Search 72,412 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Andrea C.

Experienced, Enthusiastic English, French, Math, Writing Tutor

Troy, NY (12180)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Andrea C.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Andrea C.

Andrea C. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Andrea, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I’ve long enjoyed the thrill of explaining something and seeing understanding dawn on the other person’s face. I have more than 8 years' tutoring experience in the U.S. and France in a wide variety of subjects. I began formally tutoring in high school as part of my National Honor Society service, and I’ve been tutoring in some capacity ever since: while at Williams College, I worked part-time as an elementary school classroom aide, focusing on math and science; when I spent my junior year abroad in Aix-en-Provence, France, I volunteered twice a week at a local cultural center, providing after-school help in (of course) English, but soon math, French, and history as well; and my first job out of college was as a teaching assistant in English at a high school in Caen, France. While living there, I also tutored English part-time. Since then, I’ve informally tutored English and French comprehension, grammar, and pronunciation.

I graduated number one in my high school class, earning a combined 2280 on the new SAT, and I graduated cum laude from Williams College in 2010 with a major in art and a minor in French. While there, I took full advantage of Williams’s high-quality liberal arts offerings, taking classes in a variety of other disciplines, including linear algebra, three semesters of major-track physics, and introductory computer science, as well as playing trombone in the student jazz ensemble, student symphony, and several other ensembles.

I’ve always enjoyed learning, and I strive to inspire that same love in all my students. I look forward to working with you!

Email Andrea

Andrea’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
French, TOEFL
Art:
Art History, Drawing, Painting
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, English, French, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, PSAT, Regents, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
French, Grammar, Proofreading

Drawing

A lifelong artist, I hold a B.A. in studio art from Williams College. Drawing 101 and Drawing 102 honed my understanding of basic drawing concepts and practices as well as exposing me to new mediums and formats. My senior project which received an A- and was exhibited at the Williams College Museum of Art, was a handmade artist's book of pen and ink drawings. I have continued to keep a sketchbook since graduation.

Elementary Math

During my freshman, sophomore, and senior years at Williams College, I worked part-time as an elementary school classroom aide, focusing on math and science. I helped dozens of students with their multiplication tables, long division, and other math skills. During my junior year, which I spent in the south of France, I volunteered twice weekly as an after-school homework tutor for French students ranging in age from 6 to 14. I worked with students on a variety of subjects, including math. A particularly memorable experience was explaining to a sixth-grader, in French, how to calculate the volume of a sphere.

English

I have extensive experience tutoring and teaching English to both native and non-native speakers.

English was always one of my favorite school subjects, and throughout high school and college, I formed study groups with friends, discussing literature and writing assignments.

I spent a year in Caen, France, working as a high-school English Language Teaching Assistant through the TAPIF program, working with more than 100 high school students on conversation skills and listening comprehension. While there, I also privately tutored English (including grammar, vocabulary, reading comprehension, and written and oral expression) to several students ranging in age from 11 to 21.

I have also participated in several one-on-one conversation exchanges (an hour of English conversation followed by an hour of French conversation).

French

I have long been passionate about French language and culture. I am completely fluent in French. In high school, I received a 5 on the AP French exam; in college, I minored in French and spent my junior year abroad in Aix-en-Provence, France, where I took a full course load at the Université de Provence and actively immersed myself in the local culture, joining the community band and volunteering as an after-school homework help tutor for local elementary and middle school students. This total immersion helped me achieve fluency by the end of the year.

My first position after college was in Caen, France, as an English-language Teaching Assistant through the TAPIF program. Again, I fully immersed myself in the community, joining a local wind ensemble, taking lessons at the town music conservatory, and befriending university students.

Since returning to the U.S., I have maintained my language skills by regularly reading and writing in French, by joining the local chapter of the Alliance Française, and by participating in other Francophone community events, such as conversation meetups and French-language film screenings.

Painting

I have extensive experience working in acrylic, oils, pen and ink, and watercolor. At Williams College, I studied oil painting with Laylah Ali, a great artist and a great teacher who pushes her students past their comfort zone (in one memorable assignment, we had one week to create forty paintings). I had never used oils before that course; by the end of the semester, I loved them.

Regents

I graduated from high school with a New York State Regents Diploma with Honors. I achieved scores of Mastery--including several perfect scores--on all Regents exams I took.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Andrea

back to top

Education

Williams College (Art)

New York University (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

CANCELLATION POLICY: First cancellation: free. All additional cancellations: <24 hours' notice = 1/2 price. <12 hours' notice = full price.

Travel policy

Andrea will travel within 10 miles of Troy, NY 12180.

Email Andrea

Usually responds in about 11 hours

Send Andrea a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Andrea or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.