Search 75,749 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Chris S.

Ivy League Physical Science and Math Tutor

New York, NY (10012)

Travel radius
3 miles
Hourly fee
$100.00
Email Chris S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Chris S.

Chris S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Chris, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Through my experience tutoring, I have developed some specific methods for teaching my students and making them feel comfortable with the material. This seems to be very effective in both high-school and college level courses. I mostly tutor around problems in the subject area, such as homework problems, where I work with students in solving the problems. I also provide a specific methodology to solve each type of problem, making the students much more comfortable in solving similar problems in the future.

I also implement checks for the student to use while performing problems to make sure they are on the right track and that the answer makes sense. This is based off of conceptual understanding of the material, which I teach while solving the problems. I make sure students have a core understanding of the material, making problem solving and checking much more efficient.

My tutoring philosophy is that there is a relationship between tutor and student beyond just finishing homework problems. I make myself available to my students beyond the regular tutoring sessions to help them with the material and their homework as much as possible. This also involves working longer with students in tutoring sessions as needed; I do not end a tutoring session at the set end time if there is still more material to cover or we are in the middle of a problem. I also make my schedule rather flexible for my students for scheduling and rescheduling sessions.

I spend as much time as necessary to prepare for tutoring sessions in the material that will be covered. Therefore, it is helpful to have expected subjects to be discussed before a given session. Higher level college courses, beyond intro level courses, require a significant amount of preparation, therefore I charge more for these courses. This can range from $70-100/hr depending on the course and a set rate will be discussed before lessons begin.

As for personal information, I am currently working on my Doctoral Degree in Applied Physics at Columbia University. I have experience in tutoring many subjects including physics, calculus, mathematics, chemistry, statistics, biochemistry, and biology. This includes 3 years of private tutoring experience at the college and high school level during my undergraduate career.

I studied chemistry and biochemistry as an undergraduate, giving a broad range of knowledge and experience in the sciences and mathematics.

As a graduate student, I worked as a teaching assistant in undergraduate and graduate level science classes; helping students learn the material from a fundamental level. This experience helps in my private tutoring skills.

Email Chris

Chris’s subjects

Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Science, GRE, Regents, SAT Math
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
Business:
GRE
Science:
ACT Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Physical Science, Physics
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry

Differential Equations

I am currently a graduate student in applied physics, which requires me to analyze differential equations on a regular basis. I have taken differential equations, partial differential equations, and higher level classes. I am currently a grader for an introduction to differential equations. Although never been paid for tutoring in this subject, I have helped students learn the material when I was an undergraduate.

Linear Algebra

I am currently a graduate student in applied physics, which requires me use linear algebra on a regular basis. I have taken linear algebra and higher level classes. I am currently a grader for an introduction to a linear algebra course. Although never been paid for tutoring in this subject, I have helped students learn the material when I was an undergraduate.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Chris

back to top

Education

Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo CA (Chemistry)

Columbia University Department of Applied Physics (PhD)

Wonderful tutor Chris is a top-notch tutor, and I recommend him highly. He is very professional and personable, and extremely knowledgeable. He is honest and answers all emails quickly. He is tutoring my son (a 10th grader) in chemistry. My son loves working with Chris, and says that Chris presents the material in ways that make it not only easier to understand but also exciting and inspiring! Chris is also a ...

— Arabella from New York, NY on 4/20/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $100.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Chris will travel within 3 miles of New York, NY 10026.

Email Chris

Send Chris a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Chris or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.