Search 73,321 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Michael T.

Experienced, Reliable (and Cheapest in Manhattan!) Ivy League Tutor

New York, NY (10002)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Michael T.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Michael T.

Michael T. passed a background check on 12/4/11. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Michael, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I guarantee the lowest price of any Manhattan Ivy League graduate on WyzAnt, and I am willing to travel throughout the NYC area. If there is an Ivy League tutor who is charging a lower price in your subject, I will match that price.

Hello students and parents,

My name is Michael and I am a recent graduate of Cornell University. I earned my bachelor's degree in science and technology studies, but I spent a good portion of my college career studying music and theater. In high school, I graduated with top honors, received an advanced regents diploma, and was valedictorian of my class.

I have worked with students in a variety of settings: private tutoring, classrooms, and summer camps. I have taught all kinds of students: gifted, foster, and developmentally/psychologically challenged children. I am interested in tutoring and encouraging students who are willing to work hard and stay dedicated to their studies. I am available to tutor students of all grade levels (K through college) and all skill levels.

I can tutor all basic subjects: English language arts, math, sciences, history, and music. I am also able to provide test preparation for both the SAT and the regents examinations: physics, geometry, integrated algebra, algebra II/trigonometry, English, U.S history.

I will provide a foundation for learning by teaching them study skills, organization, and fostering an excitement for learning.

Finally, I am available to teach beginning music lessons for children and adults. I play guitar, harmonica, ukelele and piano.

I look forward to hearing from you, and please do not hesitate to contact me with questions!

Email Michael

Michael’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Sociology
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Language:
Spanish
History:
American History, European History, Government & Politics, Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
College Counseling, COOP/HSPT, GED, GRE, PSAT, Regents, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
College Counseling, General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Spanish, Statistics

Baseball

I have been playing baseball all of my life. Up until high school, I played on a variety of little league baseball and softball teams. In my younger career, I played the position of catcher, but later moved to third base and first base.

During high school, I played for La Salle's Junior Varsity Team. I have continued to play baseball and softball on a regular basis, and have joined a few competitive softball teams over the years.

Basketball

I play basketball mainly as a form of exercise and local competition. I am primarily a point or shooting guard during games. During the summers, I work at a camp where I help facilitate basketball skills contests and tournaments, as well as teaching campers the basics of playing basketball.

College Counseling

I have provided all of my college bound students with college selection advice, application help, essay help and editing, and preparation for the SAT. I have a great deal of knowledge of universities and their programs, especially universities in New York State (including CUNY/SUNY, Ivy League, Private Universities).

COOP/HSPT

When I was in junior high school, I attained near perfect scores on the COOP exam. I continue to study these exams in order to help tutor students in getting into Catholic High Schools and receiving scholarships based on their scores.

Ear Training

I have been singing for approximately 20 years of my life. I use a variety of instruments including guitar, piano, and harmonica, in order to train my own ear. I am particularly strong with developing and teaching melody and harmony. Furthermore, I am in a glee club where we are encouraged to ear train and learn music by ear.

Elementary (K-6th)

Much of my teaching/counseling experience comes from my positions working with 3rd-6th graders in a variety of settings. I have worked as a theater teaching artist in public schools, worked as a counselor/guitar instructor at summer camps, and have privately tutored over 50 students in this age range.

General Music

My music background is very extensive, mainly as a result of my wide range of musical experiences. The following is a general list of my musical career:

Instruments: Harmonica,Guitar- playing for approximately 14 years

Voice: Singing for approximately 20 years.
Elementary school: Catholic school choirs
Junior High School: Music clubs (vocal)
High School: Performed musicals, plays with singing, etc.
College: Melodramatics Theater Company- 8 semesters as a performer/member.
Post College: Down Town Glee Club, Blue Hill Troupe, Guitar Instructor at Camp Felix

Guitar

My musical experience has enabled me to dabble in a variety of music and songwriting, including rock and roll, Motown, blues, jazz vocals and instrumentals, light opera/operetta, Gilbert and Sullivan, American Musical Theater, etc.

Logic

As part of the Regents curriculum, I have studied basic math logic as it relates to geometry, word logic, etc.

Microsoft Publisher

During my college career, I worked as an Administrative Assistant for a dormitory where I was expected to create posters and designs for programs and events. I used Publisher and Powerpoint very extensively in order to create lively and exciting advertisements that would encourage students to participate in said events.

Microsoft Windows

I have been a PC user for all my life. I have also been in charge of dealing with issues as they relate to PC troubleshooting and analysis. Both at home and at various jobs, Microsoft Windows has been the standard computing system. I have experience setting up and updating Microsoft computers, solving virus and spyware issues, and using a variety of the Microsoft programs (Internet Explorer, Microsoft Office, etc.).

Phonics

I have a great deal of experience teaching elementary students basic concepts of grammar and phonics. During my experience working with a tutoring company called the Learning Shop, I tutored several students in elementary grade levels. Our tutoring sessions focused on phonics, spelling, and basic grammar. With my experience at Champion Learning, another tutoring company, we are given books with Phonics curriculum for younger students, which I have studied extensively and have tutored to younger students.

Public Speaking

Aside from taking Public Speaking in college, I have performed over 30 shows and concerts in which I have had to speak, sing, and perform in front of live audiences ranging from 100-500.

Regents

I work for Champion Learning, which focuses specifically on training and teaching students material geared toward passing the NYS Regents exams.

I also passed all of my Regents with scores no lower than 85 and received an Advanced Regents Diploma. I continue to study/teach Regents material to my students.

Social Studies

Much of my tutoring involves studying and teaching Social studies to elementary level students. I do not have any particular certification, but I have a lot of experience teaching basic social studies to students over the years.

Sociology

My undergraduate degree is in Science and Technology Studies, which is a social science and covers a great deal of sociological theory and research.

Songwriting

My musical experience has enabled me to dabble in a variety of music and songwriting, including rock and roll, Motown, blues, jazz vocals and instrumentals, light opera/operetta, Gilbert and Sullivan, American Musical Theater, etc.

Study Skills

As part of my general experience with tutoring and teaching, I have developed curriculum and techniques to help students stay on track with their studies. These techniques have in part been developed in conjunction with trainings I've had with my previous positions. For example, I am trained in Therapeutic Crisis Intervention, which enables me to deal with a student who is struggling with conflict and difficulty.

Voice (Music)

My musical experience has enabled me to dabble in a variety of music and songwriting, including rock and roll, Motown, blues, jazz vocals and instrumentals, light opera/operetta, Gilbert and Sullivan, American Musical Theater, etc.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Michael

back to top

Education

Cornell University

Excellent Tutor! Mike is wonderful. He is extremely patient and has a unique ability to work with quiet students by getting them to speak and answer questions. He is also the best value for the service provided in the NYC area on Wyzant. Highly recommend!!! ...

— Jake from New York, NY on 2/15/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

One of the cheapest high quality Ivy League tutors on WyzAnt! Group and discount rates available, as well... please contact me for more information!

Travel policy

Michael will travel within 10 miles of New York, NY 10002.

Email Michael

Usually responds in about 17 hours

Send Michael a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Michael or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.