Search 73,790 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Benjamin B.

Relational Teacher w/ MA: Social Studies, ESOL, Lan. Arts, and Spanish

Portland, OR (97202)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Benjamin B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Benjamin B.

Benjamin B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Benjamin, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My love of learning and teaching is rooted in making education relevant, clear and engaging. Through my experience as a social worker supporting families and youth around the USA and internationally, I know how to relate to people and create an encouraging, supportive environment. As a high school valedictorian, Most Inspirational Senior, cum laude graduate, and certified teacher with a Master’s degree, I understand the diligence and skills that are required to improve student performance. My varied background has given me experience tutoring students of all ages to succeed to a variety of subject areas.

Education
I grew up near Seattle and was in public school until 2nd grade. I was then homeschooled until 8th grade by my parents and occasionally met with other families. My parents taught us to be self-motivated and discover our own learning styles. I went to a large private school 8-12th grade where I was very involved in extra-curricular activities while maintaining a 4.0 GPA. I enjoyed helping my friends study and was a volunteer tutor for elementary age students. Several times I took two to three week trips to Mexico partnering with locals in providing humanitarian aid and education.

I received my bachelor’s degree in History and Theology at Covenant College, a liberal arts university outside Chattanooga, TN. I ran for their cross country team, served in student government, was a volunteer tutor at an elementary school and did part time work in the college admissions office. I studied ancient Greek and focused on international comparative history. I spent one summer helping an orphanage start in Uganda and another summer working with inner city teenagers in St. Louis. I maintained a 3.57 average, graduating cum laude in 2007.

While working for a variety of non-profits supporting immigrants in Seattle, India and London, I taught ESOL and tutored teenage and adult students in a range of subjects. I raised funds for my own salary in addition to community projects. Due to living with local families, I have studied Gujarati, Hindi, and Swahili. I started youth and afterschool programs, did job training, and started a non-profit supporting human rights advocacy and fair trade in India. Through these experiences I discovered my love of teaching.

I returned to the States to complete a teacher preparation program at the University of Washington. Every quarter of the program I helped teach in middle and high schools around Seattle, concentrating on Social Studies and ESOL. I completed my Masters in Teaching with dual certifications and a 3.91GPA. I am certified to teach in Washington and Oregon.

Tutoring Experience
Elementary age
I was a tutor and counselor at an afterschool program for two years where I created a range of educational activities and tutored students 1-1 every day in completing their homework. I enjoy connecting with kids and finding ways for them to learn.

Secondary, grades 6-12
I am certified secondary teacher with experience teaching Social Studies, Language Arts, ESOL, Religion and Spanish. Specific Social Studies classes I have taught are World History, Government, AP courses, Geography, and American History. In all these courses I have emphasized learning skills, not just content, in order to gain a better grasp of the material.

Teaching Philosophy
I believe education can be both a window and mirror to know themselves and their world better. As a tutor, this drives me to have students understand and reflect on how they learn and determine how to apply what they learn. This approach has made me and my students see the world in new ways. Each person is unique and I enjoy helping students create goals and guide them in meeting them.

By the time many students seek out a tutor, they have lost confidence in their ability to understand something or doubt their skills to meet their goals. I begin by asking questions to identify what the student does know and proceed to build on that knowledge in stages that are comfortable yet also challenging. I explain a concept in a variety of angles until the student shows they grasp it, that the idea has “traction” in some way. I progressively provide less and less support as we work through material. The skills of Social Studies and Language Arts overlap, so I often tutor in both at the same time.

Tutoring policies
While I do have an 8 hour cancellation policy, I try to be flexible with time and offer makeup classes. I highly value feedback so I will often request students’ thoughts and suggestions. I spend the first few minutes of every session reviewing the expectations and objectives for our time together.

Me:
I recently moved from Seattle and am married with a boy on the way. I enjoy running on trails, hiking, writing, listening to local bands, reading and cooking.

I look forward to hearing from you and providing guidance and support in your studies!

Ben B.

Email Benjamin

Benjamin’s subjects

Science:
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
History:
American History, Anthropology, Classics, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish

American History

I am a certified History teacher who has taught American History before. I completed a Masters in Teaching at the University of Washington and one of my undergraduate majors was History.

Anthropology

I studied anthropology as part of my history major. As part of my preparation for living overseas and doing community development, I completed several cultural studies courses based in the field of anthropology. I integrated my knowledge of anthropology in teaching Social Studies, especially a Sociology course.

Bible Studies

I was a Theology major in college, concentrating on Christian theology which requires extensive knowledge of the Bible. I studied Ancient Greek to better understand one of the original languages. I have taught Bible studies in adult and teenage small groups for over four years. I have taught Bible courses in Christian secondary schools.

Classics

As part of my liberal arts education, I was required to study classical literature-everything from logic and rhetoric to comparative philosophy. Additionally as a double major in theology and history, the understanding and integration of classical literature was essential. As part of my master's program, I studied and researched the philosophical underpinnings of educational systems, values and approaches.

Elementary (K-6th)

I was a tutor and counselor at an afterschool program for two years where I created a range of educational activities and tutored students 1-1 every day in completing their homework. I taught elementary age students as part of my community development work in Uganda and the UK.

English

I am a certified teacher who has taught Language Arts in both middle school and high school with a focus on literacy skills. I completed state exams for Language Arts, Middle Level Humanities and also have an ESL certification. I have created my own curriculum the past three years.

Literature

I am a certified teacher who has taught Language Arts and various types of Literature courses. I have completed various state exams to qualify to teach 6-12 grade English. I am also endorsed to teach Social Studies and ESOL. I focus on teaching literacy skills in addition to the general content and context of literature.

Reading

As a teacher and tutor, I always focus on teaching reading skills to my students. I have tutored all ages in reading and helped students gain an interest in reading a variety of texts. The skill of reading also supports the skill of writing, so I often provide support and growth for both skills at the same time. Especially as students reach high school, I focus on having them read a range of genres and styles. I have created curriculum to teach and taught language arts in public and private middle and high schools.

Religion

I studied ancient and modern religions in college as part of my theology major. I lived internationally with families who practiced a range of religions, so I understand the doctrines and "living out" of many faiths. I have taught Religion Units at the high school level and overview courses to adults.

Social Studies

I have my BA in History and did an additional 35 credits in various areas of Social Studies to earn my Social Studies teaching endorsement in Washington and Oregon. I have taught subjects in the field of Social Studies for three years.

Spanish

I currently teach Spanish at the high school level. I spent time in Mexico and can incorporate cultural aspects into my teaching. Though I promote conversational skills, I find students often need more assistance with the grammar and pronunciation of the language.

Study Skills

I have taught study skills as a social worker and teacher for several years to children and adults. A key element of my training to be a teacher at the University of Washington was learning to identify, diagnose and resolve a range of struggles related to student performance in school. As a Language Arts teacher, developing literacy skills was the highest priority of my job.

Track & Field

I ran track and field in high school and spent two years coaching as an assistant. I ran cross country at the collegiate level which further supports my understanding of the human body and proper training.

World History

I am a certified teacher who has taught, and is currently teaching, World History. One of my undergraduate majors was History and I applied this degree in doing community development work around the world for a few years before becoming a teacher.

Writing

I am a certified teacher who has taught Language Arts at the middle and high school levels. I have helped students as a teacher and tutor in completing a variety of writing assignments: research-based, creative, or personal narrative. I also teach students pre-writing strategies and how to use the writing process to develop their work.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Benjamin

back to top

Education

Covenant College (two History Theology)

University of Washington (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Benjamin will travel within 15 miles of Portland, OR 97202.

Email Benjamin

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Benjamin a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Benjamin or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.