Search 75,527 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 1250 tutoring hours

Sheri L.

Your Minnesota Nice Tutor

Minneapolis, MN (55436)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Sheri L.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sheri L.

Sheri L. passed a background check on 2/10/12. The check was ordered by Sheri through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Sheri, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi! My name is Sheri. I have taught and tutored English, ESL/ESOL and Spanish for several years both in the US and in Mexico. My students have come from here and many counties around the globe. Many from Asian, the Middle East, Latin American and European countries. They have ranged in age from young children to professional corporate executives and everything in between. Having learned and studied other languages and cultures myself, I'm uniquely aware of the challenges in this process and am able to provide insider tips to overcome these difficulties. I also designed an ESL/ESOL program of curriculum for a technical school in El Paso, Texas. Having BA's in Spanish and Management from the College of St. Benedict, I realize time is money and together we need to find the most effective teaching method for you. Also, the time you invest studying is directly reflected in your progress. Let's get started!

Email Sheri

Sheri’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
IELTS, Series 63, TOEFL
Homeschool:
Special Needs:
Business:
Elementary Education:
Language:
ESL/ESOL, IELTS, Spanish, Speech, TOEFL

Cooking

I started cooking and baking when I was in elementary school. Ever since, I've expanded my abilities with learning different dishes from many ethnic groups. This includes appetizers, main courses, breads, cakes, cookies, and beverages. With this, one can make an ordinary meal or special occasion extraordinary.

English

I have worked with all levels of English grammar and punctuation from beginning to college levels.

ESL/ESOL

I have taught and tutored ESL / ESOL for several years in a classroom setting and privately both within and outside of the US. I have also designed an ESL / ESOL program for a technical school in El Paso, Texas. My students have come from many countries around the world and ranged in age from young children to corporate executives. I have BA's in Management and Spanish from the College of St. Benedict.

Grammar

I have worked with all levels of English and Spanish grammar from beginners to college and professional levels.

Needlework

I have embroidered and done crocheting as a pastime since I was a child in elementary school. Some of the things include: embroidering dishtowels and pillowcases, tablecloths and napkins, and adornments to clothes. In crocheting, I work with yarn, thread and cloth. I've made several afghans, doilies and lace trims to pillowcases.

Phonics

In tutoring English and ESL / ESOL and with and with any of the other languages I've studied or tutored, it isn't possible to learn them without having a solid understanding and ability of the phonetic sounds. This is an area I review with my students to be sure they have this knowlege and it is commonly a weak area. By seeing how a student pronounces these sounds, it helps me to tell if there are physical limitations in the sound formation or if it is simply something that needs more practice.

Public Speaking

In my past work in marketing and management I needed to give many presentations and training sessions. With this, I learned about how to develop a professional presence, how to use body language to convey confidence, how to speak and project one's voice and different styles and strategies to use when communicating.

Reading

I have worked with reading comprehension and literary analysis for beginners to college and professional levels in both English and Spanish.

Series 63

Worked as a Registered Representative for many years. Held Series 6, 63 and Life and Accidental Death licenses. Preparing for the Series 7. Worked helping families consolidate their debt and free up money to start their investments and financial planning.

Sewing

I have sewn my own clothes, quilted and done repairs since I was a teenager. One of my work-study jobs in college was as a seamstress for the drama department. There we measured, fitted and made all of the costumes for the different theatrical productions. Sewing remains a favorite hobby for me.

Spanish

I have tutored and taught Spanish to all levels of people, from beginners to advanced college levels for at least 20 years. Besides this, I have been interpreting Spanish for 25 + years and know professional levels of Spanish along with dialectal Latin-American Spanish.

Vocabulary

Vocabulary is a part of learning any language and I've helped many learn different strategies to remember, comprehend, and spell both English and Spanish words.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Sheri

back to top

Education

College of Saint Benedict (Business and Spanish)

excellent tutor Sheri is an exceptional tutor. Very easy to work with and did a wonderful job getting my college Spanish student caught up. She was also very encouraging to my student. ...

— Colleen from Minneapolis, MN on 1/5/11);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Additional $20.00 fee for downtown meeting sites. Group rates: $40.00 per person, although negotiable based on size of group. Test Preparation rates: $80.00/hour.

Travel policy

Sheri will travel within 20 miles of Minneapolis, MN 55436.

Email Sheri

Usually responds in about 12 hours

Send Sheri a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sheri or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.