Search 75,918 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Casey B.

English, Writing, Public Speaking, Art, Photography, Painting

Philadelphia, PA (19102)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Casey B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Casey B.

Casey B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Casey, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi-
My name is Casey and I am a tutor in Writing, English, Public Speaking, Art, Photography, Painting and Literature. I work a lot with individuals with varying disabilities including ADHD, Autism, Asbergers, Dyslexia, and Dyscalculia. I am an out of the box thinker, feel that each tutoring session should be tailored to that particular individual, I work with an individual's strengths and focus mostly on that and not on weaknesses. My BA is in Psychology and Sociology with a minor in Photography. My MSW is in Social Work and I am currently a trauma therapist. My PhD that I am pursuing is in Human Resources and Clinical Social Work. I have worked with children ages 2-18 for over 9 years now with mental health issues, educational issues, learning problems and those needing extra support. I have flexible hours, very tech savy, do online tutoring, email, internet, etc. and will do what is best to meet the needs of each client.

Email Casey

Casey’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
Homeschool:
Special Needs:
Business:
Career Development, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Elementary Education:
Science:
Philosophy, Psychology
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Photography

ADD/ADHD

I am a therapist who deals with ADHD/ADD every day. It can be a daunting task for parents especially those trying to get through homework, clean a room, remember more than two things at a time. I as a therapist have the skill set to not only help the parent be successful, but also very importantly work with students who have ADHD to learn about their strengths and focus on those and work to create a great finished product.

Aspergers

I am a mental health therapist that works with multiple individuals on the Autism spectrum. Aspergers in both adults and children are individuals that I have treated. We work on basic social skills, communication, using words instead of having a tantrum, learning how to code emotional feelings, and work to integrating all the sensory input they have and learn how to manage it better. I have been doing this for 9 years.

Autism

I have played soccer for over 13 years before a career ending injury. I now coach soccer at a local league, a travel team and enjoy playing soccer with my dog to be honest because he is pretty good. I teach all the basic skills like ball control, dribbling, using both fee, what part of the foot to use for what purpose, how to shoot on goal, how to fake out a goalie, how to work as a team and how to communicate to your team members.

Career Development

I have experience being a career coach and helping individuals just coming out of school, those re-entering the work field, those were incarcerated who need to find work and it is hard because of a record. I am excellent at helping people draft resumes, learn motivational interviewing, practice interviewing. I even have contact of place where individuals can get clothes or an interview for free. I am great at networking and teach them how to do do it. This is a job I am passionate about.

Chess

Chess is a great passion of mine. I not only play chess since I was about 13, I also create my own chess sets. I design and sell chess sets to people that are custom made. I have played chess for years. I am always learning more strategy, not to give up my queen in an ill-calculated move and how to have fun playing the game too that is what it is most about.

College Counseling

I currently counsel individuals who are applying for college through the agency that I work at. I review applications, review college essays, do motivational interviewing, assist with scholarships, grants, and financial aid.

Cooking

I feel my qualifications in cooking are diverse. I was a vegetarian for over 14 years and have extensive experience working with individuals interested in vegetarian cooking. After that stint I became a more balanced eater and began cooking a variety of foods that were healthy, easy to cook, and nutritious. I am well versed in juicing and have a basic understanding of nutritional needs of individuals with diabetes, heart disease, and those who need to loose weight healthily. I also cook a lot of vegan foods and dispel the myth that vegetarians and vegans only eat vegetables. I work with children, adolescents, and adults all eager to experience something new.

Dyslexia

I am currently a therapist who works with individuals with disabilities especially dyslexia. My brother also has one of the three types of dyslexia. I have worked extensively on simple things like getting through school work, homework to more complex tasks like college essays, letters of recommendations and job applications.

I would be happy to help you with working on these types of things or any other things that are barriers for your right now.

English

I have written two books and gotten them published, and I am in a writing intensive PhD program. I spend most of my day writing notes for work. I have a lot of experience in the writing world.

Film

I studied film in undergrad for three years and ended up with a minor in Film. I am very creative, see things from a different perspective. I chose the photography route, but I am good at developing ideas, theories, metaphors, themes, motifs, etc... I love working with others who are trying to make a name for themselves and to really get them out there. Please contact me if you are interested.

Martial Arts

I have taught kickboxing aerobics and kickboxing for over 10 years to both adolescents and adults. I have also taught self-defense. I have my own set of gloves and pad to practice with for those that are interested in it.

Painting

I am a certified art therapist and creative art therapist. I am a photographer with my own dark room and I do a variety of abstract painting. I have been an art instructor at various summer camps for children ages 5-14 and I sell my art online at Etsy.com

Photography

I have been doing photography (color, black and white, and sepia tone) for over 20 years.I have my own dark room, publish my art online and belong to three photography clubs in Philadelphia. In addition I also have a minor in Photography in my undergraduate at Susquehanna University

Proofreading

My current qualifications for this position are that I have written and published two books of my own, edited one of my friends books for publication, and I am in an intensive writing program at the PhD level getting my doctorate where writing is everything. I have proof read I don't know how many papers for college essays, letters of recommendation and worked on other writers poetry, prose, and fictional writing. I am also part of a group called NaNo Writers, which is a writing club that hosts events throughout the year and has writing assignments, critiques, suggestions, etc.

Psychology

I am currently a trauma therapist and have been for 8 years. I went to school for psychology and sociology and a minor in philosophy. I then went to graduate school and got a MSW in Social Work with a Micro practice emphasis that would allow me to do both policy and therapy work. I am currently pursuing my PhD to get a doctorate in Human Services and Clinical Social Work. I hope to get into teaching and also to open my own practice. I've had over 10 years experience working with youth on study skills, essay writing, composition, college essays, personal statements, preparing for tests and working to get them to have the best potential.

Public Speaking

I am currently a volunteer for NAMI and the Mental Health Association and do public speaking for them on various mental health issues. I am a member of the Toastmasters Club, a public speaking organization, and I competed in Forensics in college.

Reading

My reading qualifications are that I have tutored before in reading and writing. I was a philosophy major which requires a lot of reading and understanding and analysis. I am currently in a reading/writing intensive class. I have a brother who has a reading disorder so I grew up learning how to reach out to people with reading difficulties and help them succeed.

Soccer

I played soccer for 13 years before a career ending injury. I now coach soccer at a local league and a tournament team. I teach basic skills such as ball control, what foot to use, how to use all parts of your foot, how to shoot on goal, how to fake out a goalie, defense techniques, offensive techniques, and much more.

Study Skills

I have been a tutor for over 12 years. In that time I have worked with a variety of students who have had multiple issues such as getting organized, planning out a project, writing essays, creating personal statements, and a variety of others. My background is in Psychology and Philosophy with a Minor in Philosophy. My graduate work is in Social Work with MSW and a license. In addition I am pursuing my PhD in Human Services and Clinical social work. All these elements combined allow me to create a curriculum that is custom tailored to the individual and work on their strengths as much as possible.

Vocabulary

I do a lot of work with kids with homework in after school programs, and in my therapy practice. I work extensively on cite words, rhyming words, and vocabulary. I teach different tricks to learning vocabulary, memorizing skills, test taking skills etc..

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Casey

back to top

Education

Susquehanna University (Psychology)

University of Pennsylvania (Master's)

Walden University (PhD)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

I do offer sliding scales to families. Those whose travel distance is significant for me would have an increase to 60.00 to cover cost of gas. For Multiple hour lessons it is time and half per lesson

Travel policy

Casey will travel within 15 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19104.

Email Casey

Send Casey a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Casey or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.