Search 74,112 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Raushni S.

Effective Hindi & Music Tutor

Jersey City, NJ (07306)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$60.00
Email Raushni S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Raushni S.

Raushni S. passed a background check on 6/21/13. The check was ordered by Raushni through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Raushni, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello!

My name is Raushni, and I have been passionate about teaching since childhood, when I would help my classmates understand academic concepts. Tutoring became my hobby, and I have been actively tutoring for the last 11 years.
My teaching style is more like a facilitator whereby I organize the learning material and frame questions in a way that helps students decipher the answer by themselves. I find this method to be more beneficial rather than revealing the answer myself and then explaining how and why after. I am especially proud of my innovative and effective teaching method for all elementary class students. I try to make learning fun and interesting for all.

I have taught Economics to high school students and later have been a life skills facilitator for children from Grades 4-7. I majored in Economics, with a Master's degree. Additionally, I did pick up another Masters from Warwick University, UK in Human Resources.

I am also a Hindi Language teacher, which is my native language. Language tutoring requires one to be patient. You can expect to not only learn how to speak, read and write, but also learn the rich culture it represents: India.

I look forward to creative learning sessions with you!

Email Raushni

Raushni’s subjects

Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored several children in the Tri-State area in all subjects from grades K-6th. I am also a substitute teacher for the schools in Passaic County. My method of teaching is to ignite curiosity and interest in the student rather than a style of instructive learning.

Elementary Math

I have scored 96% in Grade X Math. I find Math a lot of fun to do and even more exciting to tutor as I have done in school and college.

Hindi

My native language is Hindi. I was born and brought up in India where I learnt Hindi till Grade VIII. I obtained an average of 80% in all Hindi examinations. I took up Sanskrit (how Latin is to English, Sanskrit is to Hindi) in Grade IX and X which is the language Hindi is derived out of and I scored 85% in the board examination. I have written Hindi poetry as a hobby and I won the Hindi writing competition in school in Grade VII. I also teach how to play Hindi songs on piano and sing along. I have successfully choreographed dance performances to Hindi music and can take up teaching Bollywood (Indian dance). My past experience in Hindi tutoring consists of improving a person’s conversational abilities in the language.

Piano

I have learned Classical Piano and am certified until Grade IV (Trinity College of London).
I have taught several students how to play the piano for Indian pop songs and sing along too.
I am not a classical piano teacher though and have not taught English songs. Only Indian Music.

Reading

Reading passages was my favorite part of the English class when I was at school. Hence, I took up teaching children reading and answering the questions that follow after as a hobby after school. I have the patience that is required to teach children how to read and then analyze the reading material afterwards.

Spelling

I won various spelling bee contests at school. Spelling comes naturally to me. I am also good at teaching how to spell, as I know how to facilitate relations between different words spelled.

Vocabulary

I have always done very well in English in school. I have read a lot of books and have been speaking the language since 2 years of age. My vocabulary was further enhanced when I was studying for the SAT and GRE tests in college.

Writing

Writing comes naturally to me since childhood. I loved writing essays and poems while I was in school. I also won a few essay writing competitions in school and college. I hope to publish my increasing collection of essays and poems in the future. Since a few years, I have found joy in working with children on writing techniques and love to help them devise creative methods used in writing.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Raushni

back to top

Education

Delhi University , New Delhi , India (Economics)

University of Warwick, England (Master's)

Very good tutor for young kids I have 2 boys aged 6.5 and 3.75 and we have been very keen to teach them Hindi because it is their mother tongue. My objectives were to get my kids to understand key Hindi words, structure of the language and gain an appreciation for how it's spoken with the ultimate desire that we all converse in Hindi at home. From the introductory session, Raushni dived into the material and assimilated with t ...

— Vijnan from Hoboken, NJ on 10/23/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

For two or more students, I offer a 20% discount.

Travel policy

Raushni will travel within 20 miles of Jersey City, NJ 07306.

Email Raushni

Usually responds in about 11 hours

Send Raushni a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Raushni or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.