Search 72,494 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Joshua V.

Tutoring in Math, Science, and English

East Petersburg, PA (17520)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$38.00
Email Joshua V.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Joshua V.

Joshua V. passed a background check on 2/7/13. The check was ordered by Joshua through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Joshua, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My name is Josh. I currently live in the Lancaster, PA area and am available to tutor in the surrounding areas. I am a down-to-earth person that wants to help individuals succeed who are struggling with a subject. I have experience tutoring in multiple science, math, and English classes/subjects.

I am a 2010 Graduate of The Pennsylvania State University, Main Campus with a B.S. in General Science/Pre-medicine and a Minor in Psychology making dean's list with a cumulative GPA of 3.5. Courses included biology with labs, calculus, inorganic and organic chemistry with labs, biostatistics, English composition, psychology, public speaking, and many more electives. Also, took several graduate level biology and psychology classes at West Chester University with a cumulative GPA of 3.6.

I have a significant amount of tutoring experience (5+ years). I've worked as a graduate assistant at West Chester University as an academic coach/tutor for students with disabilities, tutored at State College Area High School in Biology and Geometry, tutored at Penn State University in Biostatistics, and was involved in the Big Brothers, Big Sisters Program in State College, PA.

Extra-curricular activities included THON, Global Medical Brigades, AED Premedicine Honors Society, volunteer at Mount Nittany Medical Center, Susquehanna Health System, and Williamsport Area Hospital, and shadowing of numerous physicians.

I am able and have experience tutoring elementary school to college-level individuals in a wide range of subjects. I can relate to all ages of individuals and adjust my tutoring accordingly. I have background checks available if needed for peace-of-mind as well. While I am new to WyzAnt Tutoring, I am not new to tutoring in general. I am extremely talented and experienced in tutoring and will give you or your child the best chance to learn and improve in whatever subject it may be. I look forward to working with anyone that wants/needs help and am confident that we can succeed.

Email Joshua

Joshua’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra, Probability, SAT Math, SPSS, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology, Biostatistics, Chemistry, Genetics, Nutrition, Psychology, Sociology
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word, SAS, SPSS
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
GRE, MCAT, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball, Basketball, Fitness, Football, Soccer, Tennis
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking, SPSS, Statistics

ADD/ADHD

I was an academic coach/tutor for students with disabilities at West Chester University where several students had ADD or ADHD. I also was part of the Big Brother, Big Sister Program in State College, PA and my little brother whom I had for over 3 years had ADD/ADHD. I am very patient and understanding with people suffering from ADD/ADHD. I am a 2010 Graduate of The Pennsylvania State University, Main Campus with a B.S. in General Science/Pre-medicine and a Minor in Psychology.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored students from elementary school through college. My experience tutoring elementary and middle school students at the local State College Area for students that were looking for extra help was instrumental in the beginning of my tutoring career.

MCAT

I took the MCAT and scored a 28. I have used Kaplan and Princeton Review materials and have some available to help tutor others. I have taken courses at Penn State University that have prepared me for the MCATs and through the Premedicine Honors Society up there I was able to attend seminars regarding the MCAT's as well. I am a 2010 Graduate of The Pennsylvania State University, Main Campus with a B.S. in General Science/Pre-medicine and a Minor in Psychology.

Microsoft Outlook

I use Microsoft Outlook everyday where I work and am very good with computers and Microsoft Suite as a whole. I can easily teach anyone that wants to learn the ins and outs of this program.

Nutrition

I have taken nutrition courses at Penn State University, University Park, kinesiology courses, and several relevant biology courses which stress the same material. I have received only A and B+ grades in those courses.

Study Skills

I know that I am qualified to be a tutor in study skills. I have experience as an academic coach/tutor for students with disabilities at West Chester University where study skills were a big part of what I stressed. I have also tutored at Penn State University, State College Area High School, and independently and have always made study skills and time management an important component no matter what subject.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Joshua

back to top

Education

Pennsylvania State University, Main Campus (B.S. General Science)

West Chester University (Graduate Coursework)

Joshua is a rare find. Flexible but disciplined. — Josh has been super fast to reach, very clear, and able to talk things through. He is really well disciplined with monitoring time which I appreciate since time is a commodity at our house. He is extremely prompt, good with feedback, and even handled my chatty daughter really well, keeping her focused and ensuring the time was productive. We have a noisy, busy household and he stays focused during ...

— Linnaya from Dover, PA on 3/14/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $38.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Joshua will travel within 20 miles of East Petersburg, PA 17520.

Email Joshua

Usually responds in about 10 hours

Send Joshua a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Joshua or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.