Search 72,557 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Magdalena K.

Yonkers, NY

$40/hr

ESL, Reading, Writing, Polish, Basic Computer

Usually responds in about 14 hours

ESL, Reading, Writing, Polish, Basic Computer

Message Magdalena

Send Magdalena a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Magdalena or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hello,

My name is Magdalena. I have been a tutor for many years, working for myself, as well as for Norwalk Community College in Norwalk, Connecticut. I am currently a Reading, ESL and Writing tutor at the Westchester Community College. The subjects I tutor are: ESL, writing, TOEFL, American Citizenship Test, and grammar.

I can also tutor older adults in basic computer skills, especially Word and email.
In my tutoring, I am open to individual needs and learning styles. At the beginning of our work together, I assess the student's level of comprehension and usually choose materials we will be working with, if not determined by student's school or particular needs. I also give a lot of homework, and expect it to be completed.

I like to work with people, and find various approaches to motivate my students. I believe every person is an individual and learns differently. I am open to suggestions, but at the same time, I know what strategies generally work better than others, and I ask the student to trust me in the process of learning.

The results depend on the commitment of the tutor, as well as the student. I do everything to provide positive learning experience, and in return, I expect completing all given assignments. Together we can achieve success. I have seen it many times in my career.

Testimonials

"Great Tutor and very pleasant personality"

- Emmanuel, Yonkers, NY on 1/7/13
Math:
Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Polish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL,
Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Polish,
Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ESL/ESOL

I have been an ESL tutor for over 20 years now, and I greatly enjoy it. I have experience with adults and children in a private setting, as well as college students in a formal environment. My extensive experience makes it possible to assess the needs and prepare individual program for each student, custom cut for his or her individual needs, learning style and level. I have a reputation of a thorough teacher, and if you take your work seriously, you will have long lasting results. Students usually feel very much at ease with me,and I guarantee a positive and pleasant experience.

Polish

I am a native of Poland who completed her Master's Degree in English Language at the University of Wroclaw, Poland. I specialize in Teaching.

By now I have spent half of my life in the United States, so I can truly say that I am a part of both worlds. I feel very comfortable and have over 20 years of experience teaching and tutoring various age groups and populations, including college students. I am currently employed by the Westchester Community College as a senior tutor and I greatly enjoy working with students from around the world, as well as Americans.

I consider myself a very creative and flexible person when it comes to conducting classes, but at the same time I require active participation from the student and completing all given assignments. (Yes, I do give homework!)

Throughout my years of teaching I have received much praise and numerous referrals. Actually, that is how I got most of my students. People usually feel very comfortable with me because I adjust the pace and activities to individual level and personality.

I love both countries: the USA and my native Poland. I am happy to help anyone who takes interest in my country's language and rich culture.

Great Tutor and very pleasant personality — This Friday was my first one-on-one encounter with my tutor Ms. Magdalena. I must sincerely confess that, before our meeting, I had a little reservation owing to the fact that Magdalena is originally Polish and I wasn't quite sure whether she would be able to help me overcome whatever difficulties I might have regarding spoken English. She completely allayed any fears I might have had before our 1 ...

— Emmanuel, Yonkers, NY on 1/7/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Magdalena will travel within 20 miles of Yonkers, NY 10703.


About Magdalena

Hello,

My name is Magdalena. I have been a tutor for many years, working for myself, as well as for Norwalk Community College in Norwalk, Connecticut. I am currently a Reading, ESL and Writing tutor at the Westchester Community College. The subjects I tutor are: ESL, writing, TOEFL, American Citizenship Test, and grammar.

I can also tutor older adults in basic computer skills, especially Word and email.
In my tutoring, I am open to individual needs and learning styles. At the beginning of our work together, I assess the student's level of comprehension and usually choose materials we will be working with, if not determined by student's school or particular needs. I also give a lot of homework, and expect it to be completed.

I like to work with people, and find various approaches to motivate my students. I believe every person is an individual and learns differently. I am open to suggestions, but at the same time, I know what strategies generally work better than others, and I ask the student to trust me in the process of learning.

The results depend on the commitment of the tutor, as well as the student. I do everything to provide positive learning experience, and in return, I expect completing all given assignments. Together we can achieve success. I have seen it many times in my career.

Testimonials

"Great Tutor and very pleasant personality"

- Emmanuel, Yonkers, NY on 1/7/13
}

Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Yonkers, NY 10703

Magdalena’s Subjects

Math:
Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Polish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL,
Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Polish,
Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Magdalena K.

Magdalena K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Magdalena, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.