Search 75,918 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Kim F.

Experienced Teacher Specializing in Language Arts and Special Needs

Portland, OR (97240)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Kim F.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Kim F.

Kim F. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Kim, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I recently moved to Portland after nearly 25 years in Iowa. I have worked in educational settings for 20 years as both a teacher and a soccer coach. I have extensive experience working with at-risk and struggling learners--especially in the areas of reading and writing--including students with ADHD/ADD, Asperger's, and other emotional and behavioral disorders.

My focus as an educator is treating students and families with respect, challenging kids to see themselves as able learners, and helping young people find their potential in the classroom while gaining skills that will benefit them in the outside world, as well. I have high expectations for the kids with whom I work, and I strive to make the learning process challenging, but fun. Finding methods that work for each individual student is a priority, and I have the patience, creativity and flexibility necessary to make differentiated learning work. I will do everything in my power to help your child figure out what learning style works best for him/her, and I will communicate openly with both the parents and the student about progress being made. Collaboration with parents and families is key, and I would ask for open communication in return.

Email Kim

Kim’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
English, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I have worked with students with ADD/ADHD and other E/BD for nearly 20 years. I have my M.A. in Special Education (University of Iowa, 2002), with an emphasis in Secondary Behavior Disorders.

Aspergers

In my work with students with special needs during the last 20 years, I have had the opportunity to help kids with a wide variety of emotional and behavioral disorders, several of whom had Aspergers. Furthermore, I have my M.A. in Special Education with a BD endorsement, the study of which helped me learn even more about students with PDD-NOS. This schooling provided me with additional skills to help individualize lessons and integrate multi sensory teaching techniques into my classroom, in an effort to best meet the needs of students who struggle with mainstream educational settings.

Dyslexia

As a special education teacher, I taught reading for 5 years to students with a wide variety of disabilities including dyslexia, dysgraphia, and other language-based developmental disorders. I am familiar with (and own the basic and advanced materials for) Orton-Gillingham, a program that has had proven results with kids who struggle with reading.

Soccer

I have coached soccer at various youth levels (rec league, MS/HS, D-III collegiate) for 20 years, and I have extensive experience training goalkeepers. I have been involved in soccer my entire life: I began playing when I was five years old, and had a 4-year collegiate career as the starting goalkeeper for a Division III program. I started coaching HS soccer during my senior year of college.

Special Needs

I have worked with students with ADD/ADHD and other E/BD for nearly 20 years. I began my career right out of college, working as a classroom associate in a residential treatment center serving students with severe emotional/behavioral disorders. I continued working with struggling learners and students with special needs for the nearly 20 years--14 in the public school system--as a paraeducator, teacher, lead teacher, and substitute teacher. I have my M.A. in Special Education (University of Iowa, 2002), with an emphasis in Secondary Behavior Disorders.

Study Skills

I have worked for years as a teacher for students who are struggling and/or resistant learners. As such, I am well-versed in a wide variety of study skills, time management skills, note-taking, and other tools that can help students become more successful and independent learners.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Kim

back to top

Education

Cornell College (Women's Studies, Eng)

University of Iowa (Master's)

University of Saint Thomas (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

I am open to discussing lower rates on an individual client basis (i.e. for multiple hour lessons or for families who are in need of a tutor but cannot afford my hourly rate).

Travel policy

Kim will travel within 20 miles of Portland, OR 97213.

Email Kim

Send Kim a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Kim or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.