Search 72,411 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Marie B.

Math, Chemistry, Biology, English, and Study Skills Tutor

Manchester, MI (48158)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Marie B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Marie B.

Marie B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Marie, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a graduate from the University of Michigan's School of Natural Resources and the Environment. My background is in ecology, toxicology, scientific and technical communication, and environmental informatics. I have experience with the ACT, SAT, and GRE exams and can help you, your son or daughter prepare for these exams. I find the best way to prepare for standardized tests is to become familiar with the format and types of questions on these exams.

I have previous experience teaching groups of children when I was a volunteer for the children's service at the Zen Buddhist Temple. This involved creating a curriculum each week and engaging the children in fun activities while they learned. My volunteer work also includes serving as a tutor for Women Blessing Women--an organization that helps women obtain jobs, safe housing, and their GED. My role consisted of teaching them the math section of the GED. I accomplished this by working through the problems with them at first, having them practice on their own, examining their work, and then focusing on areas that still needed more practice.

Please contact me for more information and I look forward to becoming your tutor!

Email Marie

Marie’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Statistics
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Science:
Anatomy, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Ecology, Genetics, Geology, Microbiology, Physical Science, Physiology, Zoology
Computer:
Photography
History:
Geography
Art:
Photography
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Biology, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Statistics, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, GED
Sports/Recreation:
Sewing, Swimming, Yoga
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Statistics

Anatomy

I have taken four semesters of anatomy and physiology both at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. My graduate level courses focused on pathophysiology and toxicology. I took these courses at the University of Michigan's School of Public Health.

Biology

Both my undergraduate and graduate degrees are in biology. My graduate degree focuses on conservation ecology, specifically land use and land change as it relates to geographic information systems.

Botany

I have taken several botany courses as part of my conservation ecology degree. I'm most familiar with woody plants native to the lower and upper peninsulas of Michigan.

Chemistry

I have taken inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, environmental chemistry, and biochemistry at the University of Michigan.

Ecology

Most of my field work has been in ecology. I find learning ecology in the field is the best way to understand the key principles of ecology. I also have experience teaching it in the classroom as well.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have experience working with children in K-6th as a camp counselor and as a leader of the Children's Service at the Zen Buddhist Temple in Ann Arbor.

I have also worked with children in first and second grades to help them in math and reading. This was part of a "youth to youth" program, where older students acted as mentors to younger students and helped them in their studies.

Physiology

I'm a veterinary technician for more than 5 years now. I've taken pre-med courses at U of M and WCC for the nursing program, so I've taken physiology, pathophysiology, and anatomy.

Study Skills

I have taken a few study skill seminars and test prep courses to help improve my study and testing taking abilities. With these experiences, I believe I can help you, your son or daughter improve on test taking and studying!

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Marie

back to top

Education

University of Michigan (Toxicology)

University of Michigan (Master's)

Associate in Scientific and Technical Communication (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

I charge an extra $15/hour if you're 15.1-22.9 miles from my home. Between 23-30 miles away, I charge an extra $25/hour. This charge is to help with the added travel mileage to reach my students.

Travel policy

Marie will travel within 20 miles of Manchester, MI 48158.

Email Marie

Usually responds in about 20 hours

Send Marie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Marie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.