Search 75,036 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Anne T.

Tutor specializing in Hist., Eng., Standardized Testing prep and more

Albuquerque, NM (87120)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$33.00
Email Anne T.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Anne T.

Anne T. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Anne, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have a varied background of study, from management to teaching with degrees in English, History, and Social Sciences. I have an extensive knowledge of Spanish, as I spent a year abroad studying in Guatemala, where I became fluent. I believe in a well rounded education, and studied liberal arts when I initially studied. I learned Latin, poetry (where I received a Theta reward), art history, and classical and opera music. I have knowledge of symphonic music as well. I am a hiker and horse barrel rider, as well as a mountain biker. I enjoy American Indian culture, as well as Mayan and the Aztec culture. I have an emphasis on cultural and anthropological study with my Social Science degree, and frequently go for walks in search of ancient bones and arrowheads on our Nueces Valley ranch. I enjoy learning, and am always open to learning opportunities. I graduated in Social Science with a 3.75 course study GPA and an overall 3.56 average.

Email Anne

Anne’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Career Development, College Counseling, Criminal Justice, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Latin, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, Career Development, College Counseling, GED, PSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT, TAKS, TEAS, TOEFL
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Piano, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Special Needs:
Business:
Career Development, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, QuickBooks
Art:
Composition (Music), Photography, Theatre
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Music:
Composition (Music), General Music, Music History, Piano
History:
American History, Anthropology, Archaeology, Criminal Justice, Geography, Music History, Religion, World History
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Latin, TOEFL
Science:
ACT Science, Anatomy, Anthropology, Archaeology, Biology, Ecology, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, Photography, QuickBooks
Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

As a preschool teacher and a sufferer of ADD, I have the unique ability to understand this disorder. I have the patience and now, the concentration, to work with students of the like. My 17 daughter was diagnosed at age 7 with ADD/ADHD. We have learned to work together and develop special study skills to cope with this and work around this disorder. As a teacher, I was also required to administer medication (sometimes twice a day) to students with this disorder. Watching out for 'acting out' behavior and being able to recognize it has been extremely helpful.

Anthropology

Having a BA in Social Science, I was required to complete at least 15 hours in Anthropology and other cultures. I have a good deal of experience working with the Hispanic community and am bilingual. AmerIndian studies and tribal living were particularly interesting to me. I have lived in many other countries, from Guatemala to parts of Great Britain. I am 1/2 Italian and 1/2 Irish.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a BA in Social Science which also required classes in Child Development and Education. I taught preschool up to age 5 for 3 years, which included teaching students to read and write. I home-schooled by daughter until 5th grade, and she entered 6th grade reading on a 9th grade level. Her grammar was on par with an 8th grader. She began using a computer at the age of 2 1/2 and very soon after (approximately 3-3 1/2) she learned to read very, very basic books, such as Goodnight Moon and a few other very basic books about Jane and John along with some Dr. Seuss. I taught her to write as well.

General Music

I have studied music since the 3rd grade. Not only have I been a choral singer my entire life, but I have been trained and performed as an opera singer. I was able to sight read music by 3rd grade and was an accomplished pianist by 5th grade.

Microsoft Outlook

I have been using Microsoft Outlook, both email and calenders, for my own personal use since the 1990's. My husband was a computer specialist with McAfee, so we were ahead of many of our friends in computer use. I use it to not only send and receive email, but for reminders and notifications.

Microsoft Windows

I have been using Windows for years. I was one of the earliest users of computers among my friends due to my husbands work and even had my 3 year old daughter using the computer by 1999. It is so easy to be able to move between pages and to continue work on multiple sources at once. Minimizing each window while working on another is a great way to multi-task.

Music History

I am a classically trained pianist and opera singer. I have also studied the history of music and symphonic music. I performed in Carmen at the age of 17 and The Mikada at 19.

Pharmacology

I have been approved by the State of Texas as a Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor intern. In the course of my studies in obtaining this license for internship, I was required to take 60 hours of pharmacological research and the effects on the body. The classroom training was followed by 300 Practicum hours, and my internship requires 4000 hours of counseling and pharmacological training, along with intake and diagnosis.

Photography

I have appreciated art, especially the art of photography, since I was a teenager. My father was an accomplished photographer, and I found my inspiration from him and from the classic black and white photography. I have appreciated the art of film and its simplicity. It was a difficult transition to using a digital camera, as I was used to being very hands on in my art and didn't believe in the process of deletion. I learned to develop film when I was in high school. I still take multiple photos of subjects to find the perfect composition and lighting.

QuickBooks

I have used QuickBooks in my management experience for the purpose of AR/AP, Payroll and payroll taxes, and 1099 consulting work. I have also used it personally to take care of my bank account and to follow my bill payments and to separate my spending habits to watch where the majority of my funds are going. Professionally, I have also used it to run reports for my own business and for an employers business to determine the same; where the money is being spent and finding out if a profit is being made in those areas or if a different category of sales/merchandise needs to be concentrated on.

Religion

I was initially raised a Presbyterian, but joined the Episcopalian faith by the age of 7. I was an acolyte for years and went to an Episcopal boarding school for high school (in fact, from K-12th grade, I attended only parochial schools). In order to graduate from my high school, we were required to pass a 2 part Bible exam (both Old and New Testament). I took religion in college at TCU. My brother is a Methodist minister, and my best friend and spiritual adviser is a Byzantine Catholic Priest. I have studied under both. Since then, I have also studied the Jewish faith, Zen, and Karmic philosophies as well.

Sociology

I have a Bachelor's degree in Social Science and am also a Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor Intern certified by the State of Texas. I have worked with children with special needs. Sociology was the major part of my Social Science studies. We studied philosophy, classics, and politics of different cultures and leaders as well as philosophies and developmental theories in third world countries. The psychology, ecology, business, and cultural differences in different cultures were a major focus. This also included our own country, of course.

Special Needs

I have been working with students with disabilities for years. The first student was at Austin Community College and was blind and deaf. I was able to communicate his studies by translating Braille with him. My current student is an 8th grader with learning disabilities and is slightly autistic.
I taught reading and writing to preschool students for 3 years (where I encounter many students with learning disabilities), and I have a daughter with LD and ADD/ADHD (she is also bipolar) that I have worked with on concentration and learning skills. She is now 17, and was diagnosed at age 7. I also have a license with the State of Texas as a Chemical Dependency Counselor intern which has afforded me the opportunity to work with emotional and physically disabled individuals of many ages. Almost all of that work included learning and teaching.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Anne

back to top

Education

Ashford University (Social Science)

Ashford University (Enrolled)

Very patient and easy to talk with. I went to WyzAnt looking for a tutor in the field of psychology. I was really behind in my psychology class and I was not grasping the terms. Anne came to my rescue and she made me feel so much better after reviewing the psychological terms with me. She understood my needs and I am ever so grateful for her help. Thank you Anne for all you have done. ...

— Bevo from Corrales, NM on 10/5/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $33.00

Cancellation: 10 hours notice required

Groups of 3 or more will be charged from $25.00 to $30.00 each dependent on the number of students needing assistance.

Travel policy

Anne will travel within 40 miles of Albuquerque, NM 87120.

Email Anne

Usually responds in about 57 minutes

Send Anne a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Anne or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.