Search 75,747 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Molly L.

Experienced and Personable Tutor Ready to Help

Portland, OR (97223)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$29.00
Email Molly L.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Molly L.

Molly L. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Molly, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I love to tutor the SAT/ACT and all kinds of math. I received my bachelors degree in math and was always helping and tutoring my fellow students - so I have quite a lot of practice these taking complex ideas and explaining them in accessible ways that fit each student's unique learning style. I have over 3 years experience tutoring at the middle school, high school, and college levels.

I take tutoring seriously, in that I am responsible and committed to your student's learning. But I also believe its much easier to learn something you like (or at least don't find horribly boring), so I work to make each of these subjects not only understandable, but also relevant and enjoyable.

I tutor:

SAT/ACT -- I have helped over twenty students improve their scores on these tests. I tutor all elements of the test in a comprehensive manner and provide students with clear strategies and techniques they can use on test day to achieve great results. (I am also available to help with particular sections of each test).

Math -- I tutor math up through and including most kinds of college math. While I can tutor the higher levels, I also have a great deal of experience tutoring math in lower grades, including late elementary, middle school, and high school math.

Ancient Hebrew and Greek -- I took two years of each of these languages in college and graduate school and have also taught year-long classes on each subject. I offer efficient one-on-one tutoring to help students clear up difficult aspects of the language and to provide practical study plans students can use on their own time to effectively improve understanding and use of these languages.

Chess -- I played the tournament chess circuit in my youth and appreciated the benefits it brings to cognitive ability and strategic thinking. I now enjoy helping other young people understand and enjoy this great game.



A bit more about me:
Learning and teaching are my favorite ways to spend time - I am currently working on my graduate degree in theology with the hopes of becoming a professor.

I graduated from Santa Clara University with a bachelors in mathematics, so I am capable of tutoring just about any kind of math through the college level. I also had a good deal of experience in college level physics, religion, Hebrew, Greek, and Spanish. I was also tournament chess player in elementary and junior high school, so I also enjoy teaching other young people how to play chess.

Email Molly

Molly’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Greek, Hebrew, Public Speaking, Spanish, Statistics
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball, Chess
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, GRE, ISEE, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Statistics
Business:
GRE, Public Speaking
Elementary Education:
Grammar
Music:
History:
Religion
Language:
Greek, Hebrew, Spanish
Science:
ACT Science, Physics
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations, Discrete Math, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, Grammar, Public Speaking, SAT Reading, SAT Writing

Calculus

I have personally taken AP Calculus in high school (and helped several of my friends through the class along the way). Since then, I have had four quarters of college calculus, eventually receiving my bachelors in mathematics from Santa Clara University.

I have had over four years' experience tutoring calculus with high school and college students at various levels. I understand not only the subject matter, but also how to explain it to someone for the first time and help apprehensive students become confident and successful.

Guitar

I have been playing guitar for the last six years. I can play just about every chord and key, strum, pick, and sing along. I have also led several groups of people in learning guitar from scratch to being able to play whole songs with ease.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Molly

back to top

Education

Santa Clara University (Mathematics)

Fuller Theological Seminary (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $29.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Molly will travel within 40 miles of Portland, OR 97223.

Email Molly

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Molly a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Molly or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.