Search 75,752 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 700 tutoring hours

Jon M.

All H.S. and college math-Algebra through Calculus and Statistics

Wilmington, NC (28403)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$20.00
Email Jon M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Jon M.

Jon M. passed a background check on 4/24/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jon, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a chemical engineer by profession and education. The last ten years of my career were as the president of a chemical corporation. I retired early and became involved in education. I have taught four plus years of all levels of high school mathematics-Algebra I and II, Geometry, Mathematical Functions, Precalculus, and Calculus. Now that I no longer teach, I have become involved in tutoring. My schedule is quite flexible.

Mathematics has been a joy and passion of mine. I could also call it a hobby. It was an essential part of my career and I have tried to impart to students the importance of mathematics in their future. Tutoring to me is fun. My reward is seeing a student having that "Aha!" moment when they grasp a concept. Some of my students disliked mathematics and now enjoy it. I hope to inspire more students in the joy of mathematics.

I graduated from the University of Cincinnati with a B.S. in Chemical Engineering. My wife is also a graduate of the same university. We have two grown sons. We are members of Immaculate Conception Church. My hobbies include fly fishing, running, golf, astronomy, and of course mathematics. Kind of geeky, but I collect rare old mathematics books.

Email Jon

Jon’s subjects

Corporate Training:
GMAT, Statistics
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, GMAT, GRE, SAT Math
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Chemistry, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Statistics
Business:
GMAT, GRE
Science:
Chemistry
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry

Algebra 1

I have taught four years of Algebra 1 at the high school level. In addition I have taught 4 years of Geometry and Algebra 2. I also have been an instructor for several homeschool students.

Algebra 2

I have taught 4 plus years of Algebra 2 in public and private high schools. Plus I have tutored for the past year.

Calculus

I have tutored calculus for the last three years. My engineering background and engineering degree required a fundamental understanding of calculus and application. My degree included math higher than calculus.

Geometry

I have previously taught Geometry on the high school level for 4 years. I have also tutored students in Geometry.

GRE

I have tutored at least six students in the past two years for the math portion of the GRE. They have all done well and have passed the test or significantly improved from previous takes. This is confirmed by the testimonials that students have given to WyzAnt.

Precalculus

I recently taught precalculus at the high school level for four years.

Statistics

I have successfully tutored eight different statistics courses this year at high school and college level, in addition to taking a statistics/probability course in college . I also have a B.S in Chemical Engineering.

Trigonometry

I have taught trigonometry for four years as part of precalculus. I also taught geometry for four years and trigonometry was part of it.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Jon

back to top

Education

University of Cincinnati (Chemical Engineering)

Attentive and knowledgeable! Mr. M has been an invaluable math resource for my son. My son's greatest challenge in school is math. Since working with Mr. M his grades have progressively improved throughout the year. The improvement not only impacted his math grade but I truly believe the confidence he gained spilled over to all subjects. The change in his attitude and confidence since working with Mr. M has been huge. I look ...

— Leslie from Wilmington, NC on 6/3/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $20.00

No travel time charge.

Travel policy

Jon will travel within 20 miles of Wilmington, NC 28412.

Email Jon

Send Jon a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jon or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.