Search 74,327 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Hollie L.

Math/Music/GRE/SAT/All Sorts of Tutoring with Hollie

Taos, NM (87571)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Hollie L.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Hollie L.

Hollie L. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Hollie, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been a teacher/tutor for about 10 years now. In general I get great feedback because I am genuinely interested in learning, and in people. I have a lot of energy but I'm not over-the-top enthusiastic. As a hobby I study improvisational acting/comedy--I will make you laugh too =)
I taught "officially" for two years in an elementary school setting (mostly math, theater, and music), though I enjoy working with all ages.
In college I majored in Physics and Philosophy, and I studied a great deal of Math, Piano, and Literature. I also have training in the mechanics of paper-writing.
In short, I'm smart, interesting, and interested in helping you to learn. You won't be disappointed!

Email Hollie

Hollie’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Spanish
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, GRE, SAT Math
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), Geometry, Physics, Piano, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Spanish
Business:
GRE
Art:
Composition (Music), Theatre
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science
Music:
Composition (Music), Music Theory, Piano
Language:
Spanish
Science:
Chemistry, Philosophy, Physics
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry

Elementary (K-6th)

I taught elementary school for two years. I understand the particular needs of this age group, and especially 8-10 year olds.
I have a great deal of experience teaching math and music to this group. I show my students how to do the math, rather than forcing them to memorize rules that have no meaning for them. To do this, I use physical representations of our number system (blocks and tiles for all of the basic mathematical operations, including fractions).
I also have experience with helping this age group to write and read.
I truly love this work!

Piano

I have been playing piano since age 7. I was classically trained by a very strict older woman, and because of that experience I try to be more relaxed with my students!
I have been teaching piano lessons for about 10 years now. I have experience teaching all ages, from 4 up to 60. I like to include some creative composition work in my lessons, so that students learn not to just engage in rote memorization with the music.
In short, my lessons include music theory, all sorts of songwork, and composition.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Hollie

back to top

Education

Syracuse University (Physics Philosophy)

Naropa University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Hollie will travel within 40 miles of Taos, NM 87571.

Email Hollie

Usually responds in about 19 hours

Send Hollie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Hollie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.