Search 75,071 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Emily E.

Passionate about education

Portland, OR (97232)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Emily E.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Emily E.

Emily E. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Emily, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I'm an ASU graduate with a BA in Spanish from Arizona State University. I have been tutoring for 6 years, for 6th through 12th grades and adults. I also have 5 years of experience working with kids with ASD, and love working with students at any ability level.

Email Emily

Emily’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Spanish, Writing
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Language:
Science:
Philosophy
Math:
Algebra 1, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

Algebra 1

I have taught Algebra to students on many ability levels and grades. I have had 7th grade Algebra students as well as 10th grade Algebra students. It's an important subject to master, as it teaches analytical problem solving which is a very useful skill.

Aspergers

I have been working with the ASD population for 5 years now. I provide habilitation services, and use the ABA method to work on our goals. I am familiar with working on academics with one of my clients, and we have taught her to read and are working on math.

Autism

Similar to Aspergers, Autism is on the ASD spectrum but usually refers to individuals a little lower on the spectrum. The majority of my experience has been with clients with the Autism diagnosis. I have 5 years of experience providing Habilitation services to such individuals. I have also worked on academics, such as math and reading with children with ASD.

Elementary (K-6th)

I previously worked with a 6th grader as a homebound instructor. I taught her Latin, Math, Science, and Grammar. She was a homebound student, so we work out of the textbooks provided by her school.

I was also a 6th grade Latin teacher at a charter school in Arizona.

English

Studying Spanish really solidified my understanding of English. Grammar, sentence diagramming, reading comprehension, all of these are areas I enjoy tutoring.

ESL/ESOL

I am currently doing my practicum to become TEFL certified.

Geometry

I have tutored Geometry previously, helping a student raise her grade from a 'D' to an 'A'.

Grammar

Grammar is an important tool for everyone to have. It is not just applicable to students, but to working professionals as well. I have taught grammar to students ranging from the 6th grade to first year college courses.

Literature

My degree is in Spanish Literature. I learned to read and think critically about texts. I like to help my students comprehend the text and then think critically about it by discussing the text.

Proofreading

I have experience proofreading academic papers for high school and college students as well as proofreading content for websites and textbooks.

Spanish

My degree is in Spanish. As a second language learner, I have many experiences with what is and is not effective in my own education. I can apply this knowledge to help struggling students understand material that has proven difficult. My expertise is in grammar-based study, I do not usually teach using full immersion.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Emily

back to top

Education

Arizona State University (Spanish Literature)

Awesome Tutor Emily is so thorough and patient with our son. She does an incredible job and we are grateful to have her as a tutor. ...

— Spike from Sacaton, AZ on 5/2/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Group rates are available.

Travel policy

Emily will travel within 5 miles of Portland, OR 97232.

Email Emily

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Emily a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Emily or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.