Search 72,612 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Jennifer M.

Enthusiastic and Creative Biology Tutor with Ph.D.

West Linn, OR (97068)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Jennifer M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Jennifer M.

Jennifer M. passed a background check on 10/3/14. The check was ordered by Jennifer through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jennifer, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello! I am excited for the opportunity to tutor inquisitive minds in the subject of biology! I am 36 years old, with a doctorate in molecular, cell, developmental and biochemical biology. I did bio-medical research for almost 13 years, but in the past year I have changed my focus on editing manuscripts and teaching. I love to teach!

My approach to teaching is truly specialized for each individual. My background is such that, although I grew up with two scientists as parents (physicist and psychologist), I was primarily interested in the arts and music as a child. In fact, I am still very interested in these activities - another reason why I left bench research. I believe that these diverse interests actually give me an advantage as a tutor, in that I look at science from different perspectives, often from the perspective of someone who sees it from the outside-looking-in. This is not to be mistaken as not having a full grasp or understanding of the subject - as I certainly do! It is merely that I can understand what about the subject needs to be highlighted to be welcoming to the outsider.

As a woman, I feel it is especially important to help other women view science as a welcoming subject. Although women are gaining more equal ground in the field of biology, it still seems that women do not always have the same level of self-confidence as men, and will sometimes concede to men when, in reality, they know just as much, and sometimes more, as their male counterparts. One goal of mine is to help young girls and women to feel this security in themselves, and not to live their lives apologetically or subordinately. I find that even with boys, I can convey these values such that young boys and men see women as their equals in any subjects. In this light, everyone can feel empowered to be themselves.

I hope you like what you read here and are excited to work with me, as well! My aim is to make learning fun, since why should it not be fun?! The more fun it is, the more you'll want to do it, and then learning becomes second-nature!

Thank you!

Email Jennifer

Jennifer’s subjects

Biochemistry

I have a doctorate (Ph.D.) from the University of Pittsburgh in Molecular, Cellular, Developmental, and Biochemical biology. I have tutored, taught, and performed research in the field for 13 years.

Biology

I have a doctorate (Ph.D.) from the University of Pittsburgh in Molecular, Cellular, Developmental, and Biochemical biology. I have tutored, taught, and performed research in the field for 13 years. I have tutored biology through Wyzant for the past year, as well.

Chemistry

I am qualified to be a Chemistry tutor for high school level and introductory level college Chemistry due to my background in studying Molecular, Cell, Biochemical, and Developmental Biology. I took many courses in Chemistry and was a teaching assistant for two years in a row for an upper-level Biochemistry course in graduate school. I have also tutored in biochemistry, as well. I have a thorough understanding of both basic chemistry and some organic chemistry, especially as it applies to the life sciences. I also have a thorough understanding of the physics that describe atoms and the subatomic particles that make up atoms, including the orbital structure, etc. Much of the math that I have had to use in my career as a molecular biologist is based on basic chemistry.

Composition (Music)

I was a music composition "correlate" in college. I have written many songs in many different forms (string quartet, clarinet/bass duet, marimba/xylophone/bongos piece, electronic music compositions using 1/4 in tape loops, digital audio workstations, "rock" band songs, etc.) I do a lot of hand-writing out my compositions on music sheet paper. I play piano, guitar, bass, clarinet, and some drums. I took piano, clarinet, and music composition lessons at the renowned Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY, in the 1990s. Since then, I have taken more classes in music technology and composition at NYU, and I have taken both levels of a certificate course in audio engineering at the Women's Audio Mission in San Francisco over the past year. I am currently building my career in music and audio engineering. I have a band and am essentially the band leader, and I also do some live sound reinforcement in the east bay.

Genetics

I have a doctorate in molecular, cell, developmental and biochemical biology, which encompasses genetics, as well. I received my Ph.D. in December, 2005, from the University of Pittsburgh. My graduate research involved the use of transgenic mice, and I also managed a mouse colony for awhile when I was a postdoc at UCSF. Not only do I understand genetics, but I had to actually perform genetic crosses in order to obtain the maximum number of particular genetic offspring. I have both the intellectual background and practical experience to tutor genetics.

Piano

I've been playing the piano since I was 4 years old, which means I've been playing for 32 years. My piano teacher had to teach me the alphabet, in fact! I have had both formal lessons (learning scales, music notation, etc.) and less formal lessons where I was encouraged to write my own songs. I have helped my siblings learn to play the piano, as well. I love teaching people how to play, or just how to read music. Most musicians learn how to play the piano at some point in their musical education, since it is the most fundamental instrument. I have played classical, jazz, "minimalistic" styles like Philip Glass/Steve Reich, and rock/pop. I have a digital piano in my apartment and other musical gear - I can teach lessons here or anywhere else that has a piano.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Jennifer

back to top

Education

Vassar College (Biology, Music Comp)

University of Pittsburgh (PhD)

Excellent Tutor — We hired Jen when our child had an "F" in biology, a little under halfway through the semester. Our child pulled off a B in Biology, and Jen was a huge part of that success! Strongly recommend!! ...

— Margaret, Oakland, CA on 6/12/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

I have experience tutoring and I have a doctorate. My rate is also negotiable, depending upon the situation.

Travel policy

Jennifer will travel within 10 miles of West Linn, OR 97068.

Email Jennifer

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Jennifer a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jennifer or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.