Search 75,809 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Theresa W.

Math/Reading/Language Arts tutor

Wilmington, NC (28405)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Theresa W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Theresa W.

Theresa W. passed a background check on 8/25/11. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Theresa, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Teaching is my passion and I especially enjoy tutoring in basic Math, Geometry, and Algebra I & II. I also enjoy teaching Reading and Language Arts. I am experienced in working with children, youth, and adults as well as students who have special needs (including gifted and learning disabilities). I make an effort & spend as much of my own time necessary to come prepared with a plan that will maximize the student's educational needs and goals. I am also very flexible and friendly and I try to make learning fun and meaningful. I am a licensed NC teacher with several years experience, I have worked as a tutor for Huntington Learning Center and privately as a tutor for several years.

Email Theresa

Theresa’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Career Development, College Counseling, ESL/ESOL, GMAT, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Statistics, Web Design
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball, Cooking, Swimming
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, Career Development, College Counseling, GED, GMAT, GRE, ISEE, MCAT, Praxis, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT, TAKS, TEAS, TOEFL
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Autism, Dyslexia, Hard Of Hearing, Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
Career Development, GMAT, GRE, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Art:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
American History, Religion, Social Studies
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Science:
ACT Science, Biology, Geology, Philosophy, Physical Science, Psychology
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Web Design
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Differential Equations, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I am a licensed elementary education with training in ADD/ADHD, as well as all areas of special education, which all recently licensed teachers must be trained in these areas. I also have worked for 5 years as a volunteer at Camp Carroll for handicapped kids, have extensively tutored a first grader with ADHD, a high school student with ADD and have nannied for many families with children who have ADD and/or ADHD. I also worked for Huntington Learning Center's NCLB after school program with students who have ADD/ADHD.

Autism

I am a licensed elementary education with training in all areas of special education, as all recently licensed teachers must be trained in these areas. I also have worked for 5 years as a volunteer at Camp Carroll for handicapped kids, including working 1:1 with one of the preschoolers with Autism and teaching swimming lessons to several of the kids with Autism. I worked as a nanny for a family with a 12 y/o girl who had Autism for 1 year. I've worked as a substitute aide in the public school system, working 1:1 with a 4th grader with Autism. I also have a cousin, with whom I am quite close, who has Aspergers syndrome, which is an Autism spectrum disorder.

Bible Studies

I have a degree from Valley Forge Christian college, where I excelled in the following courses: New Testament, Old Testament, Biblical Languages, Intro to Christian Thought, Daniel & Revelation, Biblical Interpretation, Christian Living, Biblical Theology, Hermeneutics, Foundations of Biblical Preaching, Minister of Youth, Intro to youth ministry, and AG Church Doctrine & History. I have completed the 3-step (about our church/bible knowledge/being a leader in church) courses at both my home church in Philadelphia and my new home church in Wilmington. I did youth ministry for 5 years, and have lead a women's bible study for the past 2 years. I continue to learn in this area.

Drawing

I am a licensed elementary education with training in all areas of Art, including drawing. I taught an Art drawing class for approximately 25 5th - 7th graders during my Jr. year of college at a co-op called Living Bridges. Since then, I have privately tutored students in drawing. Additionally, my best friend is an accomplished artist, and is always giving me tips!

Elementary (K-6th)

I hold a B.S. in Elementary Education and am licensed in the state of NC as an Elementary Education (K-6) teacher.

Phonics

I am a licensed Elementary Education teacher. My schooling included learning how to teach Phonics in Reading and Language Arts. I also grew up learning to read by the Phonics method.

Praxis

I have an NC teaching license and a bachelors of science in Elementary Education. I have taken the Praxis and passed with very high scores the first time, every time. I have already tutored Praxis students who had failed the Praxis, and after tutoring with me, they passed the Praxis.

Religion

I am a graduate of Valley Forge Christian college, where I studied the history of the Church. I also studied World religions at a secular university.

Special Needs

I am a licensed teacher who works in an EC classroom. I have been working with special needs students since I was a volunteer at a summer camp when I was 11 years old. Since then, I have taught special needs students in both public and private schools, as well as tutoring over a dozen individual students with special needs ranging from having diagnosis on the autism spectrum to students who had ADD/ADHD. I have worked with students with Learning Disabilities, physical disabilities, inc. MS, Downs syndrome, and those who were partially deaf. I have worked with many, many students with IEP's and I helped my friend get one for her son.

I am also considering a Masters Degree in some field of Special Education.

Study Skills

I have been working as a teacher and tutor for over 10 years, an intricate part of which involves helping students develop good study skills. I have helped HS students improve SAT/ACT scores through incorporating good study habits and test taking skills. I have worked with a learning center's after-school program, which is focused on helping students achieve good grades through developing good study habits.

Swimming

I grew up swimming every day during the summers and took swimming lessons at the local YMCA each winter. As a teen, I had completed every level of swimming lessons and moved on to becoming a lifeguard. I teach swimming lessons for free to both children and adults that swim at the local pool that I go to. As a youth I taught my grandmother how to swim. I taught several of my friends how to swim, and several of my friend's children. I have been paid for swimming instructions privately. I am certified in both adult and child & infant CPR and rescue breathing through the YMCA and later through the American Red Cross.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Theresa

back to top

Education

valley forge christian college (Elementary Education)

Flexible, Patient, & and Great!! Theresa was able to meet with me last minute when I was failing my online algebra 2 course. She was very understanding of my situation and eager to help. My schedule is very busy, but she was able to work with me and meet at my convenience. It's obvious that she has a passion for education and helping others. Even after 6+ hours of cramming for my final exam she was enthusiastic and kept me focuse ...

— Joshua from Wilmington, NC on 7/27/12);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Theresa will travel within 20 miles of Wilmington, NC 28405.

Email Theresa

Usually responds in about 21 hours

Send Theresa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Theresa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.