Search 72,326 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Brittney R.

Perkasie, PA

$45/hr

Language Arts and Reading tutor

Usually responds in about 19 hours

Language Arts and Reading tutor

Message Brittney

Send Brittney a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Brittney or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I obtained my bachelor's degree at Utah State University in Logan Utah in English Education. While I was working on my degree, I tutored Latino students in all subjects for 3 years. I completed a summer internship doing ACT prep for Native American students on the Wasatch front. Right before I graduated, I moved to Illinois. I completed my student teaching at a local high school. I taught Speech, AP Prep English, College Prep 9th grade English, and a beginning ESL course. While at that high school, I also did private tutoring for home-bound students, and taught an ACT prep course. Upon graduation and after receiving my teaching certificate, I taught 7-8th grade Language Arts and Reading at a local junior high school for four years. While teaching and coaching full time, I completed my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Illinois. I moved to Pennsylvania recently for my husband to accept a teaching job at Delaware Valley College in Doylestown, PA. He just finished his doctorate degree and teaches animal nutrition.

I enjoy working one on one with students. After getting to know how best the student learns, I find creative and fun ways to help the information stick. I help my students learn how to problem solve, and develop a love of lifetime learning. I am able to tutor in most subject areas, but my strong suits are English Language reading and writing.

Testimonials

"Patient Resposive and Knowledgeable"

- Walter, Dublin, PA on 9/5/11

"Brittney"

- Leo, Chalfont, PA on 6/8/11
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, Writing
Science:
ACT Science
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball,
Volleyball
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Basketball

I played basketball from the time I was in 3rd grade all the way through high school. I also coached 5-8 grade girls basketball at Prairieview Ogden Jr. High in Thomasboro Illinois for 4 years.

Elementary (K-6th)

Although most of my training is in the middle grades, I have had experience working with all ages of children. I worked as a tutor in an after school program in the elementary school for a college school year. In that program, I helped 2-5 grades with math and reading homework. I clearly understand the concepts and subjects that are taught in the elementary grades, and know how to reinforce those basic concepts with any student.

ESL/ESOL

My experience with ESL/ESOL involves being a mentor/tutor for Latino youth at both the high school and middle school level. I used a pull out program in which I pulled some of the students out of their easier classes to help them with the subjects they struggled the most in. I also worked with them for 2 hours after school 2 days a week. I received my initial certification in the State of Utah. Then I moved to Illinois, and taught and taught beginning English to ESL students at the high school level during my student teaching experience. I am currently certified in ESL in the state of Illinois. I am currently working on transferring my teaching certificate to the state of Pennsylvania.

Public Speaking

I taught a semester long speech class for 10-12 grade students at a high school in Illinois. I also incorporated speech techniques and required my students to give 2 speeches a year in my language arts class at the junior high level. I have presented material and research through PowerPoints at a number of professional gatherings. I enjoy public speaking and can give constructive feedback on how to improve your public speaking.

Utah State University
University of Illinois
MEd

Education

Utah State University

University of Illinois (MEd)

Patient Resposive and Knowledgeable — Brittney R is an excellent tutor. Personable, nice and knowledgeable. She arrives for her appointments early and stays a bit extra if she is in the middle of a lesson or while imparting an idea. I anticipate that she will be an excellent it for anyone looking for a tutor who cares about what they do. ...

— Walter, Dublin, PA on 9/5/11

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Brittney will travel within 15 miles of Perkasie, PA 18944.


About Brittney

I obtained my bachelor's degree at Utah State University in Logan Utah in English Education. While I was working on my degree, I tutored Latino students in all subjects for 3 years. I completed a summer internship doing ACT prep for Native American students on the Wasatch front. Right before I graduated, I moved to Illinois. I completed my student teaching at a local high school. I taught Speech, AP Prep English, College Prep 9th grade English, and a beginning ESL course. While at that high school, I also did private tutoring for home-bound students, and taught an ACT prep course. Upon graduation and after receiving my teaching certificate, I taught 7-8th grade Language Arts and Reading at a local junior high school for four years. While teaching and coaching full time, I completed my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Illinois. I moved to Pennsylvania recently for my husband to accept a teaching job at Delaware Valley College in Doylestown, PA. He just finished his doctorate degree and teaches animal nutrition.

I enjoy working one on one with students. After getting to know how best the student learns, I find creative and fun ways to help the information stick. I help my students learn how to problem solve, and develop a love of lifetime learning. I am able to tutor in most subject areas, but my strong suits are English Language reading and writing.

Testimonials

"Patient Resposive and Knowledgeable"

- Walter, Dublin, PA on 9/5/11

"Brittney"

- Leo, Chalfont, PA on 6/8/11

Education

Utah State University
University of Illinois
MEd

Education

Utah State University

University of Illinois (MEd)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Perkasie, PA 18944

Brittney’s Subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, Writing
Science:
ACT Science
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball,
Volleyball
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Brittney R.

Brittney R. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Brittney, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.