Search 72,598 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Sunday H.

Detroit, MI

$25/hr

Assisting individuals by way of teaching, tutoring, consulting

Usually responds in about 15 hours

Assisting individuals by way of teaching, tutoring, consulting

Message Sunday

Send Sunday a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sunday or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

As a tutor, educator and learning consultant it is my goal to provide great educational assistance to the local community by offering tutoring in the areas of reading, writing, English, history and other social sciences. Additionally, I aim to support children, college students and adults by providing study material and current research to address their educational needs.
Moreover, I plan to build relationships within the community by providing educational services to potentially improve issues such as literacy and technology needs.

As a former classroom teacher and instructional aide I provided creative learning activities,encouraging teamwork, enhancing social development and increasing student participation. I successfully improved grades and test scores with students who were underachieving by working closely with students individually and providing strategies and suggestions for potential progress. My focus was instruction and training in order to facilitate students in overcoming challenges, listening to their concerns and frustrations while expressing empathy and positive feedback.

English:
ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading,
Vocabulary
Science:
Anatomy, Anthropology, Biology, Nutrition, Philosophy, Physiology, Psychology,
Zoology
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Anthropology, Government & Politics, Religion, World History
Art:
Art History, Cosmetology
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics,
Reading,
Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Business,
Career Development,
Finance, Marketing, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, Handwriting, Reading,
Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading, Career Development,
GED, Series 63
Corporate Training:
Business,
Career Development,
Cosmetology, ESL/ESOL, Finance, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Business

I have six years of banking experience, and I have a degree in business administration. I currently work with small businesses within researching for funding and other resources.

Career Development

I am able to assist individuals in the areas of career development and job readiness. I am able to help individuals prepare resumes, cover letters and thank you letters. I can assist individuals in preparing for interviews, inclduing assistance with recommendations for appropriate attire, interviwer questions and elevator speeches. Last I can teach individuals how to prepare for follow up calls after interview.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have five years of teaching experience. I taught and worked closely with elementary school students the first two years of my teaching career. I have worked with students in kindergarten through sixth grade. I have assisted students in the area of reading, spelling, phonics, science and math. I specifically have worked with students whom faced challenges academically in the areas of reading and writing.

Phonics

I have worked as a teacher with various grade levels for the past eight years. I have extensive experience in working with early elementary education students in building their phonetic skills. I worked closely with students to develop and improve their fluency and comprehension by introducing them to phonics and continually practicing phonics for effectiveness.

Psychology

I have a graduate degree in general psychology. I studied at the University of Phoenix. During my program I conducted research applying psychological theories to real-life situations. I worked closely with my team members to solve research questions and problems in assigned case studies. Some of our assignments included the review of veterans suffering from PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) and brain-injury; as well as the effects of drug abuse on cognitive functions.
The concentrations I studied included: personality theories, neuro-psychology, multicultural psychology, organizational development, social psychology and abnormal psychology.

Reading

I have four years of experience within working with grade school children in the area of reading. Previously, I worked with grades 2nd through 4th in improving reading skills. I begin students with the very basics of learning; I use flash/index cards for reviewing phonics and spelling. Second, I instruct the students to practice reading the sounds of the letters aloud. Additionally, I support and instruct students in the area of comprehension.

Series 63

I am qualified to assist a student/client in preparing for the Series 63. I passed the Series 63 a few years ago. I held securities licenses; Series 6 and 63 for over three years. I am familiar with SEC regulations and laws.

Sunday’s Resources

Tutors have the ability to create educational resources and share them with the WyzAnt community. Here are some of the resources created by Sunday. View all of Sunday’s resources

Brainstorming: Thought patterns and ideas about particular subject. Outline: Organizing and categorizing ideas in order to formulate paragraphs for paper. Rough draft: The beginning of your writing process; organizing, rewriting, rephrasing information from rough draft. Revising and Editing: Proofreading grammar, spelling errors and ensuring paper is formatted correctly. Final... read more

Teaching math can be difficult. One method of teaching children to retain concepts is repetition. For example teaching multiplication tables; children must practice everyday. Recommendation: flash cards, drilling, writing down factors and products.

From my experience; working in a classroom setting, individuals/students all learn at different intervals and approach academic material at various levels. My suggestions for kinesthetic,visual and auditory learners: * Kinesthetic learners: Individuals who learn by touch or hands on experience are more likely to retain the information by relating their current skills to the particular subject... read more

Northwood University
University of Phoenix
Master's

Education

Northwood University

University of Phoenix (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

My rate is $25.00 per hour.

Travel policy

Sunday will travel within 15 miles of Detroit, MI 48223.


About Sunday

As a tutor, educator and learning consultant it is my goal to provide great educational assistance to the local community by offering tutoring in the areas of reading, writing, English, history and other social sciences. Additionally, I aim to support children, college students and adults by providing study material and current research to address their educational needs.
Moreover, I plan to build relationships within the community by providing educational services to potentially improve issues such as literacy and technology needs.

As a former classroom teacher and instructional aide I provided creative learning activities,encouraging teamwork, enhancing social development and increasing student participation. I successfully improved grades and test scores with students who were underachieving by working closely with students individually and providing strategies and suggestions for potential progress. My focus was instruction and training in order to facilitate students in overcoming challenges, listening to their concerns and frustrations while expressing empathy and positive feedback.

Education

Northwood University
University of Phoenix
Master's

Education

Northwood University

University of Phoenix (Master's)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required

My rate is $25.00 per hour.

Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Detroit, MI 48223

Sunday’s Subjects

English:
ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading,
Vocabulary
Science:
Anatomy, Anthropology, Biology, Nutrition, Philosophy, Physiology, Psychology,
Zoology
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Anthropology, Government & Politics, Religion, World History
Art:
Art History, Cosmetology
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics,
Reading,
Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Business,
Career Development,
Finance, Marketing, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, Handwriting, Reading,
Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading, Career Development,
GED, Series 63
Corporate Training:
Business,
Career Development,
Cosmetology, ESL/ESOL, Finance, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Sunday’s Resources

Tutors have the ability to create educational resources and share them with the WyzAnt community. Here are some of the resources created by Sunday. View all of Sunday’s resources

Brainstorming: Thought patterns and ideas about particular subject. Outline: Organizing and categorizing ideas in order to formulate paragraphs for paper. Rough draft: The beginning of your writing process; organizing, rewriting, rephrasing information from rough draft. Revising and Editing: Proofreading grammar, spelling errors and ensuring paper is formatted correctly. Final... read more

Teaching math can be difficult. One method of teaching children to retain concepts is repetition. For example teaching multiplication tables; children must practice everyday. Recommendation: flash cards, drilling, writing down factors and products.

From my experience; working in a classroom setting, individuals/students all learn at different intervals and approach academic material at various levels. My suggestions for kinesthetic,visual and auditory learners: * Kinesthetic learners: Individuals who learn by touch or hands on experience are more likely to retain the information by relating their current skills to the particular subject... read more


Background Check Status for Sunday H.

Sunday H. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Sunday, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.