Search 72,213 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Mary S.

Kasson, MN

$40/hr

Elementary/ESL Tutor

Background check passed as of 2/10/14
Usually responds in about 1 day

Elementary/ESL Tutor

Message Mary

Send Mary a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Mary or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I am living and working in Kasson, MN. I hope to tutor within a twenty minute drive from Kasson. I have an elementary education degree. I currently work as a paraprofessional in elementary special education in Kasson. This is my second year working in the elementary building. The previous two school years I worked with early childhood special education. I am also currently tutoring a Japanese family in Rochester.

I have been teaching/working with children since I was in high school. I coached summer softball my junior and senior year in high school. I also helped out at a number of basketball camps for fifth and sixth graders. In college, I worked as a waitress and at two different day care/preschool facilities.

After graduation I substitute taught for three years. Then I taught English as a foreign language in Seoul, South Korea for three years. During that time I was a supervisor at my school. I was also a co-coordinator of seasonal camps for my school. During my time in Korea I was responsible for lesson plans, monthly progress reports and phone counseling. I taught preschool age up through middle school at one time or another. When I returned home I worked for three years outside of education at a full time job and worked part time as a home health aide. I returned to Korea in 2006 and stayed for one year.

Since returning from Korea in 2007 I spent some time with family and then began working as a paraprofessional.

I am a patient person and believe that students need to be guided to find the information needed. If they don't understand or don't know something they need to be shown how they can find the information required on their own. As a tutor I would work to explain things in as many different ways as possible until one works for the student. It is as much about teaching the student strategies for learning as it is about the student learning.

As an English teacher in Korea I was required to be very strict with my students learning. I was expected to push them to learn and give lots of homework. I also found many ways to make the learning enjoyable for the students. I created my own worksheets and tests to go along with the given curriculum.

Most of my time in the education field has been spent with students in the elementary and junior high grades. For this reason, I think I would be most successful at tutoring elementary and middle school subject matter.

Testimonials

"Great with preschoolers!"

- Pam, Rochester, MN on 3/9/13
English:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting,
Phonics,
Reading, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics,
Special Needs
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a degree in elementary education and have spent most of the last thirteen years working with children. I have substitute taught at all elementary grade levels during this time. I have also worked with elementary students with special needs. My licensure has lapsed because I was unable to complete the required continuing education requirements for full licesure while I was teaching overseas. Most recently I worked with fifth and sixth grade title one students as well as fifth and sixth grade students with special needs. I assisted many of these students with school especially fifth grade math. I also worked with seventh grade math students. I enjoy learning and hope to pass that enjoyment on to my students.

ESL/ESOL

I spent a total of four years in South Korea teaching English to students. I worked very hard for my students. I taught children from preschool to middle school at one time or another. However, most of my students were preschool, first or second grade. I loved watching the progress my students made. I created my own worksheets and tests to supplement the curriculum I was given. I made sure my students had fun while learning English. At any one time I was teaching my students writing skills, vocabulary skills and basic grammar.

Handwriting

I have a degree in elementary education. I have also worked in preschool classrooms where children are just beginning to write. I have worked the last couple of years in elementary class rooms as a paraprofessional. I have learned from these teachers what how this school teaches the students to print. From these experiences I have learned the ways that each school I have worked in expects children to write their letters.

Phonics

I taught for four years in Seoul, South Korea. I used basic phonics to teach my youngest students how to read and write. One must learn phonics in order to be a successful reader and writer. I have a degree in elementary education and have taught phonics to young students as a substitute teacher.

Special Needs

My degree is in elementary education but I have spent the last two years working with students from preschool to middle school with special needs. I am a patient person and am not afraid of hard work. I understand that each student is and individual and the approach to helping them be successful in school will be different.

Study Skills

I have a degree in elementary education and have most of the last thirteen years working with children. I believe that children must learn how to find answers to their questions. It is important for children to learn how to organize their thoughts and school papers and supplies. I will help students learn how to do this. I am also a very detail oriented person and hope to teach students how to think things through before they begin a project.

Minnesota State University-Moorhead
elementary Education

Education

Minnesota State University-Moorhead (elementary Education)

Great with preschoolers! — Works well with my four-year old. Very patient and creative. Does a good job of identifying what the learning needs are and tailoring lessons to suit them. ...

— Pam, Rochester, MN on 3/9/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Mary will travel within 20 miles of Kasson, MN 55944.


About Mary

I am living and working in Kasson, MN. I hope to tutor within a twenty minute drive from Kasson. I have an elementary education degree. I currently work as a paraprofessional in elementary special education in Kasson. This is my second year working in the elementary building. The previous two school years I worked with early childhood special education. I am also currently tutoring a Japanese family in Rochester.

I have been teaching/working with children since I was in high school. I coached summer softball my junior and senior year in high school. I also helped out at a number of basketball camps for fifth and sixth graders. In college, I worked as a waitress and at two different day care/preschool facilities.

After graduation I substitute taught for three years. Then I taught English as a foreign language in Seoul, South Korea for three years. During that time I was a supervisor at my school. I was also a co-coordinator of seasonal camps for my school. During my time in Korea I was responsible for lesson plans, monthly progress reports and phone counseling. I taught preschool age up through middle school at one time or another. When I returned home I worked for three years outside of education at a full time job and worked part time as a home health aide. I returned to Korea in 2006 and stayed for one year.

Since returning from Korea in 2007 I spent some time with family and then began working as a paraprofessional.

I am a patient person and believe that students need to be guided to find the information needed. If they don't understand or don't know something they need to be shown how they can find the information required on their own. As a tutor I would work to explain things in as many different ways as possible until one works for the student. It is as much about teaching the student strategies for learning as it is about the student learning.

As an English teacher in Korea I was required to be very strict with my students learning. I was expected to push them to learn and give lots of homework. I also found many ways to make the learning enjoyable for the students. I created my own worksheets and tests to go along with the given curriculum.

Most of my time in the education field has been spent with students in the elementary and junior high grades. For this reason, I think I would be most successful at tutoring elementary and middle school subject matter.

Testimonials

"Great with preschoolers!"

- Pam, Rochester, MN on 3/9/13

Education

Minnesota State University-Moorhead
elementary Education

Education

Minnesota State University-Moorhead (elementary Education)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Kasson, MN 55944

Mary’s subjects

English:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting,
Phonics,
Reading, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics,
Special Needs
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Mary S.

Mary S. passed a background check on 2/10/14. The check was ordered by Mary through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Mary, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.