Search 74,321 tutors
Over 10 tutoring hours

Joshua H.

Josh H. - Reading, Writing, Math

Ambler, PA (19002)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
Email Joshua H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Joshua H.

Joshua H. passed a background check on 1/10/14. The check was ordered by Joshua through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Joshua, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I specialize in English, but I tutor students in a variety of subjects. As an honors student at Penn State, I studied English and World Literature and graduated magna cum laude. I then attended graduate school at Arcadia University to get certified in secondary education. In addition to being a certified English teacher, I am also a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society.

I believe in teaching students the skills and study strategies to learn and succeed on their own. I also understand that each student learns in his or her own way, so I tailor my tutoring methods to each individual student. I am familiar with many strategies to help my students to improve and thrive. I have a 3-hour cancellation policy, and I'm always willing to reschedule any missed lessons.

I look forward to hearing from you and helping to achieve your academic goals!

Email Joshua

Joshua’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Special Needs:

Elementary Math

Before studying English, I majored in economics for a year. I am well-versed in many different kinds of math, and I have worked with children for the last eight years as a camp counselor, so I am very good at communicating with younger students. I have a variety of strategies to teach computational skills.


I studied English and World Literature at Schreyer Honors College at Penn State. I am certified to teach English at the secondary level, but I am willing to tutor students of all ages.


I have studied grammar for six years throughout my undergraduate and graduate education. I also have experience teaching grammar at the high school level. I try to teach my students easy ways to remember rules and provide plenty of practice to help them become better writers.


To earn my B.A. in English, I took many literature courses. I'm familiar with many of the books taught in most elementary, secondary, and collegiate-level classes. To help my students learn from literature, I try to ask challenging questions and assign a variety of writing prompts to help them learn the underlying concepts of the text.


I was recently certified in secondary education in Pennsylvania. As part of my program, I took several elementary education courses and learned how to teach phonics. I also tutored a fifth-grade student in phonics for several weeks this past year. I am familiar with the different stages of reading and writing, and I have many resources to help me teach phonics.


Before studying English, I majored in economics for a year. I am well-versed in many different kinds of math including Prealgebra, Algebra I and Algebra II. I have a variety of strategies to teach computational skills and show students how to work with variables and factoring.


As an English teacher, I am well-practiced in proofreading student writing. I can help students improve their creative, persuasive, expository, and essay writing. I have also worked as an independent proofreader, and I can help students make any piece of writing great.


My degree in English along with my teaching experience make me very qualified to teach reading. I can teach any student how to recognize the main ideas of a text, question literature, and succeed in writing essays and taking reading-based tests. I like to use writing a lot to help teach reading because the more students write, the easier it becomes for them to read critically and efficiently.


I played soccer for my high school team and for a travel team for nine years. I refereed for several years and coached a middle school soccer team in 2013. I still play often, and I plan to coach again in the future.


I have taken several courses in elementary education through which I have learned how to teach spelling, reading, and writing to younger students. I also know of many websites that can be used to assist students who struggle with spelling. I have found that turning learning how to spell words into fun games for the student helps the student learn and retain much more knowledge than simple memorization. Therefore, I try to make learning to spell as fun and effective as possible.


It is very important for students to know which words work best when speaking or writing, as well as their meanings. My degrees in English and education have provided me with a great deal of experience both learning and teaching vocabulary. I also know of some great ways to incorporate technology when it comes to learning new words, which can make the process of enriching one's vocabulary both fun and engaging.


In my time teaching at the high school level, I utilized writing every day in my English classes. I can effectively teach expository, persuasive, creative, and essay writing to students of any age. I also like to use writing as a tool to help improve students' reading skills. I believe in giving students a lot of freedom to write about what interests them. I find that when students are really engaged in their writing, they often write much better.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Joshua

back to top


The Pennsylvania State University (English)

Arcadia University (Graduate Coursework)

Solid Tutor Solid job by Josh so far. My son has shown much improvement in Math since Josh has started tutoring him. It has given him some extra confidence as well going into his tests. Hopefully he follows through with what he is learning from Josh and starts seeing higher test scores. Josh has done a great job so far and we look forward to him continuing to help my son with his math skills. ...

— Matt from Willow Grove, PA on 3/14/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Joshua will travel within 15 miles of Ambler, PA 19002.

Email Joshua

Usually responds in about 3 days

Send Joshua a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Joshua or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.