Search 73,942 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Marissa H.

Patient and Experienced English Tutor!

Woodside, NY (11377)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Marissa H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Marissa H.

Marissa H. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Marissa, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Greetings! My name is Marissa H. Currently I'm in college pursuing a degree in English. I plan to immediately get my masters in General Education after I graduate in May 2014. I come from a family of teachers and am excited that I will become one soon! Currently I am working at a tutoring center in Manhattan as an assistant to the educational coordinator. Previously, I was tutoring students aged five to thirteen. I genuinely miss teaching and helping my students progress. I feel confident tutoring in the English field at any level! Specifically, I'm a great help with proofreading, spelling, grammar, literature, and writing. I use many creative techniques to help students remember key points in a visual and a verbal way. I also take pride in helping students in history and science. I have also administered test state practice tests and have seen vast improvements in my past students. I make learning seriously fun!

Email Marissa

Marissa’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Prealgebra
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th), English, Prealgebra, Reading, Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading

Ballet

I have danced since I was 5 years old. Growing up in my dance studio, I became close to the teachers and they saw potential in me to student teach. I would help choreograph, fix forms, and teach the terminology in ballet. In high school, I began dancing in different areas other than ballet. I've also accompanied my previous students on field trips to the ballet, to get more of a visual learning of ballet.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have experience with a tutoring center tutoring children aged 5 to 13. I have administered practice tests and helped make various subjects fun! I like using creative ways to help students remember key points in English, Math and Science. For younger students, I enjoyed using visual aids and singing songs to help them with their spelling and grammar. I was also trained using the Orton Gillingham method. I have plenty of materials and workbooks to help elementary aged students. I feel confident with tutoring K-6th because in my previous tutoring job, my students have dramatically better test scores than before starting sessions with them.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Marissa

back to top

Education

SUNY Empire State College (English)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Marissa will travel within 15 miles of Woodside, NY 11377.

Email Marissa

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Marissa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Marissa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.