Search 72,582 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Priti S.

Patient and Knowledgeable Tutor with Montessori background

Edgewater, NJ (07020)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Priti S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Priti S.

Priti S. passed a background check on 6/21/13. The check was ordered by Priti through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Priti, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

For as long as I remember, I've wanted to be a teacher. I taught everything I knew as a child and I feel blessed to have been able to end up in a vocation I am passionate about. I presently teach at a local Montessori school and have a versatile background in teaching.

I am an undergraduate in Science and I have a Bachelor's degree in English Literature and a Bachelor's in Education. I did Geology for a year at the graduate level and then transferred to English Literature. I specialized to teach Social Studies and Language to High School students. I taught High School for four years and was nominated the best teacher in my school for two years in a row, I got awards for developing great Teaching aids and for using technology effectively in the classroom. I coached many extra curricular activities when I taught at school including "How to Swim" and singing.

I am a music lover and a passionate educator. I am licensed to teach Kindermusik, so I could do music as more than a hobby, I teach piano to students, in my home studio and have two students I teach in other states through Skype too! I keep learning and growing and always make sure I am a subject expert, in the areas in which I tutor. I study college level courses at home consistently and have been doing that for years for continuing education. I love to learn!

I am a passionate teacher and will do more than my best to see my students be the best at what they seek to learn. I use technology, online resources and teaching aids that suit each individual learner and go way above the call of duty to do my best by my students!

I have taught all possible learning styles and ages and have learned that what it takes to be a good teacher is patience, love for your learner and dedication to learn and get beyond all obstacles to learning to accomplish mastery. I individualize instruction and am fabulous at getting good resources to children so they can maximize their learning. I am very dedicated and have very high standards for my students. I give them more than their money's worth, always. My students, many of who are in their twenties now, still tell me how much the unique way I taught impressed them and impacted their lives. They contact me and we stay friends for long after the teacher-student relationship is done. I have great people skills and keep students aware of their learning with assessments and self assessments constantly as we go through our learning together. I teach students to take ownership for their learning and give them a passion for learning, teaching them that anything learned in depth brings great joy. Even though learning is hard work it is satisfying in a way nothing else is! I leave my students with a quality education because I know the role a good teacher can play in the development of learning. It's a crucial role and I take this role seriously, while imbuing my teaching with fun and joy and excitement.

Email Priti

Priti’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Anatomy, Chemistry, Nutrition, Physical Science, Physics
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Word, Photography
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French, Portuguese, Spanish, TOEFL
History:
American History, Classics, European History, Geography, Music History, Social Studies, World History
Music:
Ear Training, General Music, Guitar, Music History, Music Theory, Piano, Salsa Dancing, Sight Singing, Voice (Music)
Art:
Art Theory , Ballroom Dancing, Photography, Salsa Dancing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Aspergers, Phonics
Business:
Career Development, GMAT, GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, French, Geometry, Physics, Piano, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, Career Development, College Counseling, GED, GMAT, GRE, ISEE, LSAT, MCAT, Praxis, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SOL, SSAT, TEAS, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Ballroom Dancing, Chess, Cooking, Salsa Dancing, Swimming, Yoga
Corporate Training:
Career Development, College Counseling, ESL/ESOL, French, General Computer, GMAT, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Portuguese, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Spanish, Statistics

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Bachelor's degree in English Literature and Education. I taught English, French, and social studies in high school for 4 years.

General Music

I worked as a music teacher in school for a while. I got licensed in early childhood music through Kindermusik. I ran a Kindermusic class teaching kids from pre-school to seven years old. I studied piano since I was seven. I belonged to an Acapella group and sang ever since I was little.

My entire family is musical. My brother played jazz drums, my sister, classical guitar. My dad was a Jazz bassist.

I continue to grow as a pianist with a piano mentor who graduated from Julliard and did a stint at the Royal College of Music, London.

I study college level music courses, through the Teaching Company ( Great Courses ). I teach piano performance.

ISEE

I have a bachelors in English Literature and a Bachelor's in Education. I have successfully passed the Praxis and I am studying to give the Praxis II exam in NJ.

I tutor kids in K-7 subjects and prepared my own son for the ISEE Middle level.

I did my 11th and 12th grade science and am a writer with published poetry.

I am presently doing advanced studies in mathematics on my own to complete a degree in mathematics online. I am a self-directed learner and I love to teach.

Piano

I am an advanced level pianist engaged in continuing education in Piano Performance with a Juillard College Graduate and Royal College of London Scholar. I have been playing the piano since I was 7 and have in the last 5 years or so focused solely on Teaching/Studying piano performance. I am also a Kindermusik educator and especially gifted in motivating kids to learn.

I am a passionate teacher and have a very high standard for my students...my goal is to create artistic musicians with a whole range of capabilities.

Writing

Here is one of my poems:

Luray Caverns

by Priti S.

A rusty netherworld,
Enter the world of 'The Pilgrims Progress'
Jagged spikes suspended overhead
moist upsurges of rock below
An alien world of optical illusion;
Dream lake and Ghost column
Wishful coins glimmer in green water
Limestone icicles; stained cascades & drapes
Gothic water creations.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Priti

back to top

Education

Sophia College for Women (Science)

Sophia College for Women (English Literature) (Graduate Coursework)

St. Xavier's Institute of Education (Bachelor of Education) (Other)

Excellent Tutor! — Priti combines not only a practical method with an understandable lesson plan but also engages the student in the history and passion of playing instruments. She is very helpful and goes above and beyond to help her students. She makes every lesson unforgettable and exciting. She not only welcomes new challenges in achieving her students' goals but goes beyond what is necessary to accomplish them. ...

— Abraham from Jersey City, NJ on 10/15/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

I will consider a reduced rate if you are willing to travel to my home for lessons. I can take off as much as $10 depending on how long each session is.

Travel policy

Priti will travel within 5 miles of Edgewater, NJ 07020.

Email Priti

Usually responds in about 1 hour

Send Priti a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Priti or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.