Search 73,248 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Heather D.

Biology, chemistry, proofreading, grammar, history, and music!!!

Allentown, PA (18103)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Heather D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Heather D.

Heather D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Heather, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have had ten years of teaching experience as a high school music teacher. I can play most instruments which include, French horn, trumpet, trombone, piano, flute, saxophone, violin, and a little bit of guitar. I have taught music theory and music history for 8 years, and I was able to get most of my students out of first year college courses as a result.

I also have a minor in biology and have tutored many students in biology, chemistry, and physical science. I am good at making the material real and substantial to students to help increase their understanding.

My parents were history majors in college, so much of my summer vacation was touring battlefields and historic sites and learning all that I could in American history. I am very good at tutoring this subject due to the connection I have with it.

I can also help proofread papers and teach grammar rules to students. I can also help elementary students learn how to read or improve their reading skills. I have helped many of my high school aged students improve their writing for their English classes as well.

Email Heather

Heather’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology, Chemistry, Physical Science, Zoology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
History:
American History, Music History
Music:
Composition (Music), Ear Training, Flute, General Music, Music History, Music Theory, Piano, Saxophone, Sight Singing, Songwriting, Trombone, Trumpet, Voice (Music)
Art:
Composition (Music)
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Biology, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), Piano, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Ear Training

I have had well over 15 years of professional ear training in a bachelor's degree and master's degree program. Also much of my ear training has gone into practice because I have been a music teacher for ten of those years. I teach intervals and I use unique ways to get students to learn the intervals and sing them back. I also can teach students how to differentiate chords in a chord progression.

General Music

I have taught general music courses for ten years. I have taught ages 12-20. I can teach anything from music appreciation to music note reading to understanding music history and how it was affected by history itself. I can also teach a little about the music business and give people tips on how to start their own music business or music recording studio.

Music History

I have taught music history courses for the past five years, as well as studied extensive music history throughout all of my bachelor's and master's degree training. I used to teach at a performing arts high school, which was modeled to literally teach high school students a college curriculum. I have taught the time periods of Middle Ages to modern day. I have even invented my own jazz music history, American popular music history, and film music history courses.

Piano

I used to be a self taught piano player until college, and then I took classroom lessons and one on one lessons. I can teach beginner to intermediate. I will not only teach the classics, but I will teach other songs in which the student desires to learn. I am open to teaching all genres.

Study Skills

I have been a teacher for ten years and when I was in school I did not receive anything lower than a B. I can teach study skills to anyone of any age. I can teach time management, how to create your "zen-like study space," and how to limit distractions. I know many strategies to study and remember facts. I also can teach students how to conceptualize the most difficult scientific concepts.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Heather

back to top

Education

UNC Wilmington

Pennsylvania State University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 36 hours notice required

Travel policy

Heather will travel within 20 miles of Allentown, PA 18103.

Email Heather

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Heather a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Heather or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.