Search 75,086 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Susan J.

Licensed Elementary Teacher (K-6) with Special Education background

Grand Rapids, MN (55744)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Susan J.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Susan J.

Susan J. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Susan, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi Everyone!

My name is Sue! I have been an Elementary Ed teacher for 10 years and have just completed my second re-certification. Currently, I own/operate a karaoke/DJ business and I am a graduate student and assistant at Bemidji State University! I will be instructing an English Composition course this year, starting on August 20th. I am also a volunteer Technical Director for Showboat here in Grand Rapids, MN. and I am also the Director/Adviser of Bemidji State University Theater Club. I also hold a degree in Anthropology/Archaeology/Museology and interned at the Science Museum of Minnesota for two years. I hope I can pass on my knowledge and passion of learning and help you achieve success in your goals and dreams! Nice to meet you and I look forward to working with you!

Sincerely,

Sue

Email Susan

Susan’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking
Sports/Recreation:
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Reading, Writing
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Autism
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Art:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
History:
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
English:
Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

Aspergers

I have raised 1 child (currently 23 and male, living on his own, holding down a professional job, etc.) and am currently raising another child (currently 17 and a female) with Asperger's. I have been actively involved with their therapies (P.T., O.T., and Psychological Therapy). I also completed several courses in Learner's With Special Needs while completing my B.A. in Elementary Education.

Autism

I hold a certificate as a PCA/HHA/NAR. I cared for an autistic girl for 6 years through an agency. The girl turned 18 and was transferred recently to an assisted living facility. In the past, I have cared for several children with various disabilities, including autism.

Bible Studies

I was a Bible Study Teacher for several years for my church (Serbian/Eastern Orthodox) in the late 1990's to 2004. I taught children grades: Pre-K, K-8. During that time, I became a licensed Pre-K, K-6 Elementary Education Teacher.

Cooking

I have worked for several years since 1979, at several restaurants: Beno's Pizza (all positions), family restaurants (Family Host, Good Time Pizza), department store cafe (Kmart), and held several positions, including sous chef, at a popular steak house (Forest lake Restaurant) in my home town.

Elementary (K-6th)

I currently hold a degree (B.S.) in Elementary Education and am fully licensed in Pre-k, K-6. I completed 12 weeks of student teaching in 6th grade, covering the areas of: Science, Math, English, and Social Studies. I worked with low ability students all day. I have been re-certified 2 times now.

Public Speaking

I attended classes in public speaking when I completed my A.A. degree. I also own and operate a DJ/Karaoke Business and have taught several classes at a local community college (College For Kids: Dig It and Be The Rock Star You Are). I have also talked to several classes/students in seminar form or as a guest speaker in regards to my Anthropology Degree and trip to a dig in Israel.

Social Studies

I completed 12-week instruction (student teaching) in 6th grade Social Studies. I also substituted for Social Studies classes (6-12) for the last 10 years through our local school district and several others as well.

Theatre

Currently, I am the Technical Director of a 1870s Musical called, "Showboat" in Grand Rapids, Mn. This is my second year with this organization. This fall, I will be the Theater Director/Adviser of Bemidji State University in Bemidji, Mn. I am currently a graduate student there as well. I will have a M.A. degree in 2015 in English/Creative Writing and have created my own course to teach at a community college level. Currently my GPA is 3.83. From 2009-10 I was Assistant Director of Greenway High School Drama Club.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Susan

back to top

Education

Hamline University (Anthropology)

Bemidji State University (Other)

Bemidij State University (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Susan will travel within 20 miles of Grand Rapids, MN 55744.

Email Susan

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Susan a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Susan or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.