Search 72,453 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Michael S.

Professor Mike: English composition, Spanish, Translation

Brooklyn, NY (11215)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$55.00
Email Michael S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Michael S.

Michael S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Michael, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello there! Over the past few years I've been teaching various forms of English Composition at a few colleges in the New York/ New Jersey area. I am also a fluent Spanish speaker (my first language) and have worked one on one with musicians, school-age students, and those seeking help within their profession.

If you are looking for an English tutor, whether it be ESL, grammar, composition, proofreading, or even creative writing, I got you covered!

If you are looking to learn basic, intermediate, or conversational Spanish, I'm your tutor!

PS- I'm also available for English/Spanish translation (and vice versa).

Email Michael

Michael’s subjects

English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Business:
GRE, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish, Writing
Test Preparation:
GRE, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Spanish

Basketball

I have played competitive basketball from junior high school to Division III College and have experience coaching teams in youth leagues (YMCA, PAL), as well as coaching individuals who want to improve their game. During my time playing in college, I was HVAC All Conference Team and won the "Coach's Award."

Whether playing competitively or just for fun, having the proper fundamentals (footwork, form, spacing) will help maximize your talent and/or strengths, so you can get to the hoop.

ESL/ESOL

I have worked for around 10 years with students who are looking to improve their English at all levels, from complete beginners to college students, and working adults as well. Spanish is my first language, so that proves to be an advantage when tutoring native Spanish speakers who want to learn English, as most of my experience is with native Spanish speakers who want to learn English, as well as with Korean students. I have worked both on my own as a freelance tutor and as a part-time tutor for Bloomfield College in New Jersey tutoring ESL, English, Composition, and academic writing.

Reading

Over the past 4 years I have taught freshman and sophomore level English and Composition courses at Bloomfield college. Reading is at the heart of everything I teach. It important to have a firm understanding of what a text is about, but it is more important to be able analyze and interpret what we read. As a teacher and tutor I also have experience helping school-age students improve their reading skills, as I've volunteered as a teacher at several school in NY (Washington Irving, Marta Valle), and I have experience with younger students as well, as I've worked as an after school site director for the YMCA in Texas for four years.

Spanish

Spanish was my first language, but having been educated in public schools here in the U.S., I grew up essentially speaking both. Spanish at home and English everywhere else.

I also studied Spanish at the University of North Texas, with an emphasis on Latin American Literature, and am frequently in Latin America on trips visiting family or vacation. So I would also say that my Spanish is pretty current.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Michael

back to top

Education

University of North Texas

Sarah Lawrance College (Master's)

All Good — I got on well with Michael. I wanted informal conversational lessons, and he gave what I asked. I asked him to be more critical of my mispronunciations and he stepped that up. I'd see him again if I was still in the area. ...

— Adam, Brooklyn, NY on 10/3/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $55.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Michael will travel within 15 miles of Brooklyn, NY 11215.

Email Michael

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Michael a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Michael or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.