Search 74,313 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Ian B.

Physics and Higher Maths Tutor

New York, NY (10032)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Ian B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Ian B.

Ian B. passed a background check on 12/13/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Ian, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi,

My name is Ian B. and I am a recent medical physics graduate from Columbia University. For those unfamiliar, a medical physicist calculates radiation information for cancer treatments. Prior to Columbia I taught high school math in DC and middle school astronomy here in Phoenix. My undergraduate degree was in physics and I spent all of those 4 years lab assisting and tutoring the intro physics students. So, I am very familiar with the hang-ups that stymie most new physics students. I do not have a particular tutoring method, since every student is different and usually trying to hold to a method would just waste both my and my student's time. I am constantly swirling in a world of physics and would love to pass on my knowledge to you.

Ian

Email Ian

Ian’s subjects

Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
Homeschool:
Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Physics, SAT Math
Music:
Science:
Anatomy, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Physics

Anatomy

I have a Master's degree in Medical physics which involves knowing the anatomy of the body so that I can contour organs from CT, MRI or PET scans. I have taken a full body anatomy course and know from the professor that anatomy is all about sheer memorization practices.

Astronomy

As a part of my physics undergraduate degree I took a small bit of astronomy. I also was the lab assistant for the intro level astronomy class; this involved setting up the long range telescope and running tutoring sessions.

Calculus

I spent a half year at a charter school in Washington, DC teaching an AP calculus class. I also am a physics major which applies calculus regularly.

Differential Equations

I am a physics major from undergrad and was required to take both Ordinary Differential Equations and Partial Differential Equations; I got an A- and A, respectively. I have continued to use my differential equation knowledge in my Master's program of Medical Radiation Physics.

Flute

I have played Flute since 5th grade when I was 11 years old. I played with school bands through to my freshman year of college. I continued to take private lessons until my senior year of college when my thesis project absorbed all my time. Though I do not play with any groups today I have kept up recreationally and would be very happy to teach someone beginner->intermediate flute.

Linear Algebra

My undergraduate degree was in Physics and I took a heavy selection of math. Here are the courses I took with their associated grade (I can send a transcript for verification): Linear Algebra (A), Ordinary Differential Equations (A-), Partial Differential Equations (A), and Functions of a complex variable (B). Since it has been a few years since undergrad I would not feel too comfortable teaching PDEs, but I can definitely teach Linear Algebra since I still use that in my medical physics work.

Physics

Physics is my undergraduate degree and also a part of my master's program in radiation physics.

SAT Math

I have tutored SAT Math a few times. I got a 770 on the SAT Math and a 780 on the SAT2 Math. The only reason I did not get a perfect score on the SAT Math was that I flipped a ratio of a/b to b/a in my head and circled the wrong answer!

Soccer

I started playing soccer at age 8 and played simultaneously with school and club teams through to the end of high school. For 3 years I attended an annual English soccer camp in Flagstaff and not only did I become better, but I was able to watch professionals teach and learn the type of drills that are good for teaching soccer.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Ian

back to top

Education

Carleton College (Physics)

Columbia University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

I only charge $50 for the first few lessons. if you become a regular student of mine i will drop the rate to $40 or even $35 if necessary.

Travel policy

Ian will travel within 15 miles of New York, NY 10032.

Email Ian

Usually responds in about 2 hours

Send Ian a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Ian or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.