Search 75,801 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Sarah G.

Tutor for ESL, English, or Elementary School

New Brunswick, NJ (08901)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Sarah G.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sarah G.

Sarah G. passed a background check on 1/24/14. The check was ordered by Sarah through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Sarah, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a recent college grad with a bachelor's degree in Music Education and a master's in English Education.I also completed my CELTA certification in March. I also have experience tutoring ESL college students and have taught a summer school English program in Shanghai, China. I enjoy working with ESL students and learning about other cultures while I help students with English.

I also have several years of experience volunteering in various children's activities and groups. I have taught middle school general music and music appreciation in my college internship and particularly enjoy working with this age and with younger children. I have experience working with ADHD and LD children and at my last tutoring job was able to help my student raise his GPA from C-D to A-B by the end of the semester. I have a patient and permissive teaching style and have personal experience with overcoming learning disabilities.

Email Sarah

Sarah’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Public Speaking
Test Preparation:
TOEFL
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, Writing
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics
Business:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
History:
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
English:
Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Public Speaking, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

As a learner who has struggled with and overcome the difficulties of ADHD throughout my undergraduate and graduate experience, I am a understanding and patient teacher. In my undergraduate training, I took several classes about exceptional learners and learned the leading theories and methods for dealing with special needs. I have experience working with ADHD learners in the classroom and individually. While tutoring an Elementary age boy last fall, I was able to work with him and raise his GPA from C-D to A-B.

Bible Studies

I attended a Christian university and was required to take a number of Bible classes. These classes included Old Testament Survey, New Testament Survey, Life of Christ, Life of Paul, Bible Doctrines I, Bible Doctrines II, Modern Cults, and Foundations of a Biblical Lifestyle. I received A's in almost all of these classes and feel that my extensive knowledge of basic Bible studies makes me an excellent candidate as a tutor in this subject.

Elementary (K-6th)

As a music education major, I completed a practicum teaching general music to 1st through 5th grade students. I later worked at as teacher's aid, grading and working with various materials. I tutored two elementary age children (3rd grad and 4th grad) Monday through Friday in all subjects. As a result of their sessions, they were able to raise their grades (from a C-D, B-C average) and maintain an A-B average.

General Music

My undergraduate degree was in music education. I took classes in music theory, music history, music education, conducting, vocal coaching, and notation. I completed internships working in the elementary music classroom and in senior high choir. During my student teaching, I taught seventh grade general music, eighth grade music appreciation, and combined middle school handbells. I also graduated with a voice principle and a piano minor and have taken a semester each in double bass, guitar, clarinet, flute, trombone, trumpet, and percussion.

Music History

As a music major at a liberal arts university, I was required to take several music history classes. They included a basic music history class for freshmen, and three upper level classes covering music from ancient times through the twentieth century with a particular focus on the major stylistic periods. During my student teaching experience I taught eight grade music appreciating focusing on the baroque and classical periods. I enjoy music history and often led study groups for tests and listening exams.

Public Speaking

As a student at a liberal arts university, I was required to take speech classes both in rhetoric and public address, and in my field of education. I am familiar with the principles of effective public speaking and speech writing. I have also worked as a private tutor in China with students competing in a regional speech competition.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Sarah

back to top

Education

Bob Jones University

Bob Jones Unviersity (MEd)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sarah will travel within 15 miles of New Brunswick, NJ 08901.

Email Sarah

Usually responds in about 20 hours

Send Sarah a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sarah or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.