Search 72,400 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Orin D.

Professor and researcher with 17 years of experience

New York, NY (10024)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$65.00
Email Orin D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Orin D.

Orin D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Orin, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

With over 17 years of tutoring experience, I have worked with students from elementary school through college, keeping them engaged and learning with analogies that relate the material to things they deal with on a day-to-day basis.

Ever wondered how electron behavior matches the popularity contests you find in high school or how to improve your vocabulary by posting on Facebook?

I help my students to develop a love of learning by enabling them to think critically about the material, develop their confidence, and learn to adapt the material to their strengths in a way that is engaging, accessible, and even fun.

Email Orin

Orin’s subjects

Math:
Calculus, Geometry, Precalculus, SAT Math, SPSS, Statistics
English:
Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
MATLAB, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, SPSS
Language:
Hebrew, Spanish
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Vocabulary
Business:
Career Development, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Calculus, Chemistry, English, Geometry, Precalculus, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Statistics, Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development, College Counseling, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
Career Development, College Counseling, Grammar, Hebrew, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish, SPSS, Statistics

Ballroom Dancing

I have been a ballroom dance instructor (primarily swing and blues) for the last nine years, teaching at multiple college campuses, including Brandeis and MIT.

Bible Studies

All 13 of my pre-college years were in a parochial school, and I have continued to study Bible every single year. I also have a year of experience tutoring Bible at the elementary school level, and am consistently asked to give the homily (which I do several times each year).

I am fluent in Hebrew, and all of the aforementioned Bible courses were taught in Hebrew, and included most major commentaries, including ancient and modern Jewish (Rashi, Sarna) and Christian (e.g., Luther, Eliade) commentators/scholars.

Biostatistics

I spent several years as a statistician on research projects at Massachusetts General Hospital, working on genetics and neurology projects. I have 10 years of experience as a data analyst and statistician across seven different laboratories.

Career Development

My doctorate is in organizational behavior and positive psychology, and I have spent a number of years studying how people flourish and use their capabilities in an organizational setting. I have spent many years advising students on career choices, and do so professionally as a coach.

Chemistry

Originally a chemistry major, I love the subject and spent many years as a chemistry tutor, working with students at both the high school and college levels.

College Counseling

I have been an alumni interviewer for my alma mater for about 10 years. I have also worked for a test-prep company for the last two years doing college and graduate school counseling. This has involved choosing schools, reading/editing personal statements, fixing resumes, and helping students articulate their reasons for a graduate career.

Hebrew

I have been studying the language formally since I was 5. I took coursework in Hebrew literature in college, and use Hebrew on a daily basis.

MATLAB

I spent many years formally studying MATLAB in college, as it was the backbone of my coursework in computational neurosicence. I used it extensively in my research, and continue to use it on occasion when complex analyses arise.

Psychology

I have a Ph.D. in psychology (research-based, non-clinical), and have been teaching at the college level for several years. My specialties are introductory psychology, cognitive science, social psychology, and organizational behavior.

SPSS

As a psychology professor, I have used SPSS extensively in my research over the last 10 years, and I have taught courses in statistics and research methods that focus on SPSS.

Statistics

I have tutored and taught statistics for several years, and strive to make the subject comprehensible, clear, and interesting. I love statistics and enjoy helping people master the subject.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Orin

back to top

Education

Brandeis University

Claremont Graduate University (PhD)

An engaging professional — He is passionate about the subjects he teaches and is a very good teacher. He is like an audible textbook speaking in laments terms. So he makes the material very easy to understand. Orin, your great! Thanks! ...

— Abdullah, Boston, MA on 4/10/12

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $65.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Orin will travel within 10 miles of New York, NY 10024.

Email Orin

Usually responds in about 5 hours

Send Orin a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Orin or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.