Search 72,417 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Daniel R.

New York, NY

$55/hr

ESL, English Language and Literature, History, Politics, Soccer Tutor

Background check passed as of 8/20/14
Usually responds in about 18 hours

ESL, English Language and Literature, History, Politics, Soccer Tutor

Message Daniel

Send Daniel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Daniel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hello,

I'm Daniel, a 30-year old English tutor from England, married to my American wife and recently a resident in New York City.

TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language)-accredited, I spent last year working as an English Language Teacher in southern China at a specialist English school, teaching a range of ages and abilities from complete beginners to near-fluent, advanced students. I gave one-on-one tutorials, web-seminars, business English lessons and weekly lectures on language points. Prior to college, I also spent 6 months teaching in a high school in northern Thailand.

I have a first-class (equivalent GPA 4.0/4.0) Bachelors degree in Politics & Modern History from the University of Manchester (ranked 11th in Europe) and a Masters degree in International Public Policy from University College London (ranked 5th in Europe), so I am also able to provide tuition in the fields of history and politics. I also have A-levels (end of UK high school exams) in English Literature, Politics and German.

I'm also a qualified soccer coach with the USSF "E" License and I'm currently teaching elementary school children in East Harlem.

If you or someone you know would like to be tutored by a friendly, experienced and enthusiastic British tutor, please don't hesitate to contact me through WyzAnt.

Best wishes,
Daniel

Testimonials

"Great teacher!"

- LUIS, New York, NY on 8/26/14
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature,
Proofreading,
Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL,
Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL,
Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Chess,
Soccer
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Chess

I was President of my university chess team, and I have been playing for over 20 years. I am able to teach beginners as well as strategies and tactics for a little more advanced players. I have been teaching two boys aged 6 and 7 since March 2012 at the Toy Museum Chess Club in Brooklyn.

ESL/ESOL

I taught English as a Second Language (ESL) to students in Xiamen, China, throughout 2011. Abilities ranged from complete beginners to advanced, near-fluency and from kindergarten age to middle-aged learners. I taught in a high school and in specialist language colleges.
I also taught in a high school in Khon Kaen, northern Thailand for 6 months prior to college.
I am TEFL-qualified (Teaching English as a Foreign Language).

Literature

I have a British A-Level in English Literature and I read as widely as possible. Amongst my favorite authors are Shakespeare, Nabakov, Melville and Joyce. I am also an avid collector of the Penguin Twentieth Century Classics.

Proofreading

My regular job is writing and editing letters addressed to corporate and government entities. I perform this function daily and a large part of this involves high-level proofreading of others' drafts. I have also edited several students' college application letters in previous years.

Soccer

I am a qualified Soccer Coach with USSF "E" License. I currently teach in schools. I have been playing soccer for 20 years, up to college level (in England). I can teach all physical and tactical aspects of game. I have taken class of girls and ran a one-day soccer training camp for schoolchildren in China.

TOEFL

I am currently preparing Chinese students who are due to take the TOEFL exam, with tailored coaching for the Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking sections.

Writing

Educated to Masters level, I have written dozens of short and long essays during my college years, all scoring in the range of 3.5-4.0 GPA. My undergraduate dissertation of 15,000 words looked at United Nations Humanitarian Intervention. My Masters thesis was a 15,000 word paper on Israeli nuclear strategy.

University of Manchester (UK)
Politics and History
UCL (UK)
Master's

Education

University of Manchester (UK) (Politics and History)

UCL (UK) (Master's)

Great teacher! — Thanks Daniel for your help and your patience. He is a good and recommendable teacher. I enjoyed our class, and I will continue with classes. ...

— LUIS, New York, NY on 8/26/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $55.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Daniel will travel within 2 miles of New York, NY 10128.


About Daniel

Hello,

I'm Daniel, a 30-year old English tutor from England, married to my American wife and recently a resident in New York City.

TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language)-accredited, I spent last year working as an English Language Teacher in southern China at a specialist English school, teaching a range of ages and abilities from complete beginners to near-fluent, advanced students. I gave one-on-one tutorials, web-seminars, business English lessons and weekly lectures on language points. Prior to college, I also spent 6 months teaching in a high school in northern Thailand.

I have a first-class (equivalent GPA 4.0/4.0) Bachelors degree in Politics & Modern History from the University of Manchester (ranked 11th in Europe) and a Masters degree in International Public Policy from University College London (ranked 5th in Europe), so I am also able to provide tuition in the fields of history and politics. I also have A-levels (end of UK high school exams) in English Literature, Politics and German.

I'm also a qualified soccer coach with the USSF "E" License and I'm currently teaching elementary school children in East Harlem.

If you or someone you know would like to be tutored by a friendly, experienced and enthusiastic British tutor, please don't hesitate to contact me through WyzAnt.

Best wishes,
Daniel

Testimonials

"Great teacher!"

- LUIS, New York, NY on 8/26/14

Education

University of Manchester (UK)
Politics and History
UCL (UK)
Master's

Education

University of Manchester (UK) (Politics and History)

UCL (UK) (Master's)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 2 miles of New York, NY 10128

Daniel’s Subjects

English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature,
Proofreading,
Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL,
Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL,
Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Chess,
Soccer
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Daniel R.

Daniel R. passed a background check on 8/20/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Daniel, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.