Search 72,641 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Jennifer P.

North Brunswick, NJ

$50/hr

Teacher, Assistant Teacher, Tutor

Usually responds after +3 days

Teacher, Assistant Teacher, Tutor

Message Jennifer

Send Jennifer a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jennifer or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I graduated from Rutgers University with a Bachelors in Psychology/Sociology. I have worked with elementary school age children from K-6. I have tutored diverse children in a variety of subjects like Science, Social Studies, English, Math, Grammar, Reading, ESL, Basic Italian, Spanish, Computers. I enjoyed assisting the children with their school work in both the classroom and Latchkey program. I also have experience working with infants and toddlers 7wks.-2yrs. I worked as a Head Teacher in various daycares and taught 2yr olds both English and Spanish. Some things they learned were their Numbers/Counting, Alphabet/Letters, Days of the Week, Months, Colors, & Shapes. The children also learned how to write their names, letters, and numbers in addition to recognizing and pointing to their own/classmates name. I enjoy teaching very much and my goal is to open up my own day care and school to teach children both English & Spanish and Computers.

Math:
Prealgebra
English:
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading,
Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology, Psychology
Computer:
General Computer,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Italian, Spanish
History:
Geography
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar,
Phonics,
Reading, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
Prealgebra, Reading, Spanish, Study Skills,
Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Track & Field
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
General Computer,
Grammar,
Italian, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading,
Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have assisted many teachers and students in elementary schools with various subjects. I have worked with a variety of grades from Kindergarten thru the 6th Grade. I assisted students in Math, Science, Social Studies, ESL, English, Spanish, Computers, Geography, Social Studies.
I passed the National Teaching Exam but did not receive my teaching certificate due to a change in the GPA State requirement. My college GPA did not meet the State standards but I believe I am qualified to teach in the Elementary Grade Level K-6.

ESL/ESOL

I speak both English and Spanish Fluently. I have taught a variety of different age groups learn both languages in less than 3 months. I have been recommended to open my own school/tutoring services by teachers and directors.
I enjoy teaching children and adults how to speak both English and Spanish. It was very rewarding at the end of the year after teachers and directors acknowledged all my hard work with the children. The children were 2yr olds & up to elementary school age. Parents of the children also acknowledged all my work with their children. They were so amazed how much their children learned in just a couple of months. These parents then asked me to teach them some Spanish and encouraged me to continue teaching. I also translated for parent/teacher conferences and assisted bilingual children in ESL in elementary schools/day care.

General Computer

My computer skills improved while attending college. I had to learn how to surf the internet, email, type papers in Microsoft Word and do presentations using Powerpoint. I had to use all the programs for all of my classes. I also worked for the Department of Education in Rutgers and used all programs on a daily basis. I had to email staff, write work schedules using Excel. I am proficient in Microsoft, Excel, & Powerpoint.

Grammar

I have been certified to teach English, Spanish, Reading, Writing, & Proofreading. I believe I can teach Grammar in both English & Spanish very well.

Microsoft PowerPoint

I am proficient in PowerPoint after having to do many presentations for most of my classes throughout college. I had to utilize my skills in order to do many papers and prsentations in Psychology, Sociology, ROTC military courses, & Administration of Justice. I believe I am qualified to teach the Powerpoint program.

Phonics

I am fluent in both English and Spanish. I can read and write both languages. I believe that I can teach phonics in either languages to both children and adults.

Proofreading

I have experience proofreading papers in both English and Spanish. I have written many essays, papers, and reports in both languages during college and had to rewrite them in order to get a final grades in the classes. I also proofread many reports for various friends and family.

Study Skills

I gained lots of experience in study skills while attending college. I had to find a way to study in order to do well in all of my midterms and finals because both were 50% of my final grade for all classes. After taking so many tests, I found that I had to write, type, and retype all of my notes for class in order to get good grades. I also found out that tape recording lectures after professor approval helped me do well in exams. Another method for studying was replaying the lectures in a tape recorder or walkman. I learned that my study skills were good and helped many friends and family with their study skills in order to do well in tests and examinations. I taught many friends and family my study skills and have been told that I should tutor.

Track & Field

I have experience in track & field. I was in the Spring Track Team & in the Cross-Country Team in High School. When I had to train for track meets, I had to run from 2-5 miles a daily in order to prepare for competitions. I enjoy running.

Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey
Psychology and Sociology

Education

Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey (Psychology and Sociology)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Travel policy

Jennifer will travel within 15 miles of North Brunswick, NJ 08902.


About Jennifer

I graduated from Rutgers University with a Bachelors in Psychology/Sociology. I have worked with elementary school age children from K-6. I have tutored diverse children in a variety of subjects like Science, Social Studies, English, Math, Grammar, Reading, ESL, Basic Italian, Spanish, Computers. I enjoyed assisting the children with their school work in both the classroom and Latchkey program. I also have experience working with infants and toddlers 7wks.-2yrs. I worked as a Head Teacher in various daycares and taught 2yr olds both English and Spanish. Some things they learned were their Numbers/Counting, Alphabet/Letters, Days of the Week, Months, Colors, & Shapes. The children also learned how to write their names, letters, and numbers in addition to recognizing and pointing to their own/classmates name. I enjoy teaching very much and my goal is to open up my own day care and school to teach children both English & Spanish and Computers.

Education

Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey
Psychology and Sociology

Education

Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey (Psychology and Sociology)


Tutor Policies

Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of North Brunswick, NJ 08902

Jennifer’s Subjects

Math:
Prealgebra
English:
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading,
Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology, Psychology
Computer:
General Computer,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Italian, Spanish
History:
Geography
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar,
Phonics,
Reading, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
Prealgebra, Reading, Spanish, Study Skills,
Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Track & Field
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
General Computer,
Grammar,
Italian, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading,
Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Jennifer P.

Jennifer P. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Jennifer, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.