Search 73,320 tutors
Over 50 tutoring hours

Alessia P.

Engineer offers high qualified tutoring

Philadelphia, PA (19146)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
Email Alessia P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Alessia P.

Alessia P. passed a background check on 1/9/14. The check was ordered by Alessia through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Alessia, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

The opportunity to teach and to develop new educational materials is one of the reasons why I am in academia. I started tutoring friends at school, when I was a teenager, and then I made this a part time job along my university studies. I try to maintain an interactive and informal atmosphere, so that students feel comfortable in asking questions and being engaged. I look at teaching time as an opportunity to make students an active part of the learning process.

My favorite subjects are algebra, calculus, trigonometry, science. I have been tutoring students of all ages for many years. I am an Engineer in Telecommunication Engineering, with a Phd in Electromagnetic field. Within my academic appointment, I also tutored undergrad and grad students, preparing either exams or their master thesis.

Also, I would like to have the opportunity to teach my mother tongue, Italian, to students of all ages. I had experience in teaching Italian in the past, and I found it very exciting.

This my favorite quote:
"By learning you will teach; by teaching you will learn" (Latin proverb)

Email Alessia

Alessia’s subjects

Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Discrete Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry
Fortran, MATLAB, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
Test Preparation:
SAT Math
Corporate Training:
Italian, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word


Calculus is definitely my favorite math subject. I have great experience from teaching and tutoring.

Discrete Math

Discrete math is at the basis of any computer science course. I had mine at the beginning of my curriculum in Telecommunication Engineering. Particular attention was devoted to the function analysis. This is one of the most basic mathematical structure that any future calculus class must have as fundamental. The rigourus knowledge of this topic opens the doors to many other curricula, such as electronics, mechanics, phisycs, etc.


I have experience in Fortran programming. I have been programming in Fortran since 1998, when I was senior at University. First I learnt some Fortran 77, but mainly I implement my codes in Fortran 90. I used Fortran for my research activity, programming my own codes for integral calculations, differential equations, nonlinear equations systems, complex zero/poles searching, etc.


As an Italian living in America, being able to help people learn my native language makes me really proud. I adopt an interactive way of teaching, using both grammar rules and audio lessons.


Matlab is one of the most versatile software tools for programming and analyzing data. I use Matlab on a regular basis, for small and big tasks. Matlab has a very intuitive programming language, easy to teach and learn. Also, it provides toolboxes for professional and specific jobs (digital signaling, fourier transform, etc.)


Physics is often a challenging matter for students who are not use to think outside the box. It requires mathematical basis, but also the ability to "draw" the scene in the student's mind. I find this task the most challenging one for a tutor.


As an experienced triathlete, I offer a guidance to those who need to become more comfortable in the pool. My technique is based on exercises involving "feeling the water" as a friend and not as an obstacle. Then I usually use drills associated with breathing, stroke and kicking. I can also provide tailored workouts for those who have more experience. I also have experience in open water swimming and I can provide useful suggestions. Swimming is fun!

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Alessia

back to top


University of Siena (Italy) (Telecommunications)

University of Siena (Italy) (Master's)

University of Siena (Italy) (PhD)

Very professional and supportive tutor My partner and I began preparing for our first trip to Italy knowing that we had no knowledge of the language or everyday culture. Alessia provided weekly tutoring sessions in our home for 4 months while staying focused on the basics of the Italian language and everyday usage. Every time she came to the tutoring session, she prepared materials for our lesson in advance and was focused during the ...

— Steve from Philadelphia, PA on 12/1/11);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Alessia will travel within 5 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19146.

Email Alessia

Usually responds in about 2 hours

Send Alessia a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Alessia or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.