Search 73,883 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Carol K.

Tutoring to help you strengthen your skills

Toledo, OH (43614)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Carol K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Carol K.

Carol K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Carol, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Thanks for considering me as a potential tutor for yourself or your child! As a past teacher, mom of two kids, and occasional homeschooler, I love working one on one with people, especially when there are unidentified roadblocks to learning. By the end of this academic year (2012-13), I will be finishing a two and a half year span of having a child at home, attending Ohio Virtual Academy online. He will be heading to high school, and with a fourth grader in school as well, I will be looking for additional opportunities to work with kids, and adults, on a variety of learning topics. I have a wide variety of interests, and believe wholeheartedly in the concept of lifelong learning.

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Education, and held certifications both in Early Childhood and Special Education/Learning Disabilities. I also have a Master of Arts in Early Childhood Administration. I taught both first and second grade, and was a Learning Disabilities Tutor in an elementary school. After five years, I moved on to positions that were more administrative in nature, as an Education Specialist and program auditor for Head Start, and licensing, reviewing, and training for public school preschool programs for the Ohio Department of Education.

Currently I am self employed, working in a variety of non-education related areas, and at home to supervise my son with his online schooling. My tutoring approach is mostly a problem-solving approach: often, roadblocks to learning exist but are unidentified. Figuring those out, and working past them to success, is an exciting process. Every student learns differently, so flexibility and creativity are key. I also have been diagnosed with ADD, and have a child with ADD, so I know firsthand the challenges associated with it. While the bulk of my professional work has been with kids ten and under, I love learners of all ages! I look forward to the possibility of working with you.

Email Carol

Carol’s subjects

Math:
Prealgebra
English:
Bible Studies, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Word
History:
Geography
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics
Business:
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), Handwriting, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking, Sewing
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

ADD/ADHD

I work with individuals with ADD/ADHD to develop strategies to succeed in school subjects. My background includes a Bachelor's degree in early childhood and special education, and I have worked as a learning disabilities tutor in an elementary public school setting. In addition, both I and one of my children have been diagnosed with ADD, so I have a first hand understanding of many of the challenges and benefits associated with it.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Bachelors and a Masters degree in Early Childhood education. I have held teacher certifications in K-3 and K-12 for Learning Disabilities. Most of my professional work has been with programs for children birth to 5. I also taught Elementary Education for five years. Overall, I would say that birth to age 8 is my strongest area.

Reading

I have been a first grade teacher, a second grade teacher, and a learning disabilities tutor. Working to identify problems with reading is probably my favorite thing to work on with students.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Carol

back to top

Education

Kent State University (Early Childhood SpEd)

Kent State University Kent, Ohio (MEd)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Carol will travel within 10 miles of Toledo, OH 43614.

Email Carol

Usually responds in about 16 hours

Send Carol a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Carol or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.