Search 72,492 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Charles W.

Charles W. - English and Math Tutoring, Piano Lessons in Hannibal

Hannibal, MO (63401)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Charles W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Charles W.

Charles W. passed a background check on 2/9/13. The check was ordered by Charles through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Charles, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Greetings! I'm a 33-year-old living in Hannibal, MO - for three years now - with my wife and three children. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree from an accredited Missouri university, and consistently achieved high grades and test scores in my secondary school and college days. In addition, I taught my own daughter in a home-school setting for several years, and worked with groups of her peers in various home-schooling cooperatives. More recently, I've also been tutoring and giving piano lessons, and as of this school year, substitute teaching. Overall, English/Communication Arts is my area of greatest proficiency - writing, editing, reading comprehension, grammar, etc. I can also help students struggling with basic arithmetic or algebra. As an analytical thinker, who yet has a good sense of intuition and tends to favor the humanities, I can often be of assistance to a student working through the complexities of classes in history, logic, philosophy, critical issues, etc. My experience with music and piano is from eight years of lessons as a child, plus many more years of playing, for personal enjoyment, and more formal contexts, ever since then.

But besides and before all this, it's an honor and a pleasure to help children in our community in any way I can.

I have space and resources for tutoring or lessons at my home, or I can come to you if you're not too far from Hannibal. And don’t forget, the first lesson or tutoring session is free! This allows me to begin to evaluate the learning style of the child, and possibly answer any special questions the parents or guardians might have. It also allows you to decide if I would be a good fit for you and your child. Feel free to contact me if you think I can be of service to your family.

Thanks for reading!

Email Charles

Charles’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
History:
American History, European History, Geography, World History
Music:
Music Theory, Piano
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Piano, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading

Elementary (K-6th)

I home-schooled my own children - one preschool and one upper-elementary - for several years, and recently began tutoring and substitute-teaching a wide spectrum of children, including those in the primary grades. I've also taught in home-school cooperatives and church settings. In these academic environments, I've been able to spend a great deal of time with young children in the traditional early subjects, including arithmetic, pre-algebra, grammar, reading comprehension, writing, geography, world history, and introductory science. All this, combined with a well-rounded education in high school and college, plus a continued love of learning ever since, has provided me with a good basis for assisting with the educational needs of children in the elementary school age-range.

Piano

My experience with the piano is from eight years of lessons, and many more years of playing, and a little performing, ever since then. While I never discourage memorization or playing "by ear," neither do I emphasize them. Being personal weaknesses for me, I don't attempt to teach them. Instead, my priorities for the student are: proficiency in music theory, good form, ability to sight-read, and mastery of movement across the keyboard. I can take beginning or intermediate students.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Charles

back to top

Education

Southwest Baptist University (B. A.)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Charles will travel within 20 miles of Hannibal, MO 63401.

Email Charles

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Charles a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Charles or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.