Search 72,564 tutors
FIND TUTORS

IAN M.

Philadelphia, PA

$40/hr

Doctoral Student Tutoring English, ESL, Reading, Writing, Test Prep

Usually responds in about 20 hours

Doctoral Student Tutoring English, ESL, Reading, Writing, Test Prep

Message IAN

Send IAN a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed IAN or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I am a graduate student at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and I'm living in Philadelphia while I work on my dissertation. I have three years of tutoring experience at the college level, having worked with student-athletes at UNC. As a graduate student, I have also independently taught college level courses in the Department of Communication Studies. In addition, I spent two years as a coach and as a referee for youth basketball leagues in Raleigh, NC. In the summer of 2009, I worked as a counselor at Camp Laurel in Maine, teaching kids and teenagers how to build model rockets.

None of the above attests to my expertise in a particular content area; however, I enjoy working with people in all kinds of "tutorial settings," as it were. I love working with people in general. I love hearing their stories, and trading some stories of my own. A big reason I became an English major as an undergraduate--and why I continue to study communication as a graduate student--is that I am curious about the kinds of stories we tell ourselves and each other, how we tell these stories, and why we tell them. These stories shape who we are and the world in which we live. This is why I really enjoy tutoring in subject areas deemed the "liberal arts" (and the "humanities"): literature and language arts, history, and even math.

I don't know that I have a particular tutoring "style," but I tend to want to create an informal and relaxed--but always professional--atmosphere. I do not transmit information to people I work with; instead, I like to get a sense of who you are, what you like, what you relate to, what moves you, and I like to open up a bit about myself, so you have a sense of who I am. Based on this dialogical relationship, I try to mold how we talk about the subject matter and the content at hand so that it applies to you, and so that it makes sense to you. For me, learning is not simply about memorization and repetition (although this is sometimes necessary), it is about making connections that matter.

Please feel free to contact me about any of the following subjects. This list is not exhaustive, in part because the lines that divide these subjects are fluid, and changing, and bleed together. Sometimes, when discussing the mechanics of grammar, we might need to talk about history. Sometimes, when discussing history, we might need to talk about semantics and syntax.

-English literature and language arts
-English as a Second Language (ESL)
-Reading
-Writing
-Test Prep
-College Prep
-Basic math
-History, specifically American
-Rhetoric

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL,
Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Video Production
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Art:
Art Theory , Film, Video Production
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar,
Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
GRE, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, College Counseling, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball
Corporate Training:
College Counseling, ESL/ESOL, Grammar,
Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Grammar

I majored in English as an undergraduate student, and I continue to study the use of language in many forms as a graduate student in the Department of Communication Studies at UNC Chapel Hill (a college that is out of town, but I am living permanently in Philadelphia while I work on my dissertation).

TOEFL

I have extensive experience tutoring and teaching the English language to people with all different levels of expertise. I majored in English as an undergraduate, and as a graduate student I continue to study the use of language in a number of different forms.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Master's
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
PhD

Education

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Master's)

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (PhD)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

IAN will travel within 5 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19130.


About IAN

I am a graduate student at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and I'm living in Philadelphia while I work on my dissertation. I have three years of tutoring experience at the college level, having worked with student-athletes at UNC. As a graduate student, I have also independently taught college level courses in the Department of Communication Studies. In addition, I spent two years as a coach and as a referee for youth basketball leagues in Raleigh, NC. In the summer of 2009, I worked as a counselor at Camp Laurel in Maine, teaching kids and teenagers how to build model rockets.

None of the above attests to my expertise in a particular content area; however, I enjoy working with people in all kinds of "tutorial settings," as it were. I love working with people in general. I love hearing their stories, and trading some stories of my own. A big reason I became an English major as an undergraduate--and why I continue to study communication as a graduate student--is that I am curious about the kinds of stories we tell ourselves and each other, how we tell these stories, and why we tell them. These stories shape who we are and the world in which we live. This is why I really enjoy tutoring in subject areas deemed the "liberal arts" (and the "humanities"): literature and language arts, history, and even math.

I don't know that I have a particular tutoring "style," but I tend to want to create an informal and relaxed--but always professional--atmosphere. I do not transmit information to people I work with; instead, I like to get a sense of who you are, what you like, what you relate to, what moves you, and I like to open up a bit about myself, so you have a sense of who I am. Based on this dialogical relationship, I try to mold how we talk about the subject matter and the content at hand so that it applies to you, and so that it makes sense to you. For me, learning is not simply about memorization and repetition (although this is sometimes necessary), it is about making connections that matter.

Please feel free to contact me about any of the following subjects. This list is not exhaustive, in part because the lines that divide these subjects are fluid, and changing, and bleed together. Sometimes, when discussing the mechanics of grammar, we might need to talk about history. Sometimes, when discussing history, we might need to talk about semantics and syntax.

-English literature and language arts
-English as a Second Language (ESL)
-Reading
-Writing
-Test Prep
-College Prep
-Basic math
-History, specifically American
-Rhetoric

Education

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Master's
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
PhD

Education

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Master's)

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (PhD)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19130

IAN’s Subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL,
Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Video Production
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Art:
Art Theory , Film, Video Production
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar,
Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
GRE, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, College Counseling, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball
Corporate Training:
College Counseling, ESL/ESOL, Grammar,
Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for IAN M.

IAN M. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to IAN, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.