couple years teaching English as a second language from toddlers to elementary students to adults. We will focus on learning sight words and common words first as well as understanding what the words mean. It is important for the student to understand the language they are learning instead of just memorizing the words. We will focus on speaking the language before reading and writing.

Phonics

We will focus on learning how to decode words by focusing on sounding out phonemes and learning how to break down each word into its core phonemes. Each child will work on being able to recognize the phoneme sound and its spelling pattern. We will use flashcards, visual games as well as decoding phonemes while reading a text. I believe it is important for the child to have fun and be able to relate to the material. I attended Lycoming College and have an elementary education certification and a B.A. in Liberal Arts majoring in History.

Study Skills

I have worked with children in study buddy programs and tutoring programs the last couple years. I will work with your child to develop good study habitats and study skills that will help them in their classes. We will use your child's learning style to develop study habits that best suit your child.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Michelle

back to top

Education

Lycoming College

Best Tutor — My son needed help. We tried other tutors but they didn't seem to reach him. The tutor we found on WyzAnt really connects with him. She has a way of teaching that he really responds to. When he is having trouble understanding something, she thinks of different teaching techniques that make it easy for him to learn. She's calm, kind and patient. She has helped him so much. We can see it in his grad ...

— Sandra from Lansdale, PA on 6/26/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Michelle will travel within 20 miles of Quakertown, PA 18951.

Email Michelle

Usually responds in about 11 hours

Send Michelle a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Michelle or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.