Search 74,225 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Anthony L.

Monk-like patience + extraordinary explanation skills

Oxford, OH (45056)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$28.00
Email Anthony L.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Anthony L.

Anthony L. passed a background check on 7/24/13. The check was ordered by Anthony through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Anthony, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have tutored my siblings for more than a decade. Through years of experience I have developed a lot of patience and very effective ways of explaining mathematics. Over the last two years I have also tutored at the University of Indianapolis. Many of my students say that I am the best tutor they've had and that I should become a teacher.

I love mathematics and my passion for the subject help my students get through their stressful assignments and study material. I like to have fun while tutoring and get to know my students. I prefer going through examples as I feel examples are the best method of learning mathematics.

I spend a lot of time thinking about mathematical concepts so that they are in their simplest form in my head. This way when I explain them to someone new to the subject they can very quickly begin to understand those processes and ideas.

I enjoy playing chess, solving the Rubik's cube, and playing the piano. I don't think my solitary hobbies have kept me from developing communication skills as I am very good at explaining technical ideas to non-technical people.

I am very friendly and I sincerely enjoy helping my students achieve their mathematical goals as well as gain valuable information in the subject. Please give me a chance to show you what I have to offer and you will not regret it!

Email Anthony

Anthony’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Chinese, ESL/ESOL, Statistics
Sports/Recreation:
Bodybuilding, Chess
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Science, ASVAB, GED, Praxis, SAT Math, SSAT
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Elementary (K-6th), ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Physics, Piano, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, Statistics, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Aspergers
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
Music:
Music Theory, Piano, Saxophone
Language:
Chinese, ESL/ESOL
Science:
ACT Science, Physics
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
ESL/ESOL, Reading

Chinese

My family is of Chinese origin and I have spoken Chinese all of my life. I went to Chinese church when I was in elementary school and they taught me how to read and write Chinese. In addition, I have taken Chinese courses at the high school and college level. I am completely fluent in Chinese and I speak it every day with my family.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored my siblings and cousins since they were in 2nd grade. Through years of tutoring, I have gained a lot of experience and a tremendous amount of patience. I've been a straight-A student most of my life and I am comfortable teaching all subject areas from K-6th and beyond.

Piano

I have taken piano lessons from a private tutor since I was 5 years old. Although I stopped taking private lessons upon the beginning of my college years, I have practiced piano 3-4 times a week as one of my most enjoyable hobbies. I have taught my cousins and brother how to play and have critiqued their pieces.

Praxis

My various experiences with test preparations have given me a strong foundation in regards to the PRAXIS content. Furthermore, I have seen first hand what kind of questions are asked and I am certain that I can tutor clients successfully on the test's content. I am mainly interested in the opportunity to work with clients on the mathematics portions of the test and my mathematical background far surpasses the knowledge needed for the test.

Saxophone

I have played Alto Saxophone since the beginning of the 6th grade. I started taking private lessons in 7th grade and that continued through my 4 years of high school. I have been 1st chair in all of the bands and jazz bands that I have played in. I have tutored my uncle on the alto saxophone and I am still playing the saxophone every Sunday for church.

Study Skills

I graduated from college with a 3.856/4.0 GPA. I do homework and study very quickly because I know how to be extremely efficient. My study skills are the best in the business. I specialize in memorization which is the most important factor in studying for grade school.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Anthony

back to top

Education

UNIVERSITY OF INDIANAPOLIS (Mathematics)

Great Tutor! Anthony was very patient and took time to review some things before diving deeper. We spent the majority of the first session walking through my skill set and brushing off some cobwebs. ...

— Donai from Indianapolis, IN on 6/22/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $28.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Anthony will travel within 20 miles of Oxford, OH 45056.

Email Anthony

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Anthony a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Anthony or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.