Search 73,924 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Dianna K.

American Sign Language Tutor for most basic subjects

Philadelphia, PA (19114)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Dianna K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Dianna K.

Dianna K. passed a background check on 3/18/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Dianna, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi! I am a wife and mother of 2, currently working from home. I have 16 years experience in Executive Management and 3 degrees: an Associate's in Psychology and American Sign Language Interpreting, as well as a BSW from Temple University with honors.

I am looking to tutor students either in ASL, or in all basic subjects through ASL. I can work with Deaf/Blind as well through tactile sign.

Perhaps your D/deaf and or Hard of Hearing child needs a little one on one in their own language! I worked with Pennsylvania School for the Deaf, Milestones, Inc., Bethany Christian Services, and did an extensive study in Deaf Culture at Temple University.

Please feel free to ask for references!!

Email Dianna

Dianna’s subjects

English:
Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Language:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Business, Career Development, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
Business, Career Development, General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Sign Language

ADD/ADHD

I am a Psychology major from BCCC. I have had some teaching experience with ADD/ADHD/ODD at Pennsylvania School for the Deaf. I have also had personal experience with homeschooling my little brother with ADHD diagnosed in 1985. I'd like the opportunity to apply all of my other areas of expertise to these types of situations so that we both can improve our abilities working together.

Business

I have been working in business for nearly 20 years, the last five of those being in Executive Management. I have trained many employees in those years, bringing several from file clerks to Regional Managers. I have three college degrees and excel at writing resumes.

Career Development

I am able to help any applicant turn their outdated resumes that are not getting any attention, into resumes that impress hiring personnel. I have been doing this kind of work freelance recently for about 20 people who have at some point thereafter been offered jobs in the careers of their choice. I was volunteering at the PA Career Link Office since most of the staff was unable to offer this kind of in depth help.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a very broad base knowledge of the fundamentals for Elementary level subjects, including English, Reading, Writing, Basic Math,and Science. I remain fairly fresh in these topics while teaching D/deaf adults in a night class. Aside from helping my own children, neices and nephews, through K-6th, I've tutored 2 of their friends in Kindergarten.

Hard Of Hearing

I am an American Sign Language Interpreter with a vast amount of knowledge of the deaf community and deaf culture. I have a one-year-old with hearing loss bilaterally. I have been involved with ASL/D/deaf community for 12 years.

Microsoft Access

I began using MS Access in the mid-nineties. Using a relational database framework enabled myself and a team of designers to build software packages for the complex needs of the IOM industry.

Microsoft Windows

I have been MS Windows user since its very beginning through Vista XP & HP. I've used it at home and in business for over 16 years. I can help construct an entire computerized system for someone new to Windows, based on their current and future needs. Through discussion and anticipation, I can develop a Windows profile that will suit their needs to enter the digital world. Knowing directories and pathways are essential to this configuration and that often the piece most misunderstood by those learning MS Windows for the first time.

Sign Language

I am an American Sign Language Interpreter. I graduated CCP in 2003. I have been involved with the D/deaf community ever since, and have tutored adults in English as a second language. I also have published a D/deaf culture study with Dr Coln at Temple U. I have an extensive background in ASL and deaf culture.

Special Needs

I have an Associates degree from BCCC in Psychology and a BSW from Temple University. I've worked at Milestones, Inc., a behavioral health facility for deaf and hard-of-hearing adults. I also have worked with families in the adoption/foster care system. I worked at PSD for years, and we had many special needs children. Also, my son has special needs.

Study Skills

While working on my BSW, I tutored many fellow classmates. I volunteered where "available tutors" were apt to be found doing their own homework. We would write our name and specialty on a paper next to us and students would pull up a chair to get a little extra help. It was a huge burden off the teachers and the students loved it; being how difficult scheduling tutor time could be. With 3 college degrees, 3.8, 3.9, 4.0 with honors - I KNOW how to study. The trick is finding what works for each student. All of my life experience in business, psychology and working with special needs assures I'll find what works!

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Dianna

back to top

Education

Temple University, Philadelphia (BSW)

Wonderful and Creative Dianna K. is a wonderful tutor. She helped me improve so much in ASL. I have been interested in ASL for a while now and with Dianna's help, I have fallen in love with the language even more. I love the creative ways that she has taught me, such as packing for a trip to the park or making jello. I loved having her as my first ASL tutor/teacher. Thank you so much for the help and I really hope to st ...

— Bella from King Of Prussia, PA on 7/28/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Please request block time rates

Travel policy

Dianna will travel within 15 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19114.

Email Dianna

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Dianna a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Dianna or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.