Search 75,663 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Diane H.

Special Education Professional looking to help you

Mechanicsburg, PA (17055)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Diane H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Diane H.

Diane H. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Diane, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi my name is Diane. I have 19 years of teaching experience in special education. My bachelors degree is in special education k-12, and my masters is in integrating technology into the classroom. I have completed my Educational Specialist degree in education for Administration and Teacher Leadership. During my career I have had experience with tutoring and home school in various areas and levels.

I have very well rounded skills due to the k-12 certification and the masters in technology. I can be very adaptable and excel at assisting others and helping them gain confidence to recognize the hidden skills they have.

I also have experience working with preschool to adult since I deal with special education. That has opened my experience up to work with Early Intervention and Adult Care. I also have been a Red Cross swimming instructor for the last 36 years, most recently spending the majority of my time teaching private lessons at the YMCA focusing on special needs students of all ages.

I look forward to hearing from you. I am here to help you!

Diane

Email Diane

Diane’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Sign Language, Web Design
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking, Sewing, Swimming
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Art:
Adobe Photoshop, Photography
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
American History
Language:
Sign Language
Science:
Philosophy, Psychology
Computer:
Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Photography, Web Design
Math:
Geometry
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

Elementary (K-6th)

I have my Bachelor's in Special Education and worked in the Harrisburg School District as a Special Needs Teacher for 18 years in K-6. I also worked a year with PDD Students in a self contained school. I am still working in the field by teaching Head Start students in the Harrisburg area with many students being diagnosed with special needs. I also help coach the special Olympics swim team in the area and teach private swimming lesson, focusing a lot on special needs students (many of them PDD).

Special Needs

I have a BS in special education. I taught for 19 years teaching special needs, 2 years teaching in a Head Start program with integrated children, and 4 years working with (nanny, tutoring, consulting at meetings, teaching swimming, coaching special olympics, babysitting) special needs students and their families. I now find myself reaising a special needs student and going through the process as a parent. I also have a MS in Integrating Technology in the classrooms and recently completed my educational specialist degree.

Study Skills

I have a BS in special education. I taught for 18 years in a district and study skills is a major necessity for special needs students to succeed. It is important that they learn how to organize and study to advance in their lessons. I also just completed my educational specialist degree in a full time program while working 6 part time jobs. It was necessary to have strong organizational and study skills to complete the program with a 3.98 average.

Swimming

I have been teaching swimming since I was 9 years old. I began in the Red Cross Program as a student volunteer. When I turned 12 I became a Water Safety Aid and at 18 I became a Water Safety Instructor including First Aid, CPR, and Swim Coach Instructor. I completed the Adapted Aquatics course about 15 years ago and currently help coach the special Olympics swim team in the area. I have remained active with my teaching and currently teach private swim lessons.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Diane

back to top

Education

Penn State University, Bachelor's Degree (Special Education)

Walden University (Master's)

Walden University (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Diane will travel within 15 miles of Mechanicsburg, PA 17055.

Email Diane

Usually responds in about 8 hours

Send Diane a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Diane or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.