Search 74,391 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Luciani N.

Teacher's Assistant

Tryon, NC (28782)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Luciani N.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Luciani N.

Luciani N. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Luciani, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I earned Bachelor of Science in Biology with a minor in Sociology from Augusta State University (ASU). I also earned a Masters degree in Theology from what was from known as Beacon University, now known as Christian Life School of Theology in Columbus, GA.

While earning my undergraduate degree from ASU I worked as a Literacy Tutor and assisted elementary, middle, and high school students with class and homework assignments. During this time I also guided adult students with their preparation for their GED and administered simulated exams to aid in evaluation of study techniques. As a tutor, I led the students to the library and assisting in finding books at Jamestown Elementary School and aided the classroom teacher by assisted students make up missed work and graded papers. I also volunteered at the Augusta Urban Ministries(AUM) read books to and with the younger kids.

I am a kinestic teacher and try to adjust my teaching to fit the learning styles and abilities of my students.

Email Luciani

Luciani’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Statistics
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking
Test Preparation:
GED
Homeschool:
Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Precalculus, Reading, Statistics, Study Skills
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
History:
American History, Geography, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Science:
Anatomy, Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Geology, Nursing, Nutrition, Philosophy, Physical Science, Physiology, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
Math:
Algebra 2, Geometry, Precalculus, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Reading

Bible Studies

I have earned my Masters of Theology from Christian Life School of Theology. I have also taught over 100 messages in the Healing and Freedom Centers at Whole Life Ministries in Augusta, GA. In addition to teaching the Word of God, I have volunteered as a member of the Healing Teams and been to pray for many sick people and their families in both their homes and hospital rooms.

Elementary (K-6th)

I believe that I have a wide array of experience tutoring elementary students (pre-k to 6th grade). When I worked as a Literacy Tutor, I conducted a VARK Learning Style assessment on students that range from elementary to high school levels. Once I have the results of the students individual learning styles I am able to make special accommodations that allowed each student to realize their full potential and achieve academic goals. When a child realizes that they have certain strengths their self-esteem and confidence increases and the student enjoys learning and becomes a better reader. This process of acquiring knowledge of learning style allows students in 3rd to 12th grade to feel confident at their present level and progress to the next level where they exceed previous academic goals. At AUM I encouraged inner-city elementary children to read books out loud in order to diagnosis reading level and establish a basis for improving comprehension skills. The goal of the afterschool program is to allow the students to develop analytical skills that allow them to successfully complete their homework assignments. This indirectly allows the students to progress from behind grade level to on grade level in reading, spelling and writing. In addition to my tutoring experience I have worked for 2 years as a preschool teacher using the A Beka Book curriculum. I wrote lesson plans and prepare activities that aid in cognitive skills and language development. I also volunteer in the nursery at my church with children from birth to 3 years old. I am confident that can adapt my teaching to each student’s unique learning style and motivate the students to succeed in all subject areas.
I also have experience volunteering as a Girl Scout Troop leader for girls from ages 5 to 17 years old and a Council Trainer. As a troop leader, I planned and implemented hands on activities for girls in the areas of well-being, outdoors, arts, people, and science. I planned and organized both meetings and trips with the girls in my troop that provided opportunities for the development of new skills and enhancement of intellectual, social and physical abilities. I created newsletters that marketed and informed parents and troop members of activities, awards, and recognitions. As a Trainer of adults I taught the potential troop leaders the responsibilities of leading and co-leading Girl Scouts. The participants were taught hands-on activities that could be done in their meetings with girls in various recreational areas. I have discussed the importance of safety and how to implement certain program ideas with the girls in their troop/group. My community involvement as a Safe Sitter Instructor enables me to be in tune with how students learn in different environmental settings which challenge each child to demonstrate life skills such as CPR and what to do when an infant or a child is choking. I am responsible for ensuring that potential sitters can response quickly and calm when accidents occur.
My educational background includes course work in Teaching Students with Disabilities, Health Education and Behavior, and Instructional Strategies in Classroom Education. The combination of experience and education contributes to my desire to motivate and encourage children to set educational and career goals, and then determine how to achieve their dreams.

Sociology

I earned my minor in Sociology from Augusta State University. The courses I have taken include Sociology and Medicine, Population Statistics, and Sociology of Medicine. In addition to a minor in Sociology, I have a Masters of Theology.

Study Skills

I earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology and have taken several education courses at Augusta State University. I am very familiar with various learning styles and therefore can assist students develop study techniques. In my education courses, I learned to write lesson plans that accommodate students that are visual, audio, and "hands on" learners.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Luciani

back to top

Education

Augusta State University (Biology)

UNC Chapel Hill (Other)

Beacon University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Travel policy

Luciani will travel within 20 miles of Tryon, NC 28782.

Email Luciani

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Luciani a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Luciani or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.