Search 75,822 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Caroline S.

Language Arts/Social Studies/Test Prep -- 6 years experience

Scappoose, OR (97056)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Caroline S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Caroline S.

Caroline S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Caroline, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Each individual has a different story, different struggles, and different strengths. Tutoring helps me be a better learner, a better teacher, and a better person! I started my teaching career as a swim instructor and coach, and started tutoring for the YMCA in college at Washington University in St. Louis. After college, I taught reading enrichment courses and briefly worked as a court reporter before returning to tutoring and academic mentoring. After living as a nanny abroad, I volunteered at an art museum, fought for fair housing rights, and tutored (mainly for standardized tests) in Baltimore. I returned to academics in 2010, moving to University of Oregon for Masters' in Journalism and Education.

My method for tutoring is based on the needs of the client. I prefer planning consistent meeting times either at my home or at a library. If I meet at a client's home, I prefer doing so in a room free from distractions, sitting across from the student if possible, so that I am conversational with them and available face to face as needed, and not simply someone who hovers over the pupil's shoulder.

Email Caroline

Caroline’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, German, Grammar, Proofreading
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, GED, GRE, ISEE, Praxis, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Homeschool:
Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Handwriting, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Business:
GRE
Art:
Art History, Film
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Music:
Music History
History:
American History, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Music History, Political Science, Social Studies, World History
Language:
ESL/ESOL, German, TOEFL
Science:
Biology, Nutrition, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology
Math:
ACT Math, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I have worked with students on 504s or IEPs as a practicum teacher, developing individualized curricula and a combination of best practices and trial and error for increased work performance given the environment and behavior of the child. I have specifically worked for an LLC for students with such difficulties on getting organized and applying study and note-taking skills. Having been diagnosed with ADD as a child, I can internally identify with these students.

Phonics

I have worked for a reading enrichment program (IRD) where I taught around 20 courses for pre-literate students ages 4-7. Through that program, I administered hundreds of DIBLs tests and worked closely with each student on phonics. I worked on reading and pronunciation with ESL students as well as native speakers. I have taken graduate level courses on language acquisition for all ages.

Political Science

I am certified as a social studies teacher in the state of Oregon and taught/planned some of my practicum in government and policy. I have tutored many students in test-taking and essay-writing in their social studies courses. I have studied the topic intensively as I took political theory in college.

Social Studies

I am certified as a social studies teacher in the state of Oregon. I have studied the topic intensively as I took required social differentiation, cultural diversity, geography, economics and history courses in college and graduate school. I have tutored many students in test-taking and essay-writing in their social studies courses.

Sociology

As a writing tutor, I worked often with students majoring in Sociology. My first Master's Degree is in Communications and Society, so I have taken theory and methods courses based in sociology. I am certified as a social studies teacher in the state of Oregon.

Study Skills

I tutored students in study and organizational skills for an academic mentoring LLC (2006-2007). Additionally, I have spent time in my education program and in professional development settings learning about these skills. I learn what works for a student based on their struggles or learning disabilities, and try to enforce routine.

Swimming

I swam competitively for 11 years. Following this, I offered lessons at my swim club for pupils as young as 3 and as old as 9. The year following my "retirement" at 18, I co-coached the team I had swum for.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Caroline

back to top

Education

Washington University in St. Louis (Comparative Arts)

University of Oregon (Master's)

University of Oregon (MEd)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Caroline will travel within 40 miles of Scappoose, OR 97056.

Email Caroline

Usually responds in about 3 days

Send Caroline a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Caroline or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.