Search 74,229 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Jayne S.

Multi-Subject Tutor for children and adults in Bryan, OH

Bryan, OH (43506)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$20.00
Email Jayne S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Jayne S.

Jayne S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Jayne, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I enjoy working with and teaching children and adults. I have had experience subbing as well as teaching on all levels of parochial, private, and public schools in our county. Both my degrees are in education so I have a great knowledge of teaching techniques on many levels. I have taught the adult population on the ABLE, GED, and ESOL levels.

I use an approach in my teaching as to meeting the student's needs through many forms of learning. I am loyal to the students and have a lot of patience. My love of teaching shows throughout my work.

I have had successful tutoring experience over my thirty plus years of teaching. I have a lot of time to devote to students weekly. It is my hope that I can continue to help many students in many learning areas.

Email Jayne

Jayne’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Test Preparation:
Homeschool:
Business:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Language:
Science:
Nutrition, Psychology, Sociology
English:
Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary

ADD/ADHD

I have taken a college course in detecting children with ADHD and how to help them focus and complete their work. I have read books and other materials about teaching those with ADHD
I have tutored several ADHD students in their homes. I use materials that help the ADHD child focus better, and explain things simply so work gets completed.

Aspergers

Learning social skills through charts, activities, social worksheets, and field trips have been my experience working with Asperger students at our local Autistic school. My best friend has a son with Asperger's and I support their family through attending workshops and through this support he has successfully enrolled in college.

Autism

My experiences with autistic children are working one on one with them in an autistic school using social skill activities, worksheets, computer skills, and learning math through hands on activities. Students later could blend into regular school programs after learning these skills

Bible Studies

I am taking classes at my church to learn more about Bible Studies. I have taught Sunday School classes regularly for over 30 years and keep current in this area by taking workshops, getting certified in bible studies and by reading in this area.

Career Development

My work with career development was during a 12-year span of working with GED students and helping them write resumes, learn interview skills, and devise 5-year plans to be expanded involving potential careers. Our local career center also involved me in career training workshops.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a bachelor's and a master's in education. I have subbed in all elementary levels and classes in all the school systems private, parochial, and public in our county for five years.

ESL/ESOL

I have taught ESOL classes at Bryan Learning Center for two years I have taken ESOL testing workshop at Owens Community College, Toledo, Ohio to be certified to assess ESOL students. I can test them and prepare appropriate life skills, English skills, and worksheets for ESOL students.

General Music

Subbing for a year at a school in our county, I subbed for General Music classes and had every student in the whole school in this program each week. This included Pre-K through eighth which I got to teach singing, movement, learning notes, learning some music history, and preparing for school musicals.

Nutrition

I have taught lessons about nutritious meals as well as about health issues related to nutrition and basic menu planning. I have participated in Healthy Kids Day by teaching nutrition activities at the local Y. I have taught 4-H curriculum in nutrition in my county.

Phonics

I have taught phonics in all the schools in my county when I subbed for five years. We taught phonics through charts, and also by worksheets, and workbooks. I have taken many language arts workshops and also college classes that deal with phonics.

Religion

I have taught Sunday School and Bible School at my church for twenty eight years My children went to parochial school for nine years and I am familiar with their curriculum and how religion is taught. I take religion very seriously.

Saxophone

I can help children learn saxophone since I played it myself from 5th grade through 12th grade. I took private lessons and played in junior high and high school band. Students you can learn from me how to read notes and to learn basic music skills.

Social Studies

I majored in social studies for my bachelor's degree. I took many social studies and political science classes and workshops to teach this subject. When I subbed in the local county schools for five years I enjoyed subbing in the social studies classes

Sociology

I have taken numerous sociology classes in college. My experiences in subbing in the county high schools have helped me teach students about their society and the world they live.

Special Needs

I have worked with children in a local Autistic school. I am aware of the challenges that special needs children have. I have taken workshops in this area. I have patience, loyalty, and knowledge to help these children

Spelling

I have tutored many children throughout my teaching career in spelling. Success has been gained in helping children pass their pre and final spelling tests. I know spelling skills from having participated in many spelling bees in school.

Study Skills

When I taught in the GED, ABLE, and ESOL classrooms we had a lot of life skills and study skills workbooks and worksheets to use to help students become better students.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Jayne

back to top

Education

Adrian College (Social Sciences)

Siena Heights College (Master's)

Cleveland State University (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $20.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jayne will travel within 15 miles of Bryan, OH 43506.

Email Jayne

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Jayne a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jayne or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.