Search 72,588 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Dena D.

Mills River, NC

$45/hr

Effective French and English Tutor

Usually responds in about 8 hours

Effective French and English Tutor

Message Dena

Send Dena a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Dena or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I love tutoring and teaching! I taught French, English, and Drama for four years at a private high school. I taught all levels of French and many different English classes. I have also directed numerous plays, acted in plays, and I enjoy playing the piano. I have a Master's Degree in Education and wrote my thesis on Global Education. I recently graduated from the Teacher Licensure Program at Mary Baldwin College and have certification in PreK-12 French and Middle School English.

I have a Pomeranian and a cat that I adore! In 2010 I was a professional tutor for a family that moved to France and I worked with each person's specific learning style to meet their needs. I like to assess where a student is and what they know, ask them how they prefer to learn, and then design my lessons around their needs and interests. I have helped many students realize their potential, gain confidence, and find success through my caring and structured approach.

Testimonials

"Fantastic Tutor"

- Bonnie, Mechanicsville, VA on 10/9/13

"Made French Possible For Us"

- Jennifer, Hendersonville, NC on 11/4/14

"Great to work with!"

- Suganya, Glen Allen, VA on 1/24/14

"Amazing tutor!"

- Chris, Richmond, VA on 10/8/13

"Extremely Knowledge tutor"

- D, Richmond, VA on 6/19/13

"Excellent!!!"

- KD, Warrenton, VA on 8/30/11
English:
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
French
Music:
Piano
Art:
Theatre
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting,
Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
French, Handwriting,
Piano,
Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
French, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a 5 and 7 year old niece and nephew that I have babysat and helped learn how to read. I am currently babysitting a 6 year old and a 10 year old and help them with their reading and math practice. I worked as an assistant teacher at a day care for 4 and 5 year olds for one summer and helped them learn. I did 30 hours of my practicum for my teaching license in a first grade classroom and helped students with all of their work; reading, writing, math, and science.

ESL/ESOL

Right after I graduated from the World Studies program at VCU, I lived in France and taught English through a program with the U.S. Embassy to students at a French boarding school. It was a wonderful experience. I also have a Master of Arts Degree in Global Education which has helped me learn about multicultural and diverse learners. I have traveled to many countries and understand other cultures well. Because of these experiences, I feel that I could successfully help English as a Second Language Learners in their pursuit of learning English.

Handwriting

I have excellent handwriting skills. I have been complimented on my handwriting for many years. I have a Master's in Education and I am a certified teacher so I feel I am qualified to teach handwriting. My mother is an artist and I believe my skill came from her. I have had amazing success tutoring French, reading, and math to people of all ages from Pre K to adults.

Microsoft Windows

I have been using Microsoft Windows my whole life. I am qualified because of my experience and because I have taught Microsoft Windows to first graders in the past when I did my practicum for student teaching. I love tutoring and working with computers. A lot of my tutoring is using computers, whether it's websites for practice, or the PowerPoints I create.

Piano

I have played the piano since I was 8 years old. I play mostly pop music, but I can play almost anything. I played the piano in the jazz band for one year in high school and I played the piano for three years in high school for the Show Choir and our band won awards. I also took a piano class in college and voice lessons. I taught Drama and Vocal Music at a private school and I can read music very well.

Special Needs

I worked at a private therapeutic boarding school for almost four years with high school students who had serious addiction problems, mental issues, and behavioral problems. I was their teacher, friend, parent, and therapist. It was a very unique environment where they didn't see their parents for long periods of time, underwent intense academic and therapeutic workshops, and usually graduated with confidence and the tools needed to live a productive life. I taught all levels of French, English, and Drama and stayed after school to tutor.

In order to receive my teaching license, I had to take an Exceptional Children class and I got an A. All of my Masters Degree coursework and teaching license work was in Education and I believe that I have had enough experience with children with special needs to prepare me to be able to tutor them. Most of my students at the private school had ADHD, learning disabilities, or they were extremely smart and gifted.

Theatre

I participated in all of the plays/musicals when I was in high school. I have directed, stage managed, acted in, and been responsible for props/set for community theatre plays/musicals. I also directed many plays at the private school where I worked for four years. I love theatre. I've seen plays/musicals in Richmond, Greensboro, Raleigh, London, France, and New York. I was accepted into the VCU Theatre Program right after high school and went there for one year before I changed my major to French.

Virginia Commonwealth University
French
Union Institute & University
Master's
Mary Baldwin College
Graduate Coursework

Education

Virginia Commonwealth University (French)

Union Institute & University (Master's)

Mary Baldwin College (Graduate Coursework)

Fantastic Tutor — Dena is one of the best tutors we have engaged for our daughter. Our daughter is in 9th grade this year taking French III. The course jumped significantly in difficulty from French II and we were ill-prepared. We found Dena after reading the reviews about her abilities and were not disappointed. She knows how to engage students, she formulates plans based on their ability and the speed that th ...

— Bonnie, Mechanicsville, VA on 10/9/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 16 hours notice required

Travel policy

Dena will travel within 20 miles of Mills River, NC 28759.


About Dena

I love tutoring and teaching! I taught French, English, and Drama for four years at a private high school. I taught all levels of French and many different English classes. I have also directed numerous plays, acted in plays, and I enjoy playing the piano. I have a Master's Degree in Education and wrote my thesis on Global Education. I recently graduated from the Teacher Licensure Program at Mary Baldwin College and have certification in PreK-12 French and Middle School English.

I have a Pomeranian and a cat that I adore! In 2010 I was a professional tutor for a family that moved to France and I worked with each person's specific learning style to meet their needs. I like to assess where a student is and what they know, ask them how they prefer to learn, and then design my lessons around their needs and interests. I have helped many students realize their potential, gain confidence, and find success through my caring and structured approach.

Testimonials

"Fantastic Tutor"

- Bonnie, Mechanicsville, VA on 10/9/13

"Made French Possible For Us"

- Jennifer, Hendersonville, NC on 11/4/14

"Great to work with!"

- Suganya, Glen Allen, VA on 1/24/14

"Amazing tutor!"

- Chris, Richmond, VA on 10/8/13

"Extremely Knowledge tutor"

- D, Richmond, VA on 6/19/13

"Excellent!!!"

- KD, Warrenton, VA on 8/30/11
}

Education

Virginia Commonwealth University
French
Union Institute & University
Master's
Mary Baldwin College
Graduate Coursework

Education

Virginia Commonwealth University (French)

Union Institute & University (Master's)

Mary Baldwin College (Graduate Coursework)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
16 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Mills River, NC 28759

Dena’s Subjects

English:
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
French
Music:
Piano
Art:
Theatre
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting,
Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
French, Handwriting,
Piano,
Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
French, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Dena D.

Dena D. passed a background check on 9/8/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Dena, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.