Search 72,495 tutors

Joshua W.

English, Math, Biology, Anthropology, Geology, Astronomy

Woodside, NY (11377)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
Email Joshua W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Joshua W.

Joshua W. passed a background check on 2/18/14. The check was ordered by Joshua through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Joshua, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have experience tutoring elementary and high school age students in English and Math one-on-one in their home or the library through Champion Learning Center. I have a BA (3.8 GPA from Queens College) in Anthropology, concentrating in Physical Anthropology/Archaeology. This entailed gaining a strong Biology background, as well as geology. Additionally, I am well-versed in Astronomy.

I am passionate about my fields of expertise and education in general. I not only hope to help my students achieve academic success, but to get them excited about the world around them and motivated to keep learning.

Email Joshua

Joshua’s subjects

Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Probability
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Anatomy, Anthropology, Archaeology, Astronomy, Biology, Ecology, Genetics, Geology, Physical Science, Physics, Physiology, Psychology, Sociology
General Computer, Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
American History, Anthropology, Archaeology, Geography, Government & Politics, Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Physics, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading


I have BA in Anthropology (3.8 GPA from CUNY Queens College), and concentrated in Physical Anthropology/Archaeology. I was President of QC's Anthropology Society.


I have BA in Anthropology (3.8 GPA from CUNY Queens College), and concentrated in Physical Anthropology/Archaeology. I participated in a Paleolithic excavation in Armenia.


I graduated from Queens College in 2012 with BA in Biological Anthropology. Since then I've tutored elementary school students independently and through Champion Learning Center. I've been studying biology for years both in and out of school. Learning about the natural world is one of my greatest passions and I love sharing it with others. I show my students that biology (and science in general) is more than just abstract facts, but rather something they're a part of and affects them constantly.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a BA from Queens College (3.8 GPA). I have experience tutoring students in grades K-6 with Champion Learning Center. I helped my students develop their reading, writing, and math skills. Additionally, if time allowed, I would help them with other subjects (e.g. social studies), as well engaging them in other areas (such as astronomy) in order to get them more interested in learning.

Elementary Math

Since graduating from Queens College with a BA in Anthropology in 2012 I've tutored elementary school students in math (as well as other subjects) independently and through other agencies. As with other subjects, but especially with math, a lot of the time the problem is confidence. Math can be very daunting and it's easy for a kid to convince themselves they "can't" do it. I show my students that it's not as hard as they think, and that math is more like a language than a set of arbitrary facts.


I have a BA in Anthropology from Queens College (3.8 GPA). I have 2 years experience tutoring students in reading and writing, independently and with Champion Learning Center. I am a patient and understanding tutor, having struggled a young student as well. Reading is not something humans learn automatically (like speaking). It is an invented skill, and everyone learns it at their own pace. I try to get my students to feel comfortable and enjoy reading, and usually once they see that it can actually be fun they can't stop.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Joshua

back to top


CUNY Queens College

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Joshua will travel within 10 miles of Woodside, NY 11377.

Email Joshua

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Joshua a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Joshua or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.