Search 72,668 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Christina M.

Philadelphia, PA

$30/hr

Patient ESL/ESOL Tutor Specializing in ABE and GED Test Prep

Background check passed as of 12/14/13
Usually responds in about 8 hours

Patient ESL/ESOL Tutor Specializing in ABE and GED Test Prep

Message Christina

Send Christina a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Christina or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I am a certified Adult Basic Education, ESL/ESOL, and GED tutor. I am currently an online student at Colorado Technical University, working toward my BS in Criminal Justice with a concentration in Emergency Management and Homeland Security. I have previously studied International Business and Computer Programming. At this time, I volunteer with the American Red Cross carrying out several different job duties to help with disaster relief efforts; including Government Liaison, Public Relations/Communications, Client Caseworker, Computer Operations, and Dispatcher for the Regional Disaster Coordination Center

As a native English speaker, I demonstrate a strong command of the English language; possessing strong written, verbal, and electronic communication skills; and have a great deal of experience working with ESL/ESOL students, predominantly from Arab backgrounds.

I am well-organized and pay attention to detail, utilize both formal and informal assessments as a way to determine skill level and track progress, and prefer to keep the learning material relevant to real-life experience. I enjoy engaging my students and encouraging them to set goals and take a proactive role in their learning experience in order to achieve optimal results.

I am willing to offer tutoring sessions at a public location, such as the library or a quiet coffee shop.

English:
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Reading,
TOEFL,
Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
General Computer
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Grammar, Reading,
Spelling, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Reading,
Writing
Test Preparation:
GED, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
General Computer,
Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Cooking

I have been cooking and baking since I was nine years old, and it is a passion for me. I have prepared many different kinds of food from many different cultures. Some of the cultures include American, Thai, Italian, German, Cajun, Soul Food, Middle Eastern/Mediterranean, Indian, Chinese, and French. I understand the different methods of cooking, food preparation, and measurements. I am able to follow recipes as well as create my own, which I share publicly on various websites. I am also able to make appropriate substitutions to compensate for dietary needs and healthy alternatives. Additionally, I have previously worked as a cook at Applebees Restaurant.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am very patient and enjoy working with children. I have worked one-on-one with two different elementary school children that exhibited behavioral issues. The first child that I worked with was a 5 year old girl in Kindergarten that was attributed with Reactive Attachment Disorder. While working with me, she exhibited tremendous improvement in her command of the alphabet and phonemic awareness. The second child that I worked with was exhibiting behavior issues that resulted from displacement in his family structure. This child was 9 years old, in 3rd grade. He demonstrated great improvement in reading, math, and social skills while in my care.

Elementary Math

I previously worked one-on-one with a 9 year old boy in 3rd grade. He struggled to add, subtract, multiply, and divide three and four digits when we began working together. Fractions, decimals, and word problems caused him distress; however, he demonstrated great improvement and a strong grasp of the material as we progressed in our lessons. This success has motivated me to want to help more children better understand the concepts of Elementary Mathematics.

English

I am a native English speaker and ESL/ESOL/TOEFL tutor. I have worked with students from Spain, El Salvador, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Egypt, Yemen, Africa, Saudi Arabia, France, and Morocco. I use formal and informal assessments to gauge my student's level. I work on goal setting, Reading, Writing, and Speech skills, including phonics, pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary, comprehension, and communication with my learners. I try to utilize materials that are relevant and applicable to everyday life, contributing to success.

ESL/ESOL

I currently tutor ESL and digital literacy skills to English Language learners. I have learners from many different countries; including Italy, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, Egypt, Mexico, Spain, Korea, Liberia, Sierra Leone, and more. I work with learners of all levels, from basic to advanced. Some of my learners have never even been to schools in their own countries, while some of my other students are attending major universities in pursuit of graduate degrees.

General Computer

I previously studied Computer Programming for two years at Colorado Technical University before changing my major to Emergency Management. I have an excellent command of basic computer operations and have previously helped other adult learners without technological knowledge to develop basic computer skills. I am even able to fix many hardware and software problems. Furthermore, I volunteer at the American Red Cross in the Disaster Service Technology department as a Computer Operations Technician.

Reading

I have worked with low-level adult readers, ESL/ESOL students, and elementary school children. My primary goal when teaching Reading is to motivate my students to want to read. I believe it is important to ensure my students have a strong knowledge and manipulation of sounds in spoken words, understand the relationship between written and spoken letters and sounds, demonstrate the ability to read with accuracy, appropriate rate of speed, expression, and phrasing. Additionally, it is important for me to build my student's knowledge of words, their definitions, and context.

TOEFL

When helping learners to prepare for the TOEFL exam, I focus on material that will be covered on all four sections of the test: reading, writing, listening, and speaking. I help my learners to be familiar with the types of questions that will be asked on the exam, improve their grammar, make sure they recognize the parts of speech, teach idioms, give writing assignments based on reading comprehension, complete listening and conversation activities, and administer practice tests.

Colorado Technical University (Online)
Emergency Management

Education

Colorado Technical University (Online) (Emergency Management)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Christina will travel within 13 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19139.


About Christina

I am a certified Adult Basic Education, ESL/ESOL, and GED tutor. I am currently an online student at Colorado Technical University, working toward my BS in Criminal Justice with a concentration in Emergency Management and Homeland Security. I have previously studied International Business and Computer Programming. At this time, I volunteer with the American Red Cross carrying out several different job duties to help with disaster relief efforts; including Government Liaison, Public Relations/Communications, Client Caseworker, Computer Operations, and Dispatcher for the Regional Disaster Coordination Center

As a native English speaker, I demonstrate a strong command of the English language; possessing strong written, verbal, and electronic communication skills; and have a great deal of experience working with ESL/ESOL students, predominantly from Arab backgrounds.

I am well-organized and pay attention to detail, utilize both formal and informal assessments as a way to determine skill level and track progress, and prefer to keep the learning material relevant to real-life experience. I enjoy engaging my students and encouraging them to set goals and take a proactive role in their learning experience in order to achieve optimal results.

I am willing to offer tutoring sessions at a public location, such as the library or a quiet coffee shop.

Education

Colorado Technical University (Online)
Emergency Management

Education

Colorado Technical University (Online) (Emergency Management)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 13 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19139

Christina’s Subjects

English:
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Reading,
TOEFL,
Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
General Computer
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Grammar, Reading,
Spelling, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Reading,
Writing
Test Preparation:
GED, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
General Computer,
Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Christina M.

Christina M. passed a background check on 12/14/13. The check was ordered by Christina through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Christina, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.