Search 74,317 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Susan S.

I Love to ignite a passion for learning!

Toledo, OH (43620)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Susan S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Susan S.

Susan S. passed a background check on 8/16/12. The check was ordered by Susan through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Susan, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi, my name is Susan.

My teaching background is varied and has given me a wide scope of experiences. This makes me flexible and able to adapt to the unique needs of the students I tutor. I have taught special needs students (including hearing impaired and those with mental and and emotional disabilities). I have also taught in regular and mainstream classrooms. In addition, I home schooled my two children through high school. This gave me the opportunity to serve as an educational consultant to over 300 home school families where I helped parents create a curriculum tailored to their child's unique needs.

I approach teaching by building a relationship with the student, finding out her or his interests, passions, and learning style. Then I create a path for learning that will ignite the interest of the student with a sense of curiosity and adventure. Parents are an important part of tutoring, and I am skilled at supporting parents as they help their child find success in the learning process.


As a classroom teacher, I taught elementary math, reading, spelling, history and science. I have been a remedial reading teacher, helping students to improve reading and comprehension skills. I tutored some of my students individually after school to help them catch up.

I invite you to contact me so we can explore ways to overcome the hurdles you face.

Email Susan

Susan’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Sign Language
Test Preparation:
TOEFL
Homeschool:
Special Needs:
Aspergers, Autism, Dyslexia, Hard Of Hearing, Phonics, Special Needs
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Sign Language, TOEFL
English:
Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary

Bible Studies

I have completed the Bethel Teacher training in Bible studies. In addition I have studied Berean courses and continuing studies for laity at a seminary in the Pittsburgh area.

Over the years, I have led adult Bible studies both by a chapter and as a thematic unit. I have also taught Bible studies to children in a variety of settings.

Some of my teaching experience was in a Christian Academy where Bible studies were an important part of the curriculum.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education and Special education. I earned this degree from Misericordia University in Pennsylvania.

I followed this with courses taken at the University of Virginia and a local community college in Pittsburgh, PA.

I have worked in a variety of classrooms as a teacher across the country. I have experience in both regular classrooms and Special Education as well.

For the last 15 years I have been an educational consultant to home-school families. My objective is to work with parents and their students finding strategies to create a positive outcome.

English

My experience teaching English includes traditional classroom settings, and volunteer tutoring.

I've also tutored English as a second language. While my children were growing, I hosted people from many different countries to help them improve English speaking skills and learn American manners and customs.

ESL/ESOL

I have experience working with adults who came to America to improve their understanding of the English language. Some of my students did not understand a word of the spoken language and others had minimal skills.

As an elementary classroom teacher, I helped children improve their language skills to accomplish class work and advance.

Hard Of Hearing

As a classroom teacher in Special Education, I often had children with hearing impairments. I took courses in sign language and was able to communicate with students and adults alike.

I was also hired by a junior high school while living in Maine to be a support teacher to a hearing impaired student who attended regular classes but needed additional assistance.

Not all students use sign language but I am comfortable establishing good communication in the manner at which the student is comfortable.


Reading

I am a certified elementary /special education teacher with both classroom and individual instruction experience.I have taught as a reading specialist, assisting students of various ages to improve reading and comprehension skills. I enjoy the challenge of finding the avenue that best fits an individual student. In tutoring , I am patient and strive to find the key that opens the door to success. I do this by remaining flexible and positive with a student until, together, we find the path that works for them.

Special Needs

I have experience as a Special Education teacher in the public school system. I have also been a house parent to clients who had severe physical and mental disabilities. I have written IEPs and I am comfortable implementing them.

As a classroom teacher, I also teamed with speech and physical therapists, providing follow through on programs written by them.

In home schooling, I was an educational consultant to families who had students with special needs as well.

I enjoy the challenge of finding ways to maximize each students potential.

Spelling

I have taught in elementary classrooms, both public and private. Spelling is one of the subjects that I would provide assistance to those students who needed extra help.

There are many ways to help a student with spelling other than memorizing from a book. Creating fun ways to improve this skill is something I enjoy doing.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Susan

back to top

Education

College Misericordia (elementary and sp.ed)

Unniversity Of Virginia (Graduate Coursework)

Community College of Allegheny County (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Susan will travel within 15 miles of Toledo, OH 43620.

Email Susan

Usually responds in about 22 hours

Send Susan a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Susan or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.