Search 75,070 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Sharon H.

College literature student seeking tutor opportunities

Bronxville, NY (10708)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Sharon H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sharon H.

Sharon H. passed a background check on 2/4/13. The check was ordered by Sharon through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Sharon, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I'm a grad student in education at Sarah Lawrence College, where as an undergraduate I studied literature, languages, and studio art (among other things). I am going to be a teacher, so tutoring is an ideal sort of job for me. I can be especially helpful with English or literature subjects, as that is my area of interest - I've always loved to read, which is the best way to learn about language. I'm also studying French and Spanish, so I can help with other languages as well.

I have a lot of experience working with kids, from babysitting to volunteering at a special-needs camp to running an enrichment program in college. It's one of my favorite things to do - to know people and help them learn - and I intend to keep doing it, how and when I can.

Email Sharon

Sharon’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish, Writing
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Music:
History:
American History
Language:
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

Aspergers

I volunteered for part of each of five summers when I was in highschool at a camp for kids with disabilities. Doing that regularly gave me a real sense of how various disabilities affect kids and how to deal with that. In addition, my sister has nonverbal learning disorder - which is, according to some researchers, a category of Asperger's, but regardless is very similar in many aspects.

Drawing

I have been drawing for all of my life. I have a fair amount of technical skill and can work with a variety of media. More importantly, I love to draw, and am looking forward to working with students who love to draw as well.
I've been taking classes in drawing every year since middle school, and have taken several classes in college as well. I also practice outside of academic settings, and draw in day-to-day life regularly.

Elementary (K-6th)

At school, I run an enrichment program that meets every Saturday with a group of k-5th children. The program is designed around building and fostering a love of learning, and in approaching education for a different angle. It's one of the best things I am or have been involved with and I would love the opportunity to do more work like this. In addition, I feel that it gives me the experience, knowledge, and understanding I need to do that work.

English

One of the best ways to learn your way around a language is by reading, and I've been reading a lot for as long as I can remember. I love the English language and would love the chance to teach what I know to someone else.

Grammar

One of the reasons I've always wanted to be a teacher in English or literature is because I really like grammar. I know that's weird (it was weirder when I was 13) but enjoying proofreading and editing is a really useful sort of quirk, in my opinion.

Literature

I've been reading a lot for as long as I can remember. One of the things I want to be when I grow up (there are a few, but this is the strongest) is to be a literature professor. If I could spend the rest of my life talking and writing and reading about books, it would be happily spent.

Painting

In school I am concentrating in literature and studio art. I've always been an artist, and in college I have taken several drawing and painting classes.

Proofreading

I really enjoy proofreading and editing, and having been a voracious reader forever I have a really good grasp on clear, concise writing. I can edit for typos, grammar mistakes, awkward phrasing, or whatever else. This semester I'm taking a writing class, so I'm going to be really used to it as well.

Salsa Dancing

I recently returned from studying abroad for a semester (four months) in Cuba, which is the birthplace of salsa. I took several lessons and went out dancing often enough that - while I can't move like a Cuban - I am familiar with the steps, rhythms, and movements of salsa.

Spanish

I've been studying Spanish for several years, and recently came back from studying abroad in a Spanish-speaking country for four months. I'm currently in an Advanced Spanish class in school.

Vocabulary

I've been reading a lot forever, and I've always had an extensive vocabulary as a result. My brain works in words, whether in learning another language or figuring out my way around this one. Words seem to accumulate in my head, which is useful.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Sharon

back to top

Education

Sarah Lawrence College

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sharon will travel within 10 miles of Bronxville, NY 10708.

Email Sharon

Usually responds in about 15 hours

Send Sharon a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sharon or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.